We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good high quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very good high quality hotel”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for last two nights. Everything is new, very modern. Includes shuttle to the airport every 30 mts. Departure Taxes can be purchased in the lobby. Free parking. It is near Poas Volcano like 40 mts, its near to sjo. Walmart is 2 mts walking distance. . It has all facilities for check in and airport is only 3 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leon005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Guest I am delighted to know that your stay in our hotel met all your needs.

Besides the services offered by our hotel, we invite you to return to our country to meet the thousands of places you can visit, our hotel is within 40 minutes of beautiful scenery and volcanoes, among them we can mention the Poas Volcano, National Park Manuel Antonio, Arenal Volcano just to mention one of the most visited ones. The proximity to the beach and natural landscapes can be your next destination in Costa Rica, we wait with open arms and I’m glad to say: “see you soon”.

Best Regards from Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    346
    66
    18
    13
See reviews for
257
314
66
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here on our last night in Costa Rica. This hotel is only a few years old and is really close to the airport, 10-15 minutes. Shuttles left on the hour and half hour starting at 4am. Breakfast buffet was included. Lots of options - omelette station, Make your own waffle, bacon, fruit, pastries, etc. The hotel is beautiful the staff is friendly and the rooms are well appointed. The cafe's food seemed expensive but it was good and the portions were huge and enough to share or take back to the mini fridge in the room. They also have free wi fi. 30 minute bus ride into san jose. This is the nicest courtyard Marriott I have ever stayed at. We took a taxi from the airport to the hotel for $3.50. Walmart is around the corner. Security guard on property it you are worried about a rental car. f you are looking for a place to stay overnight near the airport this hotel is perfect.

Room Tip: 501 was at the end of the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ERIKA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our Hotel, I’m delighted to know that all the little details in our services were special for you. As you mentioned before our shuttle runs every 30 min, since very early, for all the people who was early flights as you.

We appreciate all your comments regarding to the breakfast buffet, I have share with our Restaurant and Kitchen staff your comments, certainly motivates us to strive for more options to serve and maintain consistency in our menu options.

So as you said, our hotel is really near for a lot of options, I hope you were able to know all the cultural places in San Jose as the Gold Museum, The National Theater, Jade Museum, or even this places can be a good idea for a next trip to Costa Rica,

I’m glad to know that your stay was memorable and we hope you visit us again,

Pura Vida,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Very close to SJO and shuttle service to and from airport is quick and reliable. Walmart is steps away, otherwise the menu at the hotel is varied and quite reasonable. Rooms are nice with large bathroom and shower.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Itravel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Hello from Costa Rica, we are pleased to hear that our services help you to have an exceptional stay, also let me begin by thanking you for taking the time to share your experience with us, as you mentioned, our shuttle service takes just 5 minutes from the airport.

I’m excited to communicate that the Mango Plaza will be open very soon, which is the building in front of our hotel, will have a variety of restaurants and options for your convenience.

We look forward to see you soon, Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce City, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I travel a lot for work and stay at a lot of Marriott hotels. This was the best Courtyard I have ever stayed at. Plus the convenience of having it right down the street from the airport is perfect...plus a 4 am shuttle for the early flights out

Room Tip: make sure you buy the airport tax at the hotel to avoid the long lines at the airport. It comes wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ericriewerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Eric,

I’m delighted to hear that your stay with us was memorable, please let me begin by expressing my sincere appreciation for taking the time to share your experience.

We always share these words with all our team, make us feel motivated, because the most important thing for us is to provide an exceptional experience to each of our customers and make them feel at home, we really appreciate your comment and hope you had this feel.

Hope to see you soon,

Pura Vida,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This hotel is right next to the airport and seems brand new. The rooms are large and clean and they have free wifi. There is a Walmart next door where I bought a case of water and a mini cooler for $10 which should last me for a week of adventuring. It was the perfect place to rest up after a long day of flying

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear guest: On behalf of our staff I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your experience in our hotel. We are glad to know you have found our location convenient for the purpose of your trip. Hope you are planning a next trip to Costa Rica and we will be happy to receive yor visit again.
Pura Vida ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is a newer hotel in San Jose, Costa Rica. It has been open for about 1 year and is very modernly decorated. The hotel is very close to the airport and Walmart is right next door. The hotel can assist you with paying your departure tax for $33 USD and also will shuttle you to the airport. It was very clean and quiet. After a long week in Hermosa, it was nice to have some R&R at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank askn4trbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback of our hotel; now that you mentioned the Wal-Mart, I want to share with you that the Plaza Mango Park will be open soon, with a lot of different options including restaurants, and retail stores just a few steps from the main entrance of the hotel.

I am really glad to know that you had the opportunity to enjoy Playa Hermosa, is one of the best locations for surfing. Hope you also has the opportunity to visit Manuel Antonio, one of the most beautiful and visited National Park in Costa Rica with white sand just a couple of hours from our hotel, or Poas Volcano which is the largest crater in the world and 45 min away from our hotel, is a must, or this will be the perfect excuse to plan a new trip to Costa Rica.

Your kind feedback is very much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This hotel was wonderful! It was clean and modern and rediculously inexpessive! We were staying just overnight prior to our flight out of the country and couldn't have been more satisfied with the place. If we need to stay in San Jose in the future, this would definitely be the place. Although breakfast wasn't included, the rate was so reasonable that it didn't matter. The shuttles were timely to the airport, the staff was professional, and the place was a releif after some less modern or "North American" facilities we stayed in elsewhere throughout the country. We had a very brief stay, checking in late and out early for a flight, and did not get to see much of the facility, but what we did see was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Is amazing what a comment like this one can do. I want to express you with all sincerity the joy that gives me to know that your stay at our hotel satisficed all your needs. It is a pleasure to know that our guests have departed Costa Rica with a great experience and a memory, hopefully this is also a good excuse to plan a new vacation in Costa Rica. Hope to see you soon, and hope you’ll have the opportunity to see the wonders of Costa Rica again, and of course! Visit us here; we’ll welcome you with open arms,

Sincerely,

Daniela C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
2.5 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
3.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mango
Hotel Mango
#14 of 27 in Alajuela
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela

Property: Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, this LEED-constructed Alajuela hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing