We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical North American hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Typical North American hotel”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here for one night in November and another in April. Something has changed with management over this time. Service was much better in November. If you're a North American looking for creature comforts of home, this place is ok. For a new hotel, there are a number of minor annoyances such as leaking toilets and broken shower doors. Security on the property is very strong and perhaps a little too overboard.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest:
We appreciate your comments specially if you have visited us in the past please be so kind to provide details on your service experience so we can make appropiate adjustments at Marco.quinteros@courtyard.com
Hope you are planning to come back to Costa Rica and if you do so please feel free to contact me to make sure your experience exceed expectations.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    350
    67
    18
    13
See reviews for
261
318
66
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herradura, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It's near the airport, but one doesn't hear the planes. The checking was fast and the staff...all of them.. are friendly and helpful. The parking is secure. The rooms are big. The beds are a bit firm, but comfortable with big fluffy pillows. Now for the small issues. The TV kept turning off after about an hour. I had to keep turning it back on. The shampoo and conditioner were of poor quality and too small for even me. And there was no lotion. However, these issues are nitpicky and I would suggest this hotel for a stopover when leaving or arriving to San Jose.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank BigAl_inCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Dear BigAl_inCR:
We are impresed by your review mainly because you are kind to recognize that even when we are close to the Airport no sounds have been hearing from the Airport or trafic. Our windows are sound protected to avoid external noise in our facilities.
Thanks for your review.
Pura Vida:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Especially after 10 days of hit and miss traveling around CR, it was really nice to anticipate clean sheets and dependable service, and we got both.

Very well located for airport travel. Right next to a Walmart, which was entertaining for 45 minutes (to see which products are different, and which are the same from USA Walmarts). The Walmart is also a good place to pick up items to bring home, and to get snacks for the plane.

Across the parking lot is a Mexican restaurant; convenient, but the food isn't very good.

Beds are double sheeted, but the top sheet is heavy so I don't know if it gets washed every time; one can hope. Rooms have pleasant modern decor. Windows don't open. There's a mini-fridge and safe.

There's a free washer and dryer on one of the floors; a terrific extra, but there's only one washer and one dryer. The soap and fabric softener can be bought at the hotel's front desk, or at Walmart.

Room Tip: If you are planning to do a load of laundry, it may be useful to be asked to be placed on the same f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 133travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Dear TA133:
It is very kind on your part to recognize how useful was our laundry and your suggestion regarding to request same floor to take advantage of it. We are looking forward to the visit of customrs that after a long trip in Costa Rica would come to find the facilities needed to relax before a flight back home.
Pura Vida:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Wonderful place to stay if you have an early flight home. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Only 5 minute shuttle ride to the Airport. Shuttle starts at 4:30 AM.
Nice bar with outdoor seating area. Short walk to several restaurants.
For a nominal fee you can fill out your exit form saving you one line you would need to stand in at the airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Dear Tom B:
Our associates are pleased to know how well your vacations went, choosing a Costa Rica destination is worthy and more when you are able to take advantage of our hotel mainly based in the proximity to the airport. In addition to your description we will have available the newest City Mall schedule to open in October 2015. Hope we can see you soon again :)
Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, quiet (heard no planes) and comfy rooms and very handily 5 mins from airport with the shuttle leaving every 30 mins 24/7 I believe. Also near some restaurants and Walmart so very handy. We had absolutely no complaints-there are even laundry facilities which is great to return home with clean clothes.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank adam_monty25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Dear adam_monty25:
Thanks for your review describing the most relevant details during your visit to our hotel such as friendly staff, quiet rooms due to the windows system that avoid noise to come in, and proximity to the airport.
Hoep you ara planning to visit us again in the near future.
Pura Vida:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed the on the last night in Costa Rica. It's another hotel near the airport, and we haven't use most of its facilities, but they looked very good (had a glance of the fitness room, which seemed very decently equipped), we didn't even have the chance to try the breakfast.
The rooms are very comfortable, great bed and all that's necessary. Wi-fi worked very well in the rooms. The bathroom was big and comfortable, although the shower was not of the best (maybe not enough pressure). But the toiletries were very good and hairdryer functional.
I didn't adore the fact that at check-in they blocked not only the room price, but also an additional amount on the credit card, but it's details. Good thing that you can buy your exit tax at the hotel (so you avoid additional lines at the airport), bad thing - they charge $4 for this difficult task. Airport shuttle is free and leaves every half an hour.
There are 4-5 restaurants in front of the hotel, in a kind of parking lot. The Mexican one we chose was extremely overpriced and nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_erre_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Dear a_erre_a:
Great to know that you enjoy your vacations and please to understand that your selection pays off, hope you come back to Costa Rica and choos our location to take advantage of all our facilities.
Pura Vida:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel - it was nice, the staff was very friendly and breakfast was amazing - we were very well accommodated in terms of drinks and had table service!
The rooms were huge and nicely decorated with modern decor. The bathroom also had a tub for a nice pre-flight soak. The fitness room and pool were also convenient to have! :)
There were a number of restaurant choices within 100m of the restaurant as well as a Walmart and a shuttle service to the airport every 30 minutes - great! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Dear Melinda M:
Thanks for describing and recognizing our hotel for the quality of service, rooms size and closest location to the Iternational Airport in San Jose.
Our Courtyard San Jose Airport ALajuela is the newest Hotel and closest facility to the Airport with restaurant service and a plaza with several dinning options within walking distance.
Hope you plan to visit us again.
Pura Vida:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
2.5 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
662 reviews
3.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
845 reviews
4.3 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela

Property: Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, this LEED-constructed Alajuela hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing