We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for night before our trip back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Perfect place for night before our trip back!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela two weeks ago before returning home back to Denver.

The location is great, very close to the airport and they have a free shuttle. The first one starts at 4:00 am and we had to take it as our flight was at 6:00 am. We had enough time at the airport. Be aware that there might be a lot of people catching the 4:00 am shuttle. It happened to us so we had to wait for the second one.

The service at the hotel was fine and it is a good idea to pay the airport exit fees at the hotel even though it costs a bit more. It saved us time and headache once we got to the airport.

The room was fine with a very nice bathroom and a comfortable bed and access to wi-fi. We did ask for a wake up call as we had to wake up at 3:00 a.m. And they did call.

There are several restaurants within walking distance of the hotel butt we ate dinner at the hotel restaurant ( see other review).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Dear NatC100:
Is exiting to read your review and how well describe service and facilities as well as sourroundngs, we appreciate the time invested to share your experience with Trip Advisor Community and hope we are able to see you soon.
Pura Vida:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    351
    67
    18
    13
See reviews for
262
318
66
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, null, United States
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

You have to read the Marriott website carefully to understand what you pay for. Overall advertisements says one thing but look at the room details and you'll find that they charge extra for different things, like breakfast. Of all the places we stayed in Costa Rica, staff here was at least helpful, not complaining, as they were helpful but we had better everywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahamaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Dear Ernie P:
We appreciate your review and we have shared your comments with our staff to pay more attention to details. Breakfast is not included in rate unless you book the appropiate rate with breakfast included for a minimum difference that is strongly suggested considering that our full buffet breakfast starts at 4:00 am and we serve local and international food to please all tastes.
pura vida:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Excellent efficient service at this focused hotel very conveniently situated near the airport and with complimentary shuttle service. Comfortable but firm beds, good internet and satisfactory food, with charming staff make this a good place to stay. In our opinion, the food was of a higher quality than that in the food court over the road, and the price is reasonable. There is a pool.

Room Tip: Can't help here, we stayed twice, and both times the rooms were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 12 April 2015
Dear Chrissie F:
We appreciate your review and we are sharing your comment with the kitcen staff, recognizing that our food was better than the court food across the road help us to maintain focus on the quality.
Hope you have found Alajuela a great stop for your visit in Costa Rica,
Pura Vida;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

On our last night in Costa Rica, we decided to stay close to the airport, as we had an early departure. The hotel is situated in the rear of a small plaza, next to a Wal-Mart. Within a short five minute drive there are dozens of restaurants in the city of Alajuela.

The room we had was very clean. The hotel is relatively new and in excellent condition. The hotel has a free washer/dryer for guests and we took advantage of doing some before the trip.

The hotel has an email area for travelers, as well as terminals devoted for boarding passes.

The front desk staff assisted us with our passport taxes.

The hotel has a free shuttle to the airport, which we took advantage of.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We selected an upper floor away from an elevator. The laundry is on the second floor, as well as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 12 April 2015
Dear Owen A:
I wanted to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela your review will also assist other customers to take into consideration our free laundry machine on the second floor, as well as teh gym and swimming pool.
Hope the future brings you back to Costa Rica and if it does, don't forget to stop by and visit us again.
Pura Vida;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF, CA
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel is a good choice for a 1-night stay when you arrive late in the day or have an early flight the next morning. The rooms are pretty clean and the employees are very friendly. The beds were a bit on the hard side (even though I do enjoy a firm mattress), but I still got a good night's sleep as I was tired after traveling all day. I think this hotel is a typical Courtyard by Marriott hotel and it's quite good for an airport hotel. The only things I want to mention are that the towels were very hard and threadbare, which is surprising considering the hotel is so new. The towels felt like loofahs and not towels, but it was not a big deal for a one night stay. My husband also found a small brown bug (beetle or tiny cockroach) on the sheets the next morning, so that grossed him out a little, but again not a big deal. We are in Costa Rica, after all. Breakfast the next morning was not included, so we paid $8pp for the continental buffet breakfast. The service in the restaurant was excellent - the waiter was very attentive and there was a good selection of fruits and pastries. The banana bread was excellent, but the carrot bread and some of the croissants in the basket were hard and stale. Maybe a couple of days old. However, when my husband dug deeper into the basket, he was able to find a few softer croissants. LOL. In summary, we would stay here again for one night as it's convenient to be close to the airport. I wanted to give this hotel 3.5 stars, but the only options were 3 or 4 stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlstar128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest:
We are glad to know that you have found our staff friendly and attentive in all areas, we are proud and working every day to deliver the best service possible. I have also shared your comments with our laundry team to llok into details with towels, this should be easy to solve with our vendors.
Also have share your comments with oour kitchen to make sure we are refreshing items in the buffet to secure we are delivering the best quality. Our breakfst is served since 4 am in the morning and we need to pay close attention to details. We hope to serve you again in the next future so you can verify that we are taking notes on your comments.
Pura Vida:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Highly recommend this hotel for a good night's sleep at departure or arrival. Friendly and clean with a small pool and gym, it's everything you might need. Across the parking lot are several adequate restaurants and a Walmart (for all the sunscreen you might need at the beach). The staff were helpful and welcoming. You can take care of your departure tax without a line and catch a free shuttle to/from the airport on the half hour.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleDelphinium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 12 April 2015
Dear Seattle Delphinium:
We are thankfull for your review and recommendation to all trip advisor readers hope you are planing to come back to Costa Rica and if you do so don't forget to stop by.
Pura Vida:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The hotel itself is not bad; a good respite for a quick overnight before catching your flight the next day. However, if you have scheduled any reservation from the Marriott website that is one of their package specials, be sure to carry the paperwork with you. I had to debate this with the desk clerk upon arrival and departure. I had booked a room with a $50 food credit and a bottle of wine upon arrival. I never received the wine and I am still working with Marriott to determine what happened to the food credit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear guest:
Thank you for bringing to my attention your experience upon check in with one of our packages, We have scheduled a training with our Front Desk team to review packages and inclusions to avoid reocurrances.
Please accept my apologies on behalf of myself and my team, we are all willing to adjust and learning to meet and exceed service expectations.
Pura vida,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
2.5 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 26 in Alajuela
664 reviews
3.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 26 in Alajuela
849 reviews
4.3 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela

Property: Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, this LEED-constructed Alajuela hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing