We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a very pleasant experience”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We recently attended a wedding in Cartago, staying at the Courtyard hotel near the San Jose airport for two evenings. It was very pleasant experience, the staff was very accommodating and the service was excellent. The free shuttle to and from the airport was a definite plus. We will certainly stay there in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear guest thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and trip advisor readers we are glad to find out that we were able to accommodate your needs and expectations for your visit to Costa Rica, certainly your recognition to our shuttle service is greatly appreciated, when you are planning to come back please send us an e mail with the flight number and carrier so we can wait for you at the Airport and enhance your arrival experience.
Pura Vida ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    351
    67
    18
    13
See reviews for
261
318
66
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Brand new place, easy to find and indeed opposite the airport,

Checkin could be a bit more friendly: "I don't have a reservation for you", without really trying to find it amongst possible misspellings. However, the gum chewing check-in agent changed his attitude after the Marriott Rewards number was given and even helped with the baggage.

All staff were totally fantastic, friendly and eager to make our stay pleasant.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the front may suffer from very noisy trucks at adjacnt Wallmart and uphill traffic on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emvi-op-reis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Marriott rewards Member,

Certainly is disappointed to hear that one of our associates have had such disrespectful approach during your check in; as part of our policies we do not aloud associates to chewing gums during their shifts and we will make certain to share your comment with our front desk staff to reinforce this policy.

We appreciate your review since as you mentioned our staff is eager to deliver great service and experiences. On behalf of our front desk team we would like to offer you our sincere apologies and assure you that we are working every day to apply our learnings to benefit our guests.

Hope this inconvenience upon will not change your perception about our brand and our hotel in Costa Rica.

Pura Vida,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Shore, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This place is a good choice for either a business travel or leisure. It is located near the airport; however it´ll take additional time to get to the downtown. Consider the heavy traffic in the rush hours, when making appointments, in the city.
The rooms are wonderful. The Restaurant lacks of privacy, too close from the entrance for those who look for a separate environment. But still, there are good options and enough variety in the menu.

Room Tip: Pick any. Try the upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate your comments and please let us know if we can contribute to arrange transportation for your visits to Downtown as you mention traffic is heavy as it is in main cities.

Please let us know when you are planning to come back, we can accommodate your privacy needs by offering a meeting room located at the lobby with capacity for 10 people in case you desire to have a private meeting, and our servers will be more than happy to assist with any request.

Pura vida,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayreville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

After a busy day in the jungle riding atvs and zip lining this was the perfect place to lay my head as we traveled through Costa Rica! Clean bedding room and bathroom and fancy looking without the fancy money. All I could say if they offered free breakfast they would take Hampton inn an holiday inn off the map (exaggerating but true)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonesonii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Simone,

Wow, I see that you had amazing and exciting vacations in Costa Rica, I’m really glad to know that our hotel contributed to have a comfortable stay. Is great to know you left our country with great memories.

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with TripAdvisor readers, all our team is looking forward to receive you again in the near future. We promise we are going to consider your recommendations, have a perfect day.

Pura vida,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Courtyard was perfectly located near the airport. We stayed here when we got into SJO at 10:00pm and 7 days later when we flew out of SJO at 6:15am. The shuttle was free and very convenient. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff was outstanding!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for making the Courtyard San Jose Airport your choice of accommodation during your recent trip. As you mentioned before our shuttle to the airport take just 5 min or less. Hope your visit to Costa Rica had been wonderful, and of course we hope to see you soon in your next trip.

Have a perfect day,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Our flight home to Los Angeles departed around 6:30 am so we needed to stay near the airport the night before. The hotel has everything you'd expect from a Courtyard Marriott but they went above and beyond for us. Although we were not staying at the hotel until the last night of our trip, I contacted the manager, Marco, to see if it would be ok if we could use their airport shuttle the day we arrived because we arranged for transportation via Interbus to La Fortuna/Arenal at 8:45 am but our flight landed at 5:30 am. Marco and his wonderful staff arranged for their shuttle bus to have a sign with my name so I could easily spot them at SJO (We wound up landing early and someone at the airport called the hotel and the sent the shuttle right over.). When we arrived at the hotel we had breakfast and then relaxed in the TV lounge until Interbus arrived. At the end of our trip, we returned, had dinner and spent our last night in a comfortable, well appointed room. We were able to pay the exit tax at the front desk when we checked in to save time in the morning. We took the shuttle back to SJO. We didn't go but there is a WalMart right next store if you need to stock up.

Muchas Gracias Marco, Anaysa, Karen and Diego (I think I got those names right!)!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polaroid-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

What a magnificent way to start the morning reading your comment, we truly appreciate you were taking the time to share your experience with readers in Trip Advisor. We are committed to providing the highest level of service to all of our guests and, based upon your feedback, we clearly are doing the things right to demonstrate our passion for excellence.

Dear guest we are so glad to know that all our team contributed to exceed your expectations about our hotel. Marco, Anaysa, Karen, Diego and all our team are extremely delighted to hear that your experience in Costa Rica and our hotel was beyond your expectations.

Now that you are more familiar with Costa Rica, I hope you consider to come back in your next vacations to visit other areas of Costa Rica such as Manuel Antonio; the pacific coast can surprise you with the amazing white sand beaches and also the beautiful natural parks where you can find all the exotics animals and bio diversity.

Hope you keep great memories about your vacations in Costa Rica and we are looking forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night after a late afternoon flight into San Jose. Hotel provides free shuttle to/from airport every 30 minutes. Watch out for the driver holding up the free shuttle sign right when you exit the arrivals. And be sure the driver takes you to the Courtyard in Alajuela because there is another Courtyard in San Jose. Room is clean and modern. Breakfast is served from 4 to 10am. Walmart is a short 5 min walk from the hotel for those who need to pick up some necessities or water and snacks for the road. We bought a pineapple from there and our waiter at the restaurant was kind bought to cut it for us. Free wifi in the room and common areas. Five thumbs up!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owllovestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your detail comment, I hope that all our services contributed to have a memorable stay. Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,

Daniela C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
2.5 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 26 in Alajuela
662 reviews
3.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 26 in Alajuela
848 reviews
4.3 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela

Property: Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, this LEED-constructed Alajuela hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing