We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cutest remodeled rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cutest remodeled rooms”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We needed a place to crash before an early morning flight out of San Jose, and this one offered a free shuttle to the airport. The friendly front desk fella put us in a room that had been redone over the summer, and it was ADORABLE. Really nice decor, and very comfortable and clean. Staff was friendly, shuttle was very convenient. I'm not generally much of a Holiday Inn girl, but I would totally stay again after this experience.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the remodeled room - it sounded as though they haven't all been done yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    329
    84
    24
    18
See reviews for
202
309
63
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

It's very close from the airport which is a plus when you have to leave early in the morning. I stayed there on my first night in Costa Rica when I arrived but found it noisy and not that good. When I left I stayed in Alajuela in a very nice hotel (los volcanes) for half the price I payed there. I had to take a cab but it cost me less that 7 dollars!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabienne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Fabienne M,

Thank you for your review of your stay. I am sorry you did not find our hotel to your liking. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible, and may use some of the feedback you’ve provided to further improve our service. Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco area, CA
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We arrived into San Jose airport late at night so we stayed here and it was a perfect location. 5-10 mins. from airport, free pick up shuttle, very clean rooms, great free breakfast, nice staff, nice pool area although we didn't have time to swim. We were 100 yards from Thrifty car rental, which made it easy to get our car in the morning, which was an inadvertant convenience for us! Unfortunately, there is no mini market or convenience store nearby. At the time of night we arrived, and being unfamiliar with the country, we opted to buy two beers, a bag of chips and a small container of dip at the hotel next door......$20.00!! We travelled 13 + hours so we didn't care. It was less than comfortable though because the mattresses were ROCK HARD! We had sore shoulders, hips, and backs the next day. My husband and I are 50+, but my daughter's are 19 and 21 and their bodies ached as well!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjansenavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear sjansenavon,

Thank you for your review and your valuable insights. Your willingness to spare some of your time to relay your comments is genuinely appreciated. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience the unusual condition of the beds may have caused you. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Very clean,amazing breakfast!!!they offered free international calls and they have the transportation to the airport every 10minutes,did I mention the airport is 1minute from this place ??? Yes is perfect for no stress !! We were coming from Tamarindo ,so this is good for the day before you take your flight .Also you have restaurants next to this hotel,we had a dinner that night,went to bed and having the great breakfast we took our flight two hours before without rushing ,they charged 140$ for one night ,its not cheap but its worth it instead of staying in cheap far away hotels and paying more for transportation

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nenann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This hotel is a good choice for a quick stay before/after a flight. The rooms were very clean and had a nice bathroom and TV with lots of channels. Included breakfast was decent and free International calls(!) and Wifi were a nice plus. There are two restaurants in the same plaza – A chicken restaurant with HORRIBLE service and a Denny’s. Car rental return places are also very close so that was handy at the end of our trip. Airport is just a few minutes away on their free shuttle which comes by every 15 minutes or so.

Feel free to message me with questions.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed here on our last night of our Costa Rican Vacation. The location was ideal for us, since it was next to SJO and close to Doka Coffee Estate and Volcan Poas, places we visited on our last day that was an hour by car. The lobby staff was friendly and helpful. The facility was clean and modern. The price was also just right that included breakfast which was pretty decent. On a final note, they offer free shuttle to SJO.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galavantrekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nürnberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I arrived at San José airport after nearly 24 hours of traveling, and was happy to find a hotel shuttle with a person holding up my name right at the exit of the terminal. The hotel is just a quick drive from the airport.

Staff at the hotel was friendly, the room was okay, but what I found missing was a place to have a cold beer and relax. The staff sends you across the street where there is a casino (not a great choice) and a chain restaurant (I don't remember its name), so there are options, but I would have preferred to stay in the hotel itself.

In the morning I discovered too late that a great breakfast buffet was included (for everyone I guess), I had no such note in my reservation.

All in all a good solution for the first night after a late arrival to Costa Rica. !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rneugebauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#15 of 27 in Alajuela
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
662 reviews
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,743 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing