We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay after arrival”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pacande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pacande
Ranked #2 of 60 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay after arrival”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel has simple rooms but everything is clean. The breakfast was really good with different fruits and bread with jelly. You could take as much as you like.
The owner was very nice and offered very helpful advise for our journey.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    50
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
81
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This hotel would be great, I wish I could give them 5, but two issues prevent me from doing so. They are conveniently located in downtown Alajuela, bus station and a handful of restaurants nearby, airport is less than 10 minutes by taxi. Price is very attractive. Rooms are clean and well maintained, and personnel is friendly and helpful.
However, a breakfast, main components of which were mango and bananas, was a complete joke. Breakfast is served from 7 a.m. and we were leaving at 7.15, so maybe they served more substantial things later, but we had no chance to know it.
What really ruined my experience there were their beds. We've stayed in 5 different places in Costa Rica and Pacande's were by far the most uncomfortable beds. I'm 5'10", not a giant, but a mattress was way too short for me, and soft as brick. Night I stayed there I had the worst sleep in 12 great days I spent in Costa Rica. We returned to Alajuela for our last 2 nights in the country, but stayed in more expensive Hotel 1915, it was worth every cent of it.
On the other hand, my wife, who is 5'3" and doesn't mind having fruit for breakfast, liked the place and had no complaint whatsoever.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel was a perfectly fine place to stay. Clean room, clean bathroom, reasonable price. The included breakfast was a simple continental breakfast with fresh fruit. The location is nice and central in Alajuela. Close to restaurants, bakeries, and ATMs.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel Pacande isn't fancy or particularly exciting. It's a clean, comfortable, central place to stay when passing through Alajuela. Exactly where Lonely Planet pinpoints it on the map, we were impressed with the very friendly and obliging customer service. I booked the superior room which was not necessary in retrospect - more big than superior. It was up a precarious spiral staircase and boasted one double and three single beds over two levels, plus a toilet room and shower room, and a balcony. One double would have been fine! It was quiet but the wind made all the windows rattle. I slept well. Breakfast was included: cereal, fruit and coffee in a little courtyard.

In terms of location, 5 mins walk from the airport bus, the town square, and the Goodlight Bookshop and several coffeeshops. And just across the road there's Monteleone, a charming and tourist-friendly restaurant and cocktail place. Very convenient.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We got there after midnight and somebody was expecting us. Good base for an arrival in Costa Rica. The breakfast was however very poor and toasts would have been better than an airy bread roasted with cheese and served with jam....apart from that much better than the hotel than we stayed at the last night the hotel mango that we don't recommend

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mim_sau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Hotel Pacande was a great hotel with an incredibly friendly staff, comfortable accommodations, and an affordable price. The hotel was clean, safe, within walking distance to many shops and restaurants, and a short drive to San Jose International Airport. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the San Jose area or before departure from/after an arrival to San Jose International Airport. This hotel is somewhat hard to find but is well worth the effort to locate!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Also stumbled on this gem by chance and I highly recommend it. Very helpful and welcoming owners and staff, spotless rooms and lovely decor, lovely courtyard, very safe and secure, with a great location. Within walking distance of a Basilica and large public park, as well as many shops and restaurants. Also close to the airport. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lianna1388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
2.6 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#13 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pacande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pacande

Property: Hotel Pacande
Address: Avenida 5, calles 2 y 4, Alajuela 4050-1928, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pacande 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pacande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacande Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing