We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent airport hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent airport hotel experience”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Highly recommend this hotel for a good night's sleep at departure or arrival. Friendly and clean with a small pool and gym, it's everything you might need. Across the parking lot are several adequate restaurants and a Walmart (for all the sunscreen you might need at the beach). The staff were helpful and welcoming. You can take care of your departure tax without a line and catch a free shuttle to/from the airport on the half hour.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleDelphinium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 12 April 2015
Dear Seattle Delphinium:
We are thankfull for your review and recommendation to all trip advisor readers hope you are planing to come back to Costa Rica and if you do so don't forget to stop by.
Pura Vida:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    355
    68
    18
    13
See reviews for
267
321
67
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The hotel itself is not bad; a good respite for a quick overnight before catching your flight the next day. However, if you have scheduled any reservation from the Marriott website that is one of their package specials, be sure to carry the paperwork with you. I had to debate this with the desk clerk upon arrival and departure. I had booked a room with a $50 food credit and a bottle of wine upon arrival. I never received the wine and I am still working with Marriott to determine what happened to the food credit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear guest:
Thank you for bringing to my attention your experience upon check in with one of our packages, We have scheduled a training with our Front Desk team to review packages and inclusions to avoid reocurrances.
Please accept my apologies on behalf of myself and my team, we are all willing to adjust and learning to meet and exceed service expectations.
Pura vida,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We needed a hotel for one night stay to catch an early flight. This hotel was clean, quiet but the water pressure in the shower was terrible! We stayed on the 5th floor but wow, I can't remember the last time I stayed anywhere with the shower so bad. The room didn't have a hair dryer and had only couple of towels and we had four people in our room. There are a few places to eat across a parking lot so it's convenient if you don't have car.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GotKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear guest:
We are looking to your report with our maintenance team to review the water presure on every shower to verify what adjustments need to be done. My housekeeping team is also verifiying hair dryers which are located in the closet next to the iron and the iron board. If our guests would like to have additional towels you can request them to our front desk and they will be delivered to your room, I understand that having 4 members in our room needs to have additional amenities and we are willing to provide them as need them.
Your comments are valuable to assist new guests and improving our operations. Hope you have found your visit to Costa Rica enjoyable and wish you can come back to our hotel to verify that we are taking your comments seriously and properly implemented.
Pura vida...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very nice, clean, and comfortable place with upscale furnishings. We had an early flight out of SJO, and the free shuttle from this hotel starts at 4 am (which worked well for us). The bed was super-comfortable, and the room was quiet so we had a good night's sleep before our early departure. There were a variety of options for dinner within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 16 April 2015
Dear Lauren034:
Thank you, thank you very much, for giving us a higher stars rating, our hotel due to the infraestructure and service should be higher and we appreciated you noticed it.
I have shared your review with our staff members and all are delighted and thankfull with your comment shared with the internet community.
Hope you are planning to come back soon and stop by.
Pura Vida:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here the first and last nights of our trip. The hotel's new and everything is still in good shape. Rooms in the back are quieter - no street noise and less plane noise. Rooms have a fridge to use. The only thing I didn't like was the pillows - they were hard and thick. Breakfast was good and you could choose between a la carte, continental, or full. We paid the airport tax at the hotel for a small fee to avoid lines I read about at the airport, but at 600am, there was no line at all. Shuttles leave every half hour. We didn't take the shuttle from the airport as we had a rental car shuttle pick up. The Walmart next door is great to pick up anything you may need traveling (bottled water, chips, etc.), and the restaurants in front are convenient as well - The Peruvian one was very good.

You could use this for a base in the central valley as well - it's close to Poas and La Paz Waterfall Gardens, and right off Route 1 (and not far from the "freeway") 27 to the coast, it's pretty convenient for getting around. If driving there from Liberia, exit into the airport then follow the blue street signs, going straight when nothing else is indicated.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prolix50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 17 April 2015
Dear Prolix50:
Thank you so much for your kind review and recognizing our Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela as the closest hotel to the International Airport in Costa Rica.
Our facilities were built taking into consideration the newest standards to prove sound and therefore you are able to have a good rest in addition to the Plaza and other facilities close by.
On behalf of my team thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the internet community.
Pura Vida:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent first night stop after a long days' travelling. No need to book shuttle bus (5 min transfer) that meets you at the airport. Rooms spacious, clean with large comfy bed- just what we needed!
Breakfast not included but good quality, choice and reasonable price.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 17 April 2015
Dear Martin W:
Our gratitude for your review and title as convenient and great quality Airport in addition to highlight the value of our facilities such as proximity to the airport, shuttle service and breakfast buffet open from 04:00 am.
Hope you have had your visit to Costa Rica very valuable and our hotel as a future option for future vacation.
Pura Vida:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I think all Marriotts are great--consistent in comfort, appearance, and amenities, and that's great. This hotel was right by the airport so very convenient for us leaving out of SJ, had great GREAT security measures, and the staff was great. Some nice dining just a short walk across the parking lot, too, so that was nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 17 April 2015
Dear E M:
thanks for recognizing our Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela for the convenience location and safety, same as the quality of servcie you got from our team.
Hoping to see you soon when you travel to Costa Rica.
PuraVida:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
2.5 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
668 reviews
3.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
863 reviews
8.0 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela

Property: Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, this LEED-constructed Alajuela hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing