We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, secure, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, secure, comfortable”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I think all Marriotts are great--consistent in comfort, appearance, and amenities, and that's great. This hotel was right by the airport so very convenient for us leaving out of SJ, had great GREAT security measures, and the staff was great. Some nice dining just a short walk across the parking lot, too, so that was nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 17 April 2015
Dear E M:
thanks for recognizing our Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela for the convenience location and safety, same as the quality of servcie you got from our team.
Hoping to see you soon when you travel to Costa Rica.
PuraVida:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    350
    67
    18
    13
See reviews for
261
318
66
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was our last stop on our trip. We had to fly back to the US at 4am the next morning. First of all it is in the middle of nowhere, there are a couple crappy restaurants across the street, including a Hooters, but nothing we actually wanted to eat. We ended up eating at the restaurant in the hotel. The service was very slow and the food was not very good (the chicken soup was ok). Our waitress brought me the complete wrong thing but it took so long and we wanted to get to sleep so I just ate it.

The beds were average and the sheets felt well used. And when we went to sleep, extremely loud music began to play. I think there was a wedding going on and we didn't realize how loud it was going to be. It was thumping through our window and walls. Even my usual trick of sleeping with a pillow over my head did not work. I called down to the front desk at 10:30 (as we had to be up in 5 hours) and there was no answer. Literally that has never happened to me before. I let it ring for 4 minutes, and no one ever picked up. So I got dressed and went down stairs and waited in line for the desk clerk. He said the music would be stopping in 20 minutes (it ended up continuing past midnight) and when I asked for the manager he said he "was probably sleeping".

Everything about this place was run unprofessionally in my opinion. I wish we picked a different place by the airport to stay. My kids hardly got any sleep and our 10 hours of travel the next day was even harder because we were all irritated. The only thing a hotel needs to do is let you sleep. That's it, that's it's only job. This one did the exact opposite. I hope they made a lot of money on the wedding because I will not be staying at Marriott hotels anymore.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitoonybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest:
On behalf of my team please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience experienced during your last night in Costa Rica. I can assure you that we are committed to delivering a quality guest experience to all our customers at all times. Clearly we failed. Should you wish to provide more information, please reach out to me personally at marco.quinteros@courtyard.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I booked this hotel because it had good reviews, especially about the reliability of the shuttle to the airport. I was not disappointed in that regard - the shuttle was very reliable. However, my cabbie had a really hard time finding the hotel as it is not as convenient to the airport as others such as the Holiday Inn Express and the Hampton Inn. That being said, my room was very comfortable and the wake-up call rang reliably at 4:00 AM so that I could catch the 4:30 AM shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p032158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 20 April 2015
Dear p032158:
We would like to thak you for your reognition to our shuttle service and your recognition as reliable and on time.
Our service began at 4:00 with the first shuttle to the Airport and then on every 30 min.
Hope you have acomplished the purpose of your trip to Costa Rica,
Pura Vida,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Highly recommend staying here if you're arriving later at night and leaving early the next day. It's relatively affordable so why check in at your resorts just to sleep? And it's better to travel the country during the day because not all roads are lit. The hotel staff is great! The food is a little on the high side but go across the street for somewhat of a local flare. It's pretty commercialized, after all there is a hooters, so pricing is for the "tourists".
The good thing about staying there the night before your departure is you can buy cheap souvenirs; coffee, candies, chocolates, etc... And you don't have to stress out about the morning traffic getting to the hotel.

Room Tip: It's not the kind of hotel that you'll spend your entire trip in... So it doesn't matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maylee32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 20 April 2015
Dear MayLee32:
Love to findoutr that our hotel fit all your needs during your visit to Costa Rica, also thank you for sharing your experience with all the community, you are right when you recommend to travel the country during day light to better have a flavor of the scenary.
We certainly are the closest hotel to the INternational Airport inb Costa Rica.
Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is a great hotel to stay in if you have an early flight out of the Alajuela airport. There is a tiny strip mall within walking distance where you can grab a quick meal if you get in late and the hotel provides a free shuttle (first one is at 4 AM) to the airport which is only 5 minutes away. Plus you can pay your airport tax at the hotel so you don't have to waste time at the airport doing so.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJo_Sla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 20 April 2015
Dear SlaJ0:
Thaks for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing your experience with the community we certainly recommend to buy the Departure tax in our Front desk to avoid lines eraly in the morning at the Airport.
Glad to find out that you were satisfy with our facilities and service.
Pura Vida:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Poor view but very nice hotel near everything with everything in it! good price , nice gym, near a wal mart and the airport!Great service great communication good food what you want more than that!!!!!

Room Tip: air condionner
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear guest:
Thank you, thank you, thank you, thousands of thanks for your beautiful review, my team would love to hear your review; they are very much involved and informed about every single review that help to strive our service and attention to details. My team is working hard to provide great experiences; most of them have not had previous experience in the hotel industry and more than 80% are coming from Alajuela and the surroundings of the hotel. They are eager to learn and willing to receive feedback to improve their quality of services. So your review will contribute to motivate them to continue doing what they are doing and increase awareness to deliver the best possible service.
Pura vida;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erie
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

If you are looking for an airport that is close to the airport, clean, has a friendly staff, offers free Wifi and a complimentary shuttle to the airport -- then this is a good choice.
IF you are looking for a hotel that is a resort with a gorgeous pool, a gourmet restaurant, within walking distance or short taxi ride to shopping and great restaurants - then this is NOT the place for you.
There is a very, very small pool outside along with lounge chairs. They do have a small gym and also a bar/restaurant. The gift shop consists of some very basic things and cool drinks. There is a small plaza across the street with several places to eat. Also, a large Walmart with a pharmacy and Dr. on staff that can see you and offer you medications.
We found a special online that was around $180.00 and included a $50 food voucher and a small bottle of champagne.
The hotel was very nice but not somewhere to spend an entire last day of a vacation at. If you are departing from the airport early in the morning and looking for somewhere to spend a few hours then this is a great spot.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Kristin:
Thank you very much for your detail review on our property, I highly appreciate your comment recognizing staff service, which is the most valuable asset on our company and also our main commitment to differentiate from others within location.
As highlighted this hotel is not a Resort and therefore our pool is small but our deck invites customers to relax and enjoy the beautiful weather and sunny days in Costa Rica. Yesterday afternoon a couple of customers were having a great time with a couple of Imperials (local beer) and snacks, taking advantage of the temperature and sun high seventies. We appreciate your comment regarding our emergency service at no cost. If you are planning to visit Costa Rica again we hope you taking us onto consideration.
Pura Vida;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
2.5 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
662 reviews
3.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
845 reviews
4.3 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela

Property: Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, this LEED-constructed Alajuela hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing