We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (949)
Filter reviews
949 results
Traveller rating
420
372
104
31
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
420
372
104
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expressfree shuttlesan josecosta ricafree breakfastrosti pollodenny's restaurantnext morninghour shuttlean early flightrental carlast nightbagged breakfastshuttle servicerooms are cleanyogurtstayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
508 - 513 of 949 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I always use this hotel when on my way to/from the States from my home here in Costa Rica as it is conveniently located close the airport and the casino is a short walk across the parking lot. However, three times now this hotel has made me wait until the 2:00 pm check in time to check in, even though I arrive around 11:30 from my in-country flight. It is very frustrating to have to wait around for almost three hours to check in... I write this review sitting at the Dennys nearby, awaiting my room. If it was just one time, that is one thing, but as mentioned, this is the third time now and so I will NOT be staying here again. I am a regular customer and a Holiday Inn Honors member at that. I will switch over to the Hampton Inn Suites here in the same parking lot next time. Adios Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DivineDolphin44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Antonio H, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear DivineDolphin44,

Thank you for your valuable comments regarding our Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, Costa Rica. We greatly appreciate you are taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We are very sorry for the inconvenience regarding to your Check In Time.

It is our hotel´s goal to consistently provide superior services and accommodations, the feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve our service. We appreciate these candid comments we receive and welcome any opportunity to provide memorable experiences to our guests. Your comments about your guest services experience are taken seriously in order to analize and take actions about it.

About your experience with the time of registration, We are very sorry not having been able to deliver your room at the time you arrived at our hotel, between 9:00 to 10:00 a.m. Traditionally our hotel has been characterized by being flexible with the check in hours before 2:00pm, without any extra charge, as most other hotels do, is part of our commitment to guest satisfaction.

However, since our hotel regularly shows high occupations, sometimes we find it impossible to meet all the requests at all times. Before any exception, our brand and service promises should be fulfilled; our official check in time is at 02:00 pm and check out time is at 12:00 noon, it is very important for us to respect the right of our guests to keep their room until the check out time, resulting sometimes that we have no available rooms before 02:00 pm to offer.

It is also important to us that all our guests receive a high-quality product as our standards state, so we must be sure to do the entire process of cleaning in all rooms and it is necessary to perform this process safely and satisfactory for our guests.

We understand that you have many lodging options, but it will be a pleasure to have you with us again in the future, to demonstrate our commitment, and as I mentioned earlier, if We have the opportunity, We will be glad to check you In before 2: 00pm, at no extra cost.

Dear DivineDolphin44, we also see that you rated us 1 of 5 in Service, we would like to ask you if there was some other incoveniences of service during your stay that you can feed back in addition to your disagreement over the check in time?

We hope that this explanation is satisfactory, and yet, we are at your disposal for any further requests or feedback you have. My email is jpaniagua@gmhiex.net, Jorge Paniagua.

Thank you very much again for your feedback to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Like many we stayed here for one night after a late flight arrival. After the usual taxi hassle we were advised by a very helpful guy that the Holiday Inn shuttle would be arriving shortly. On booking I hadn't noticed this service so it was a very welcome surprise.
On arrival at the hotel the reception staff were very helpful and friendly. They got us onto the free wi-fi and told us that we could make free international calls from the room as well. Very handy for us to make a call back to the UK to tell everyone that all was going well. The room itself was clean, spacious and had a very comfortable bed.
In the morning we had a really nice buffet breakfast, which I probably over did, but there were so many things I wanted to try! Again the reception staff were really helpful in contacting our car hire company and arranging a pick up for us. We even managed an hour by their pool before we moved on.
All in we found this an excellent place for a stop over before or after a flight. Its never going to be a place to spend any serious time but its an superb hotel for what it is.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Dear TomT81, Thanks you for your comments regarding your experience with us. We are very pleased that you found our staff so helpful and our rooms so clean, spacious and comfortable.
It makes us very happy that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast so much and that you got to try most of our options, including some typical Costa Rican dishes and coffes.
We take pride in providing our guests with the best service possible, so be sure that every time you visit us, you will always receive the best service experience.
Thank you again and we hope that you come back soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

After a week in CR, we were pleasantly greeted to this hotel with a shuttle to airport. There were several computer terminals where we check emails and printed our boarding passes. It was modern and clean with a good wel organized staff that attended our needs. Although planes flew over, we did not hear the noise. Many tours departed from here as well as the Greyline bus service and the Interbus that connects to Guanacaste and Monteverde.
I must say turning on the TV to see an American baseball game was a nice surprise.....Denny's next door or Rostipollo were a walk away and the casino next door is Smokefree!
Would definitely stay again when traveling to or from Costa Rica in the future

Room Tip: second floor rooms have been upgraded(we asked upon check in)
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Dear Phyllis T, thank you very much, we appreciate your great review. When guests leave our hotel as satisfied as you did, it makes us feel that we are doing our job as it is expected; making our clients feel that they received the best quality in service and accommodations.
As you could see, one of our best features is that eventhough the hotel is less than 1 mile from the airport, there is no noise from the airplanes, making your rest more peaceful and comfortable.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can serve you again when you return to Costa Rica.
Sincerely, Ana J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is a really great place to stay after a long flight .... The hotel is close to the airport and very handy. We were greeted and welcomed at the front desk all the information was correct and it took us no time at all to be checked in and enjoying our selves. The room was very clean and well set up we would stay here again.
Thanks Holiday Inn for making our first night in Costa Rica comfortable and Pleasant.
Petra Kay - den Otter

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyesgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Dear eyesgreen, thank you for your comments. we are very glad that you were so pleased with our service, accommodations and other facilities because we strive in delivering our clients with the best we can offer.
So many clients like yourself like our Express Check In so much because it helps you check in as soon as possible so you can avoid all the hassles of standing in line waiting, and get the rest that you deserve.
Once again, thank you for choosing us and please come back soon.
Sincerely, Ana Jacques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

With a quick 2 minute ride to the airport (they provide 24 hour free shuttle service), this was an ideal location for our 6 am flight. Prior to our departure the hotel had a brown bag breakfast waiting for us at 3:30 am.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Pam B, we appreciate your comments and are very happy that you liked our accommodations and the benefits that we offer.
Since our hotel is less than 1 mile from the airport, the time it takes the shuttle to come and go from the hotel is extremely short (the shuttle leaves every 15 minutes). Also, for those guests like yourself, whom their flights depart so early, we offer our complimentary Grab and Go Breakfast so you can eat before your plane leaves.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you come back soon.
Yours Truly, Ana J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews