We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

This is a very nice hotel and close enough to the airport to make it convenient.

We enjoyed our stay!

The prices are a bit high, but maybe all the hotels in this area are more expensive than elsewhere in Costa Rica.

Also, they could do a bit better job at breakfast. Same food every day gets boring.

That said, it was very comfortable and clean and nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainHoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    196
    51
    14
    4
See reviews for
202
263
58
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

My wife and I used this hotel as an entry point to Costa Rica. The hotel is conveniently close to the San Jose airport. The grounds of the hotel are secure and very beautiful. While not being luxurious, the rooms are very clean and are in keeping with the Costa Rican experience that we were seeking. The staff is outstanding and was very helpful in starting our self-directed vacation. We were so impressed with the facilities and staff that we also used the hotel as our exit point from Costa Rica. I only wish that we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themanwiththeredface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Pierce, FL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

This hotel is exactly what you want the night before you leave or the day you arrive in
costa rica-the last few moments of paradise before the chaos and confusion of the airport. Very convenient to airport and last minute fill-ups on your rental car. Convenient to great local restaurants and the zoo. Great bird watching from your front porch in the morning.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank angrypeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

My friend, her 12-year-old daughter, and I stayed here off and on (whenever we traveled through the San Jose area) during a two-week vacation in June/July. Robert and his staff were very helpful to us each time we visited. For example, they often let us use their phone to call other parts of the country, called cabs for us, made recommendations, etc. The hotel has a pet guinea pig whose name means "Piggy Bank" in English (very cute). My friend's daughter liked the guinea pig but especially liked the pool. The water in the showers was hot, the beds were comfortable, and the lights worked. AND we didn't have to go into downtown San Jose at all!

Food: We had a few good dinners at a local eatery called Chery's, and the breakfasts at the hotel (included in the price) were good. Robert sells wine, soft drinks, and a few snacks in the reception area. There's a computer there with Internet access.

I'm used to very modest hotels while my friend and her daughter are used to much more upscale places, but all of us were happy there. I think all of us would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyB48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

This hotel was the best. As a solo female traveler, this hotel was a life saver. The owners made me feel so welcome and helped me plan my 3 week trip round Costa Rica. The rooms are brilliant, the breakfasts are lovely, the staff speak perfect English and are the most helpful I have ever encountered. My origianal plan was to spend 4 nights there, but I extended my stay to 8 nights. It is very close to San Jose airport, perfect for tours to all the sights and lovely and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evajohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China Grove, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

We spent our first night there and it was easy to find (something not easy to do in San Jose). It was a great starting point on our adventure. The food was good, the neighborhood was OK, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earniebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

La Rosa de America is a lovely hotel in a quiet garden setting. We found the staff and owners (all english speaking) to be extremely helpful and kind. It was a great place to relax and unwind for a few days before heading out to see the rest of Costa Rica. La Rosa is not just a jumping off point but a great destination if you're looking to enjoy some down time. Many tours and things to do are available if that's your bent. Very clean and well cared for.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stelaurltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
4.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#6 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Property: Hotel La Rosa de America
Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing