We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pacande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pacande
Ranked #2 of 60 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel Pacande isn't fancy or particularly exciting. It's a clean, comfortable, central place to stay when passing through Alajuela. Exactly where Lonely Planet pinpoints it on the map, we were impressed with the very friendly and obliging customer service. I booked the superior room which was not necessary in retrospect - more big than superior. It was up a precarious spiral staircase and boasted one double and three single beds over two levels, plus a toilet room and shower room, and a balcony. One double would have been fine! It was quiet but the wind made all the windows rattle. I slept well. Breakfast was included: cereal, fruit and coffee in a little courtyard.

In terms of location, 5 mins walk from the airport bus, the town square, and the Goodlight Bookshop and several coffeeshops. And just across the road there's Monteleone, a charming and tourist-friendly restaurant and cocktail place. Very convenient.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    50
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
81
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We got there after midnight and somebody was expecting us. Good base for an arrival in Costa Rica. The breakfast was however very poor and toasts would have been better than an airy bread roasted with cheese and served with jam....apart from that much better than the hotel than we stayed at the last night the hotel mango that we don't recommend

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mim_sau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Hotel Pacande was a great hotel with an incredibly friendly staff, comfortable accommodations, and an affordable price. The hotel was clean, safe, within walking distance to many shops and restaurants, and a short drive to San Jose International Airport. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the San Jose area or before departure from/after an arrival to San Jose International Airport. This hotel is somewhat hard to find but is well worth the effort to locate!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Also stumbled on this gem by chance and I highly recommend it. Very helpful and welcoming owners and staff, spotless rooms and lovely decor, lovely courtyard, very safe and secure, with a great location. Within walking distance of a Basilica and large public park, as well as many shops and restaurants. Also close to the airport. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lianna1388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Perfect for a late arrival in Costa Rica, this hotel is only 10mins away from the airport by taxi (~$6). My room was excellent value: comfortable and spotlessly clean, with a hot-water shower (not reliably available even in fancier lodgings here). The staff were charming and the breakfast, served in a sunny internal courtyard, consisted of unremarkable bread and jam but truly excellent tropical fruit. Alajuela is a pleasant small town with an interesting covered market: a good introduction to urban Costa Rica and much less challenging than diving straight into San Jose. As a single female traveller I felt safe and comfortable.

Room Tip: My room was one of the cheaper options as it shared a bathroom: I found this no problem at all, sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LegalalienUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights for a rest after arriving late at night from New York and on our way to Fortuna. For the price, this place is an absolute gem. Run by a lovely Spanish family who provide a really nice fresh fruit and toast breakfast. It's super clean and spacious, very basic but that's exactly what we needed, and more than expected for the price. Very safe too they have a person on the door all night who let's you in and out. Alajuela is so close to the airport and we are very glad we chose to stay here over San Jose.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank snr24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblemount, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is a great hotel for staying the night you arrive in Costa Rica or the night before you leave. Close to the airport, very clean, friendly family owners who wanted to be helpful in any way possible. Fresh paint on the walls, nice fruit and coffee breakfast. The only oddity was the emphasis they placed on taking the specific taxi company that they would be sending to the airport to pick me up. They were very clear that I was not to take any other cab.......but the company that I "was required" to take wasn't anywhere to be found at the airport. Getting a regular cab was easy so there was no problem, it would just be simpler if they didn't place such an emphasis on a ghost service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marblemount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
2.6 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#13 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pacande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pacande

Property: Hotel Pacande
Address: Avenida 5, calles 2 y 4, Alajuela 4050-1928, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pacande 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pacande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacande Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing