We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
Nearby Hotels
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,099)
Filter reviews
1,099 results
Traveller rating
594
392
82
18
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
594
392
82
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery half hourstrip mallsan josesmall mallcosta ricafree shuttleroom keynext morningbreakfast buffetfront desk staffrestaurant staffhotel is perfectan early morning flightroom ratebusiness centermangostayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
754 - 759 of 1,099 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Nice place and friendly people. Close to the airport. Remember when you come into the airport....people will grab your bags and say come this way.....don't let them have your bags or lead you. They only want tips and if you don't give what they think is acceptable there could be trouble. The hotel and staff are good people!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comment, and also for the advice regarding to the arrival at the airport, you are totally right about it, now we are working to have an associate of the hotel right there waiting for all the guests who arrive in Costa Rica and to prevent that kind of problems.

Once again thank you so much for your comment; I hope your vacations in Costa Rica had been wonderful. We are looking forward to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this newer hotel. Free airport shuttle was nice. Comfortable beds, I-Phone dock for music and charging was nice extra feature. Exercise room was well equipped.. PCs available for Internet access in Lobby . Pool was small and not particularly inviting. Front desk staff was helpful and spoke English. We shopped at Wal-Mart next door for Costa Rica coffee before airport departure. Wal-Mart also has a hot breakfast available at 8:00AM. with eggs, pancakes, fresh fruit, yogurt, plantains, breakfast burritos, etc at a very good price.. We stayed on the 6th floor and did not hear noise from the planes. We planned a rafting trip with Rios Tropicalas on the Pacuare River. We had a fantastic time and highly recommend to anyone interested in rafting. $99 price includes pick up and return to hotel, breakfast, lunch and an exciting and beautiful rafting adventure on one of the top rafting rivers in the world. Loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for room on higher floor (6th). Freeway across from front of hotel may be noisy on lower floors.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pearsob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear guest,

Reading your comment made our day full of energy and encourage us to continue doing our best for every visitor in Costa Rica. As you mentioned before there is a Walmart next to the hotel and also a new plaza in front. This is brand new with several options for dinner and shopping. I am really glad that you had the opportunity to visit Pacuare, this is one of the most stunning places in Costa Rica, I hope you are planning to come back and if you do, please consider our hotel for your next visit.

Pura Vida ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Great new airport hotel great for transiting through SJO. Watch out for offer to buy departure tax fee at hotel (for which they charge $4 "convenience fee"). Front desk staff said would need to go to airport a hour early because of lineups at SJO. What a scam! Took 4 minutes to pay departure tax at SJO (even though airport very busy).

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ClaireinOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedb
ack regarding our hotel. I'm certainly disappointed about the “departure tax scam”. We offer the benefit of providing the purchase of the CR Government Departure Taxes due that at some hours the airport gets busy and the lines are very long, for example from 4:30 am to 9:30 am. The extra service fee that we offer regarding the airport tax is a plus for the people who want to skip the line at the airport. This way you don’t have to count on leaving an hour before to get it.

We hope you’ll have the opportunity to visit us again and the opportunity to know a little bit more of Costa Rica and its nature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

A nice new addition to the San Jose hotel scene. Clean quiet, takes USD (in case you have spent all your Colones!) I usually stay at a local place (hard to find but excellent hospitality) but traveling with new friends. Nice new Marriott lobby. The friendly staff just could not do enough for us!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comment regarding your stay in Courtyard San Jose Aeropuerto. Is a pleasure for us to know that our staff made your stay comfortable, hope you have the opportunity to come and visit us again.

Pura vida,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed overnight before our trip back to the states. The hotel was nice but the music was too loud in the lobby. I much prefer quieter lobbies. Also, I was offended by the Hooters restaurant next door. Hasn't this disgusting American chain gone out of business yet??? Women should boycott that place!

Staff nice and room lovely. Pool small and unattractive looking.

Room Tip: They have some good snacks to get before your flight.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarefootBuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Care:
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing your experience with trip advisor readers, we will adjust the volume of the music at the lobby to reduce the negative impact in our guests. Our lobby is a great place to enjoy the night and we offer live music on wednesdays with a local musician with positive results to enhance the experience of local customers and our guests.
In addition or location offers a brand new plaza with several restaurants and options for you to enjoy in addition to our restaurant, offering more options to choose from. I will share your comments with our staff to motivate them to continue working hard to exceed guests expectations an d creating memorable experiences of our hotel and Costa Rica.
Hope to see you soon in the next future,
Pura Vida ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews