We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Southern Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great airport hotel”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night because our flight was leaving at 6:30 the next morning. The front desk person was very nice and attentive. We got a nice room with everything we needed. My husband and I went next door to the Casino for a quick drink before heading to dinner at Denny's, which was also next door. The room was clean, the Internet access was excellent and the bathroom had shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. In the morning, we picked up our free bagged breakfast which was nice because we had to leave so early and the airport shuttle whisked us away quickly. We didn't need to reserve the breakfast or the shuttle. The airport is 5 minutes away. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank susieq444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear susieq444, thank you for your review, it is very rewarding for us to learn how pleased you were with our services, accommodations, and location of the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport.
Our job is to provide our guests with everything they need to make their stay a comfortable and satisfying experience.
It is a great source of motivation for all the hotel´s staff everytime our guests leave wanting to return because it shows us that we are doing the job we are required to do.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you visit us again soon.
Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    328
    84
    24
    18
See reviews for
201
309
63
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We decided to stay here the night before our flight out of san jose, due to long travel time. The staff was very helpful and so nice. Free shuttle every 15 min to the airport. Free continental breakfast. The desk staff is pretty fluent in english and is so hepful!! Our room was very clean and a set up for quick travelers, we loved our stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursesarah510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear nursesarah510, thank you for posting your review. It gives us great satisfaction to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
Here, at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, is our duty and our pleasure to provide our guests with the best services and accommodation. Our staff works very hard providing all of our guests with everything they need, so it is very rewarding when the guests recognize it.
It has been a real pleasure having you staying with us and the entire team looks forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here one night in transit out of San Jose and picked this hotel for it's location, which was perfect. Can't say enough about how well this hotel is set up for travelers who are just passing through for the airport. Free shuttle to the airport every 15 mins 24/7, electronic departure/arrival screen in the lobby, free breakfast, and if you have leave before 6am (which we did) there are to go bags set up with fruit, muffin, granola bar, and juice. Also, I can't say enough about how helpful the desk staff was when we got there. The only downside is that there's really nothing in the area. We were looking for dinner and the options were basically limited to Denny's and RostiPollo (meh).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandito912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear bandito912, thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor; we appreciate you taking your time to write your review.
We are very pleased that we were able to to fulfill all your expectations regarding our services and accommodations.
We are very proud of our level of service and quality of product, so it makes us very happy when our guests recognize them because that is exactly the reason of the work we do.
Besides Denny´s and Rosti Pollos, there is the Pirate Bar & Restaurant located inside the Casino Fiesta, and if you desire other options you can ask our staff and they will gladly tell you about other restaurants nearby which are only a cab drive away. Also, we are happy to inform you that now the hotel is providing free dinner transportation to and from the hotel to Plaza Real Mall in Alajuela which is only about 5 minutes away. At the Plaza Real Mall you can find different kinds of restaurants that will please the most diverse tastes, such as Mexican, Italian, Japanese, Argentine etc. so next time you come and stay with us, you will have plenty of restaurants to choose from.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you the next time you come back to Costa Rica.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This hotel could not be any closer to the airport unless it was in the airport. It is a perfect place to begin and end your trip, which is what we did. The free shuttle is efficient, the front desk staff are very helpful and nice and the hotel itself is very clean. The breakfast is very good and even has gallo pinto, so you get your typical Tico breakfast here. On our arrival night we had two nice rooms right across the hall from each other. On our departure night we were several rooms down, which I didn't like and the mattresses were SO much harder. The beds on our second stay actually hurt my husband's back. We were in room 213. Rosti Pollo isn't a bad dinner option. I wanted to walk farther to try something else but with three kids in tow I didn't want to on the busy road. My kids also enjoyed the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefairygodblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear lenzy484, we appreciate you taking your time to post your comments since they are extremely valuable to us because they help us improve our service.
We are very happy that you liked our complimentary Express Start Breakfast,( specially our ¨Gallo Pinto¨ ) since it enables you to try some of our regional culinary delights; and that your kids enjoyed the pool so much. Your happiness is a great source of motivation for us.
We are sorry that your husband hurt his back on your second stay and we apologize for the inconvenience. We appreciate that you specified the room number so we can take the necessary action to target that problem.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope that you stay with us the next time you come to Costa Rica.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Overall the hotel was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good. Staff was friendly and helpul. The free airport shuttle was greatly appreciated. Perfect for late night flights into SJO since it was a quick shuttle ride from airport exit to hotel entrance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j082aj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear j082aj, thank you for your comments. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport. Such candid reviews make us feel extremely proud since we strive for our guests to have total comfort and satisfaction.
Our shuttles to and from the airport take about 5 minutes since the hotel is less than 1 mile away from the airport. The shuttles leave the hotel every 15 minutes the 24 hours of the day, making it easier for our guests to get a little more sleep and rest before leaving.
Once again, thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you and we hope that you come back soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were just looking for a decent room near the airport for a night before we flew out at the end of our vacation. Holiday Inn Express had everything we needed and a pool. The rental car place was close and easy to return our car to. The shuttle to the airport was timely and efficient. The bagged breakfast in the morning was helpful since we had to leave so early the continental breakfast wasn't out yet. Overall, a great way to end our trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timandmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear timandmal, thank you for your comments. There is nothing we like more here at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport than to fulfill our guest´s expectations and provide an excellent service.
One of our best features is the hotel´s location, less than 1 mile from the airport and surrounded but great restaurants (Denny´s, Rostipollos and The Pirate Bar& Restaurant) and major car rentals.
We are also very glad that our complimentary Grab and Go Breakfast was of your liking since we know that on early flight departures our guests sometimes do not have enough time to eat or that the flights are so early that our Express Start Breakfast has not been served and you have to eat something before the airplane takes off.
Once again, thank you for choosing us and we expect you back soon.
Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Used points to stay for a night at the end of a 10 day trip. Room was clean, comfortable and had air conditioning (very welcome). Free shuttle to airport takes 5 minutes and breakfast to-go is set out for early morning departures. We had pizza and beer at the Pirates Bar in the Fiesta Casino (half price on Sunday!) for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pbc315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Pbc315, we appreciate you feedback and are very happy about being able to fulfill your expectations of your stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport. To provide our guests with total satisfaction is our main goal and your comments assures us that we are doing our job properly.
As you mentioned before, our free shuttle service is every 15 min. 24 hrs. a day and the ride is only about 5 min. since the airport is less than 1 mile away, so our guests get to sleep more than if they stayed farther away.
The Pirate Bar& Restaurant in the Casino Fiesta is open every day of the week ( Denny´s Restaurant next door to the Casino Fiesta is open everyday too) and the guests can either go there, or if they don´t want to go out, the order can be deliver to the hotel room ( the same as Denny´s).
Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mango
Hotel Mango
#14 of 27 in Alajuela
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,731 reviews
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing