We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well-recommended”
Reviewed 17 May 2010

My family and I are very pleased with our stay at La Rosa de America. It was very quiet and we loved the garden atmosphere of the hotel. Carlos and Grisska helped us with everything we needed during our stay, especially that we brought our baby with us, and answered all our questions. They helps us with calling cabs for us to ordering food to keeping our leftover food in the fridge to giving us tips about touring the city. They went beyond their call of duty. The breakfast was excellent - hearty and very nutritious. Our room was always kept clean. The furniture were a tad bit outdated, but suited our needs just fine. At first, I thought that the fan would not be enough in the Costa Rican heat, but turned out to be perfect. The nights were cool enough that ACs were unnecessary. If there was anything we would have liked, it would be hot water in the sink so washing baby bottles would be easy. Hot water would be a good alternative to sterilizing.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenix406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    200
    52
    15
    5
See reviews for
210
274
60
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2010

We just spent 3 weeks in Costa Rica. After reading Trip Advisor, I decided that Hotel La Rosa de America would be the best choice for myself, my husband and another couple travelling with us. Robert and Alexandra were very helpful giving me information via email before we arrived. We stayed 3 nights upon our arrival. La Rosa is close to the airport...but not too close to hear all the planes come & go. We booked the 3 night package that included the volcano, rainforest and coffee plantation tour. Once there, we enjoyed a relaxing atomsphere and wonderful hospitality from the Owners Robert & Alexandra, their delightful and talented children and great staff. The breakfast included each morning was just what we needed to start our day. A boxed breakfast was supplied if we had to leave early for an excursion. Be sure to try the Banana bread made by Alexandra. (Robert tells me the recipe only works with C.R. bananas. LOL) Rooms were clean and staff very helpful and friendly. I felt so much like family, I almost asked Carlos if I could help in the kitchen, but that's just me. After 2 weeks away, we returned to La Rosa for another 3 days before we flew home. Robert was very helpful helping us decide on another 2 tours to take (at good prices too!) I felt like I was home when we were there. We met lots of different people from many countries staying there as well.. I would definitely stay at Hotel La Rosa de America again! I could go on & on about La Rosa but if you are heading to San Jose, CR, give La Rosa a try. I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gertp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa rosa,ca
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We stayed here the night before our return. It is very convinient top the airport. However i would recommend this place as a base to explore the area. The grounds were beautiful and rooms clean. Staff was very helpful. Even though you are just off the main drag you feel secluded. And the price is right. A great value.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casandrasantarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, B.C.
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Beautifully landscaped and manicured grounds.
Very friendly, informative and helpful resident owners and staff.
Charming Mediterranean style "cabins" - comfortable and well maintained.
Unique fruit plate and excellent "banana bread" offering for breakfast.
Reasonable rates for the offered accomodation and services.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fusser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We stayed at Rosa de la America for one night, before departing Costa Rica. The location was great--about 10 minutes' drive from the international airport and walking distance from a couple of restaurants. The grounds are beautiful with different blooming flowers and trees even labeled. A wall surrounds the property, keeping out noise and dirt from the street (which isn't very loud, actually) and providing security. We arrived too late for a swim, but the pool looked like it would be great on a hot afternoon. The (Canadian) owners clearly work hard to ensure guests are happy, paying attention to little details that make the difference. The rooms were very clean, freshly painted, and had attractive new linens (unlike other places we stayed in Costa Rica in the same price range). There were several soaps in the bathroom and plenty of nice towels (but no hooks or towels rods to hang them on). The beds were moderately comfortable, the best one might hope for in Costa Rica. Each room has a shaded patio at its entrance, with a wooden chair next to raised beds of flowers. The breakfast included decent coffee, juice, fruit and banana bread. Our children chose Frosted Flakes, and toast was also available. The lobby had a computer with internet access for guests as well as a collection of books in several language. My only complaint: Our room had a ceiling fan that worked very well, but the room was still warm, even at night, especially for our children in the bunk beds. While the outside temp. in the evening was coolish, there was no cross breeze in the room because the windows were on just one wall. (There is no air conditioning.) However, this is probably only a problem in the hottest months of March and April. Without a doubt, we will stay here again when we return to Costa Rica. Rosa de la America was the nicest place we stayed during our vacation.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank EEDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

We took the Zimar service from the airport and was impressed by their quick and very kind staff...only 10 minutes!

Justin was wonderful as he welcomed us and stayed to speak to us. He was our first introduction to the country and he was very very courteous and helpful.

The room was simple. The beds weren't bad, but maybe, we're just spoiled at home with ours.

The breakfast was delicious and healthy! The only recommendation that I might make is one of our family members really really desired coffee as the first item, but the gentleman serving breakfast seemed to have DESIGNATED routine. The other family member had a similar request, but it was not heard or ignored.

Regarding the set-up of services for us, the staff did a tremendous and kind gesture for us by using the U-Save car rental company. The "free" phones which were supposed to come with the car come with a catch! They charge a minimum amount of cell phone minutes used per day...I can't recall exactly, but I recall $8.00 per day.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseyJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsham, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

I spent 3 nights here on the tail end of my recent trip to Costa Rica. The gardens are lovely. The pool was clean, refreshing and attractively situated. Breakfast was pleasant. The staff are very helpful - they arranged transport and tours for me.
The room was immaculate and I was able to get some laundry done - a nice extra.
Internet Access in the lobby - spotty wi-fi service.
Several typical tico food restaurants are within walking distance and an ATM is at the end of the main street. I would certainly stay here again.
Plan on bringing a book to share - they are involved in a program of donating books to local grade schools. And its a good place to leave those paperbacks behind - to make more room in your luggage for the coffee you will want to take home.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
4.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
863 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.8 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 27 in Alajuela
306 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
684 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Property: Hotel La Rosa de America
Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing