We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unparalleld service and support - a true gateway airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Planning a tour for the first time in a new country, this airport hotel is simply ideal as offering budget rates with an easy to access location next to the airport. But above all unlimited readiness to support with various travel arrangements and an inexhaustable flexibility for last mintute changes. Rooms simple, clean and comfortable of different sies and bed arrangements.
Simply give them a try and you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strumpan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed one night on our way to Playa Grande and on our way back because of its proximity to the airport. The staff really went out of its way to help us with car rental and answering questions that eased our stay in Costa Rica. The owner, also a very friendly man took time to talk to us and answered a bunch of questions and suggested plenty of interesting sites to visit. Although we didn't have time to visit Alajuela & San Jose area this time around they gave us a taste of the area and made us want to come back for a longer visit. I would definitely recommend Hotel La Rosa de America for people that are looking for a authentic local setting with clean rooms, good food and excellent and friendly staff.
Roch Lapointe
Ottawa Canada

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roclap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We spent our last night of a weeklong trip here and really liked it. We had the family suite which was two rooms with a hige bathroom. The kids slept in the front room with two beds and there was a double bed in the smaller room. The beds were comfy, the pool cld but refreshing. Sarah was amazingly helpful and friendly. We would stay here agin on the way in and out next time. Can't go wrong here. And, it s right down the street from the best food we had in CR- Delicias de mi Tierra. Yummmm...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby&Cody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of our trip and for two nights at the end. We took advantage of a special "three night stay" promotion which included pick up from the airport and a group tour to one of the volcanoes, Cartagna, and a coffee plantation. Be advised that if you do the tour you have to meet the bus at a hotel near the airport VERY early in the morning.
The LaRosa is a charming little place and the staff is very helpful.(Sarah did a super job with our laundry)! Rooms are rather small, but the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms well appointed. The grounds are lovely and it's nice to just sit and relax by the pool. Breakfast is good with a nice selection of fresh fruit. I'm not a banana bread fan but my husband told me it was very good.
There are a few restaurants within walking distance. I would caution anyone eating at Cherey's to avoid the fried meats.......both of us experienced severe discomfort the next day! That's about the only negative I can think of and is not reflection on the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JYA6768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We stayed at the Rosa de America for three nights altogether. Two at the beginning and one at the end of our trip to Costa Rica. The hotel is really close to the airport and therefore ideal for a first or last night. It is situated in a very nice garden and has a nice pool. It invites to sit outside in the garden and watch squirells play along. The breakfast was one of the best we had in Costa Rica and if you have to leave early they prepare a "package" for you to take away. You have free fast internet access and a nice reception area to sit. The owner and also the stuff are very friendly and helpful. They have good recommendations and are always willing to make your stay a pleasant one and to assist with any problems you might have.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy_Niko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

We spent three nights at Hotel La Rosa de America, our first night in Costa Rica and our last two nights. The comfortable, quiet hotel was a welcome sight after a long day of travel! The rooms are comfortable and very clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Any requests we made were responded to quickly and with a smile! The owner, Robert, was a wealth of local information. He gave us some great suggestions for places to visit and eat. He also arranged our rental car for us; we got a great price, decent car and it was delivered/picked up right at the hotel, completely hassle free!

The grounds are lovely and quite lush. The pool is large and refreshing. There are lots of chairs and tables around the pool area for relaxing and watching the many resident birds. A simple breakfast is included in the room price. It was tasty and included the best banana bread I've ever tasted!

The hotel is in a great location...close to the airport(15 dollar cab fare), walking distance to several good restuarants and close to Zoo Ave. The area is quiet and secure.

We'll definately be staying here again when we return to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glacier1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

It was nice to have someone meet us at the airport upon our arrival. The hotel is relatively close to Juan Santamaria and in a quiet neighborhood, with pretty grounds. The room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was good. Because it was dark already when we arrived, we didn't venture far for dinner. Chery's, just down the street was a good, nearby option, but we would have liked to get out to see a bit of Alajuela. . . but probably would have required a car.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nwlilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.4 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
138 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#6 of 27 in Alajuela
314 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
321 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
5.5 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: £54 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing