We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nikce, quiet hotel near the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We stayed at the Rosa de America for three nights altogether. Two at the beginning and one at the end of our trip to Costa Rica. The hotel is really close to the airport and therefore ideal for a first or last night. It is situated in a very nice garden and has a nice pool. It invites to sit outside in the garden and watch squirells play along. The breakfast was one of the best we had in Costa Rica and if you have to leave early they prepare a "package" for you to take away. You have free fast internet access and a nice reception area to sit. The owner and also the stuff are very friendly and helpful. They have good recommendations and are always willing to make your stay a pleasant one and to assist with any problems you might have.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy_Niko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2010

We spent three nights at Hotel La Rosa de America, our first night in Costa Rica and our last two nights. The comfortable, quiet hotel was a welcome sight after a long day of travel! The rooms are comfortable and very clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Any requests we made were responded to quickly and with a smile! The owner, Robert, was a wealth of local information. He gave us some great suggestions for places to visit and eat. He also arranged our rental car for us; we got a great price, decent car and it was delivered/picked up right at the hotel, completely hassle free!

The grounds are lovely and quite lush. The pool is large and refreshing. There are lots of chairs and tables around the pool area for relaxing and watching the many resident birds. A simple breakfast is included in the room price. It was tasty and included the best banana bread I've ever tasted!

The hotel is in a great location...close to the airport(15 dollar cab fare), walking distance to several good restuarants and close to Zoo Ave. The area is quiet and secure.

We'll definately be staying here again when we return to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glacier1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

It was nice to have someone meet us at the airport upon our arrival. The hotel is relatively close to Juan Santamaria and in a quiet neighborhood, with pretty grounds. The room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was good. Because it was dark already when we arrived, we didn't venture far for dinner. Chery's, just down the street was a good, nearby option, but we would have liked to get out to see a bit of Alajuela. . . but probably would have required a car.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nwlilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

This hotel is in a great location. We stayed 2 non-consecutive nights. One night before my parents left the country and the other night before the rest of the group (6 and a baby) left CR. The rooms were clean and very nice, a great family hotel with bunkbeds in some of the rooms. The staff was extremely helpful in helping us order our dinner (pizza delivered) and do our laundry. We were in Costa Rica for 11 days so we had a bunch of dirty laundry. They did the laundry on short notice ($7.00 u.s. per load) and brought it to our room. The fresh baked banana bread and Costa Rican coffee for breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karenrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Had a wonderful experience at La Rosa de America. The rooms were clean and quaint. Staff was very helpful with scheduling taxis and helping to make phone calls home (thanks Grisska!). Enjoyed the banana bread and juice for breakfast. The gardens were pretty and well-kept. The fenced grounds felt safe and secure. Good restaurants within short walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tortolita78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

I stayed only one night, just to see the poas.
Great service, was surprised when they called me to Brazil to confirm my room, got help with everything I needed, transportation, tour, etc
The place has great energy!! and is like sleeping in the middle of the forest. Only birds and nature noises to get a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Hello trip advisor readers! Hotel la Rosa de America gave me all that a needed to had the best time in Costa Rica! All the questions were answered, they adviced me about what to do to enjoy the country. Staff at la Rosa, friendly, informative and accurate. Thank you guys!
Beautifull gardens, safe place and wow... nice pool!
Do not think it over, La Rosa De America it is your best choice!
Then, let me know your own experience...

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orvillee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.4 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
138 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
314 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
321 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
4.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: £54 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing