We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Problems, No Solutions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed here the night before flying out of SJO. I'll just list the problems:

1. No hot water in the shower the evening of our arrival.
2. No hot water in the shower the morning of our departure.
3. Long black hairs on the white bathroom floor.
4. The room was unreasonably cold, and remained that way even after we turned the A/C off.
5. The rate we booked included a breakfast buffet, but during breakfast we were told they had no buffet, and we would get a continental breakfast, which included toast, cold fruit, and coffee. That's it.

I complained about these things at checkout and was given a percentage of my room rate back, but frankly I don't think it was enough. I also called Hilton to complain, they said they would send a letter onto the property manager who had 3-5 business days to respond, and I never heard from the manager.

I don't recommend this place. Even the decor is not great for a recently renovated hotel. The lobby is stark and sterile.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matthewmagellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

830 - 836 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

I am a travel agent and just returned from Costa Rica - Friday night we stayed here. Love it! Will recommend this to everyone to stay from now on. Friendly staff, clean, pool, weight room, restaurant is a little pricy - but good - if you didnt want to spend so much - walmart is next door.
Rooms are great! free internet access also.

Room Tip: we had 401 - end of hall - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tisha15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

So nice, so clean, so helpful. We spent our last night here before a (very) early flight out of SJO the next morning. The rooms were lovely, well-designed. The hotel had everything I needed: printers to print my boarding passes, a washer and dryer to wash some of our very dirty clothes from our jungle adventure, a pool to occupy the kids. It was handy to walk to Wal-Mart and pick up snacks for the plane. The staff were very helpful. You can also pay the airport tax at the hotel (for a fee of $4, which is steep, IMHO). I agree with the other reviewer that the food was a little overpriced, and the walk to the Mall to get other food is a little dicey: it's a pretty big road, with fast-moving traffic and no sidewalks or crosswalks.
The hotel dining area has these little pods that are designed for meetings but are also perfect for a family meal: my kids weren't disturbing anyone, and the boys could watch some sports on TV.
My one complaint would be that the hotel added an "extra adult fee." Since it was just me and three kids, I got that fee waived, but it seems a little sneaky. I think they should assume that there will be two adults and then maybe have a fee for a third and fourth, if that. It makes the rate show up cheaper on hotels.com and expedia, and you don't find out about the fee until the end.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AM_Bairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Just stayed in the hotel for 2 nights for a weekend get-away.

It was a brand new hotel, opened on Aug 4, only 2-weeks ago. It is 2-3 min ride to the airport, and next to Walmart and an international mall (all walking distance). The airport shuttle was free for hotel guess. I called ahead, so they had someone holding Courtyard sign waiting for me after custom in SJO, then the shuttle bus.

The hotel staff were very nice, front desk "Karen" and "Antonio" greeted me, and answered lots of my questions, as I checked in.

The hotel was very nice, I stayed at the 4 floor (6-store building). It was typical Courtyard setup, with a small pool and gym on the 2nd floor (did not check them out). The room is very big, and nice. There was no bathtug, but a very nice walkin glass door shower. Inside the room there were a flat screen TV, a small refrigerator, safety box, a sitting sofa, a desk, and my king bed.

The restaurant in the hotel had hot items, but a bit pricy, a lunch was about $16-19 dollars (small dish, I was not full), and a breakfast was about $12 dollars (fruit platter). I wish the dishes be bigger.

Walmart next door (2 min walk, open until 10 pm) has pretty much everything, including a cafeteria, with many hot and cold items. Walmart also sells alcohol, if you want to get drunk.

The international mall is about 5 min walk, I did not visit, but I saw Burger King there, together with other US brands.

One morning, a housekeeper came in to clean my room, and she spent 30 min to clean my bathroom (and shower), which was not dirty, after I found it was sparkly clean, very impressed by that.

Overall, it is a great hotel to stay if you want to visit San Jose for a few days, in great location.

Room Tip: Make sure you visit the Walmart next door for foods, drinks and other items, which are very cheap, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NYCha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las vistas mas pintorescas se tienen desde las habitaciones con vista al volcán Poás.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cf C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas S, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
2.5 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
880 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
679 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela

Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: £95 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, this LEED-constructed Alajuela hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing