We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights: the first night we arrived in Costa Rica and the night before coming home. I really do not have enough words to say what a wonderful and relaxing place this hotel is. We noticed the hotel last year, when we visited Costa Rica for the first time and we drove by it. I told my husband we had to stay here on our next trip. And we did! It turned out to be such a good decision! The hotel is very well run, very clean and quiet. The gardens are very well maintained, the hotel personnel is very friendly and the owners are doing all they can to make your stay enjoyable and relaxing. Robert has such a great personality and he was so helpful in providing information on tours, things to do and see, places to shop for souvenirs, restaurants, etc. Robert even took care of the car rental for us, so we did not have to do this on our own. We just had the car delivered at the hotel in the morning and few days later, when we were ready to return the car, Robert called the rental company and they came and picked it up. Since we had an early flight and we had to be at the airport at 5:30am, he ordered a cab for us the night before, so we would not have to deal with this in the morning. When we woke up in the morning, the cab was there, waiting for us (he even came earlier than we expected him to show up).

The rooms are good size, the beds are very comfortable and there is hot water in the bathroom, so you can take showers without freezing. Breakfast is included in the price of the room and it is good. You have few options to choose from and it is enough to keep you running until noon. A nice touch is that if you have an early flight in the morning ( like we did), Robert will give you a bag with your breakfast the night before, so you have something to eat in the morning when you wake up.

The hotel is located in a safe area and I liked the fact that it was quiet during the day and during the night. We did not get disturbed by traffic noises or any other kind of noises. You can definitely relax here if you decide to spend few hours on the porch of your room or by the pool.

The pool is very clean and well maintained. You get separate towels for the pool, so you do not have to use the towels that you will find in your room.

In the reception area you will find a computer with Internet access. It is free to use if you are a hotel guest. In case you brought your own laptop, you can use it with no problem from your room or from any place of the hotel perimeter. Again, another nice touch that counts! Oh, and BTW: guess what home page Robert choose to display when opening up the browser of the computer in the reception area :)

My only regret is that I did not have the chance (due to time constraints) to make an appointment and get a massage at the hotel. Oh, yeah, they offer this service too. And the prices are very decent!

In a nutshell, I would really recommend this hotel for any length of stay: short or long. You will not be disappointed if you decide to stay here. We will definitely be back here on our next trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monica1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2009

I'll add another postive comment regarding this hotel. As stated in other posts, the owners are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are neat and clean. The pool in an added bonus. There is no restaurant onsite but there are several places with local color within walking distance. There is also a bank with an ATM nearby. One should know that the hotel is not in downtown Alajuela but that lends to the peaceful setting.

Stayed: January 2009
1  Thank gerrysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2009

It is not easy to house 15 college students on a Costa Rica study abroad, but this place nailed it! As one of those college students not only did I dread leaving the hotel, but I cant wait to go back! The management is super nice and the views are fantastic. I would absolutely recommend this establishment to any future Costa Rica traveler.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PuraVidaMaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Hotel La Rosa de America is often a first stop on a trip to Costa Rica. For our family of three, it was really home base. The owners helped us arrange a rental SUV with a drop off in a distant town. Then, when our arrival was delayed by a snow storm, they found a room for us for a different night and held on to our rental car. We stayed at the hotel our first night, enjoying a great breakfast and the beautiful gardens, and came back midway through a three week trip. When the rental car agency failed to meet us for the drop off 350 kms from San Jose, I called Hotel La Rosa for advice. They helped us, and then ran interference with the rental car agency. By the time we returned for our last night in Costa Rica, Robert and Alexandra felt like old friends -- and our nine-year-old son finally got up the nerve to play with their lovely daughters. They made good restaurant recommendations, keeping in mind economy and child-friendliness. I highly recommend contacting the hotel early in your trip-planning process to get the benefit of Robert and Alexandra's advice.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SSDSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

I loved staying here. It is a beautiful, cozy place that made me feel right at home. The owner , Robert, and his family are very helpful and so so nice. All the staff were just as great as well. I will definitely be back and recommend this hotel to others! It is so pretty there.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank glirpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

If you are travelling to Costa Rica and looking for an excellent value--this is it! We just got back a couple of weeks ago after staying all but one night of our 8 day trip at this hotel (the other was an overnight trip to southern Costa Rica). For us, it has all the things that are attractive for a tourist (and we've travelled extensively): Neat, clean rooms; comfortable beds; a great pool; beautiful, well kept gardens; inviting atmosphere; tasty breakfast; and friendly, knowledgeable staff who were more than helpful discussing Costa Rican sights, options, best deals, and arranging tours for us. I might add that they did the latter for us both before we arrived (by e-mail) and in person during our stay.
As they say, "What's not to like!"

PS - English, Spanish and some French spoken.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank carpentersing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

a group of poker dealers for the latin series of poker stayed at the hotel la rosa de america for 11 days. none of us spoke spanish, knew anything about the culture, or knew our way around. robert, his wife alexandra, and their staff were extremely helpful in every way. they helped us order food, call taxis, laundered our clothes, and took care of anything else we needed while we were there. the rooms are nice, clean, and well set up. the breakfast served was delicious. but once again the best part of all of our experience was our interaction with the staff. my career requires me to live out of hotel room across the world for a minimum of 10 days a month and this was by far the best customer service i have ever experienced. thanks again to the staff a hotel la rosa de america.

Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
2  Thank b__mo1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
309 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
4.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
131 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
692 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 27 in Alajuela
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: £50 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing