We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (992)
Filter reviews
992 results
Traveller rating
450
379
109
31
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
450
379
109
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san jose hi express free shuttle costa rica free breakfast rosti pollo chicken restaurant denny's restaurant next morning an early flight rental car bagged breakfast last night shuttle service yogurt great place to stay rooms are clean
Filter
Updating list...
531 - 536 of 992 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Normally a Holiday Inn in the US would not be at the top of my list, but this location definitely changed my perception of the chain. My husband and I had a one night stay in the hotel after a long day of travel from Peru. My husband thought it would be best to just stay near the airport instead of going to a hotel directly in the city since we were leaving early to drive to Limon the next day, he was right. We were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff at the front desk. Our room was clean and comfortable, just what we needed after an exhausting day of travel. One of the best amenities at this particular Holiday Inn was the fact that they offered free calls to the States. That was HUGE for us because we had been traveling for a week through South America and hadn't really been able to check in with our family in the US. I loved the bed, we had a great night's sleep. The complimentary breakfast was very satisfying and just what we needed before we hit the road. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Date of stay: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Antonio H, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Dear kdl19,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments.

It Is nice to hear that our guests get a nice rest and enjoy their stay in our facilities! Some people might think that the noise of the airplaines will affect their night sleep, for being right in front of the aiport, your comments confirm that this do not happen.

One of the most important benefits are the Unlimited International and Local Calls, to keep in touch with family, work and friends.

We´ll be glad to have you soon as our guest and happy you now have a different and positive opinion about our brand.


Regards,

Jorge Paniagua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My husband and I just stayed here last night after flying into Costa Rica. I am giving it an excellent rating not because it is the most luxurious hotel, but because the customer service here is wonderful. The room was very clean and comfortable. Beds were firmer than I am used to, but were in good shape with lots of pillows and clean linens. The free breakfast was very tasty and had quite a few options including eggs, sausage, potatoes, fruit and many bagel, bread pastry choices. The attendant was very friendly and helpful. The real star of this hotel, though, is the front desk attendant, Fabian. Muchas gracias to him for being a phenomenal help to us! We bombarded the poor man with so many questions about restaurants, shuttles, money,etc and he was consistently helpful with a wonderful attitude and big smile. He was so friendly and we truly enjoyed talking with him. He even changed out a very large colones bill with smaller ones for us and explained where to use larger bills and smaller ones (restaurants versus roadside stands, etc.). I wish our hotel workers in the U.S. were half as helpful and friendly as Fabian! Another lovely surprise was that the Denny's next to the hotel turned out to be a great choice to grab a late night snack. Ordinarily, I avoid Denny's at all costs, but this one was cleaner than anything you'll find in the States. Our server was incredible, so helpful, friendly, prompt, everything you hope for in a server. And the food was definitely better than any Denny's I've been in. We were so thankful to have found such a great hotel to stay at after an extremely LONG day of traveling. I most definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone flying into or out of Costa Rica. And I hope you get the chance to meet Fabian!

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazmo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Kazmo77, we appreciate you taking your time to write these comments. When guests leave our hotel feeling the way you expressed in your review, it makes us feel that we have accomplished our ultimate goal which is to give you our best service.
We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and that you were satisfied with our Express Start breakfast which offers such a variety of options.
As you could see, Denny´s is open 24 hours a day and if you wish to stay in your room, they will gladly deliver your order without any extra charge.
Thank you very much for choosing us and we hope that you visit us again soon.
Yours Truly, Ana J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We only stayed here one night...well if you can call it that since we left at 3:15am. We stayed at the Holiday Inn due to its proximity to the airport, I don't think you can get much closer. We knew that we weren't going to do anything but sleep that so this was an excellent option.
The Holiday Inn is very clean and seems fairly new. The rooms are tight on space but not too bad. The night we were there they were full but it was still pretty quiet.
In the morning when we were leaving they had a table full of "to go" bags for breakfast. It was just a muffin, fruit, and juice but certainly a nice touch. The staff were friendly and helpful...perhaps not as much as we had experienced in other areas but still nice.
They offer a service for paying departure tax at the hotel to avoid lines at the airport. It was an additional $4 per person so I took advantage of it. At 4am the airport was pretty quiet so it probably wasn't necessary.
Good hotel if you just need to be close to the airport for a night (or part of one).

Date of stay: April 2013
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Mike_D90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Mike_D90, thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We are very happy that your brief stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport was of your liking.
As you could see, eventhough we are less than 1 mile from the airport, our rooms are able to provide our guests with a peaceful and comfortable stay. We are also very glad that you liked our "to go" breakfast bags since we know that sometimes our guests have to leave the hotel very early and need something to eat before their airplane departs.
Once again thank you and we hope to have you stay with us again in the future.
Sincerely, Ana J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed here the night before we flew out and it was very nice. Hotel is clean and nice, the little pool is much nicer then I expected for a hotel pool - the kids enjoyed it. There are a couple of restaurants basically in the same parking lot so you don't need to have a car or overspend on dinner. Breakfast was included and was very generous. Gallo pinto - yum! And the shuttle to the airport was clean and timely. Would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateandevesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear kateandevesmom, thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Here, at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, we strive each day to make each and every guest happy by providing everything they need to make their experience as comfortable as possible. When guests leave our hotel with a smile on their faces, we know that our efforts to provide a great service have been accomplished.
Our complimentary Express Start Breakfast is very satisfying since it offers a variety of options, including some typical dishes from the region. Also, some of the restaurants near the hotel such as Denny´s and The Pirate Bar&Restaurant in the Casino Fiesta can deliver your orders to your room is you don´t want to go out.
Once again, thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Cordial welcome by the front desk team! Clean room! Coffee in the room! Excellent high speed access to the internet. Variety and great quality of breakfast food alternatives. Variety of TV channels, including English-speaking. Frequent and responsive shuttle service to and from the airport! Clean and well-maintained pool if you have time for relaxation.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Randy J, we appreciate your feedback on your stay with us and are very happy that our accommodations were of your liking.
Our 24 hour airport shuttle to and from the airport is every 15 minutes so there is no chance for our guests to miss their flights. As you could see, we offer a variety of Costa Rican coffees and teas not only in each room but also at the lobby, which guests have access the 24 hours of the day. Besides our high speed Internet access, we provide our guests with free unlimited national and international phonecalls, so we can cater to every different need.
Thank you for your visit and and we hope to see you soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews