We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, free shuttle to airport and off property restaurants.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient, free shuttle to airport and off property restaurants.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Comfortable bed, clean spacious rooms, great service, friendly helpful staff, convenient to airport and walking distance to 3 restaurants. We stayed for one night upon arrival to Costa Rica. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on first floor, convenient. This hotel is close to the airport so some noise from jets fly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DD5358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    321
    78
    23
    17
See reviews for
193
299
61
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Ill.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

With frequent shuttles to and from the airport, in addition to very close proximity to the Fiesta Casino and a few nearby restaurants (Rostipollo and Denny's), plus clean, comfortable rooms and free breakfast, this is a great place to stay whether you're coming or leaving Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millekj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Simply put, this is an airport hotel with friendly, well trained staff and excellent service. Large rooms, firm beds and clean carpets. Included in the $112 price of the room were airport shuttle, early morning breakfast, and unlimited International phone calls from each room. No regional dishes on the menu at the nearest restaurant - the Village Inn is a clone from the U.S. For a fee of $3 extra dollars per person you can pay your airport exit-tax at the hotel concierge and save the 1/2 hour you would otherwise spend waiting in line to pay it at the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Antonio H, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Yamora,

Thank you, your comments are valuable for us, because you are telling our future guests what they can expect when they arrive to our hotel.

In fact the advantage of buying the Airport Tax is part of our Airport Kiosk Concept, where you will also find a scale to weight your luggage, departures and arrivals flight information, tips to travel before you enter the aiport, and the chance to print your boarding pass ahead of time.


Thank you again and We will be waiting for your next visit,


Jorge Paniagua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

When we arrived into San Jose our plan was to relax at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport prior to exploring CR. When I walked out of the airport I was a little concerned as to how I was to contact the hotel for a shuttle pickup. I asked an airport employee and was told that the shuttle runs every 15 minutes. It was probably only 8 minutes later that the shuttle arrived to take me promptly to the HIE. Shuttle driver was awesome - very friendly and helpful. All staff that we encountered we absolutely outstanding! Room was clean and bed comfortable. Breakfast was tasty and healthy with fresh fruits, cereal and much more. A casino is next door for a little entertainment. We enjoyed this day so much that we scheduled another day for our return flight and had another wonderful experience. We arrived Saturday and enjoyed ourselves until departure on Sunday. Oh, by the way, if we would have waited to drive from Domical to San Jose on sunday, we probably would not have made the flight home as they closed the main highway on Sunday!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam0057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Antonio H, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Pam0057,

We are glad you had a wonderful time with us!

For Holiday Inn Express is our goal to make you feel comfortable and have real and good experiences, We want to be Real People delivering Real Service!

We hope to have again soon in Costa Rica!



Regards,


Jorge Paniagua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Convenient place to stay near the international airport. Clean, comfortable rooms. Good breakfast buffet. Airport shuttle. One caveat, the room price listed is for single occupancy and there is a charge for a second person in the room even when booking a double.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elaefcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Antonio H, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Elaefcie,

Thank you for your feedback, It is always a pleasure to help our guests to have really good experiences in our country.

About the issue with your occupancy in the reservation, We will take the opportunity to explain how our Reservation IHG Channels shows the information: everytime a client place a reservation, will see the single occupancy rate and at the botom of the quoted rate, the page will indicate the amount for every extra person in the same room (only adults, children under 18 do not pay), but if you enter to the rate details link, the client will find that the total amount includes the extra person plus the tax amount.

Once again thank you for your comments, if you any further questions about this issue or other, please feel free to contact me at email: jpaniagua@gmhiex.net.


Best regards,


Jorge Paniagua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

After traveling a week in CR, it was nice for us to spend our last night before flying home in the comforting familiarity of a Holiday Inn. However, due to a Blizzard in the Northeast, our one night stay turned into three. Thanks to their complementary internet and free International calling, we were able to re-book our flight with relative ease. The Holiday Inn has all the requisite American style amenities:in room coffee, large LCD TV, an ice machine, abundant hot water and toilets with toilet paper flushability. The hot breakfast was decent and the well maintained pool area was more than pleasant. One feature of the HI that was particuarly useful for us was the tour desk, staffed by someone(I believe his name is Alejandro) that gave us advice and assistance on arranging taxis to downtown San Jose. He was even able to book a Gray Line tour the following day to the Irazu volcano. He made these 2 unexpected and unplanned days in CR to be some of the best of our trip. The airport shuttle, which runs every 15 minutes, got us there quickly and efficiently. Across the parking lot there is a Denny's, a Rosti Pollo chicken restaurant, and a Casino. What else could a red blooded American ask for?

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krokro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

It was a great way to end our two week trip to Costa Rica. Would absolutely recommend if you are flying in late or leaving before noon, this place is the place to stay. Very professional, very clean and very convenient to airport and thrifty car rental return. Rooms clean, bed very comfortable. They even do a breakfast to go for early morning flights, early meaning we were on the shuttle at 4:45am! The shuttle does runs to the airport every 15 minutes....how convenient is that. :).

Room Tip: They cannot possibly have a bad room. Ours was on the first floor overlooking the pool. Loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janinetrip1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Antonio H, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Janinetrip1123,

Thank you very much for your special comments, We are so glad that you enjoyed your trip in Costa Rica, until the end in Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, and that you found valuable important services at our hotel, such our Airport Shuttle and Breakfast to Go.

In fact We offer Airport Shuttle 24/7, and breakfast is offered since 03:30am in the mornings. To Go until 06:00 am for those who need to depart before 06:00am and Express Start Breakfast Buffet from 06:00 to 10:00am every day.

We hope you can visit us soon, We will be waiting for you!


Best regards,

Jorge Paniagua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#17 of 29 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing