We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best option near the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Girona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best option near the airport”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel the first and the last night of our trip in Costa Rica.
We were worried about the noise of the planes, but the location of the hotel was exellent and we decided to go there. Finally, all was OK! I didn't hear the planes during the night.
The first night we slept in a king size bed, very comfortable and the last night, we had two queen size beds, so after the 15 days trip, we were wrap in cotton!
The breakfast is the worst thing... just some cereals, toasts, scrambled eggs and some tropical fruits.
I want to give a special mention of the receptionists. They are all very friendly and helpful. Just ask them... they will give you lots of tips about Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaPetita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear AnnaPetita, we really appreciate that you took your time to write this review. Our guests´ comments are very important to us because they give us our clients´point of views regarding our service and what they expect to receive when they choose to stay with us.
We are sorry that our breakfast was not up to your expectations and we were astonished to learn about the small breakfast selection that you mentioned. Usually our breakfasts consist of at least 3 different kind of cereals, yogurt, scrambled eggs, different kinds of breakfast sausages and bacon, assorted pastry ( both salty and sweet), hard boiled eggs, french toasts, croissants, assorted seasonal fruit, hash browns, cream cheese and marmalade, and gallo pinto ( a typical Costa Rican dish consisting of rice and beans). You can be sure that your comments are going to be shared withour brand standard team.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward seeing you soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    329
    84
    24
    18
See reviews for
202
309
63
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed in 6 hotels while touring Costa Rica and found this hotel to be the best value, best service and cleanest. The beds were a bit hard and the air conditioner made a bit of noise but besides that it was clean and staff was nice. Costa Rica is NOT cheap for those that think it may be. It is comparable to the US prices on food and lodging. You are not told this when buying your plane tickets but there is a $29 charge for each person when you leave Costa Rica and must be paid before you get your tickets so you need extra time at airport to pay.

Room Tip: If they have nicer beds you may want to choose softer option as they are hard as a brick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurtlePookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear TurtlePookie, thank you for your review; we really appreciate all of our guests´ comments. It makes us very proud when our guests find our services and accommodations as good or better than what they were expecting, specially when they compare us to the other hotels in which they stayed during their visit.
Just so you know, the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport has an airport kiosk inside the hotel where guests can pay the tax fee before they leave to the airport. That way, you don´t have to waste important time making long lines at the airport to pay that fee.
We take the comfort of our guests very seriously, so be sure that your comments about the mattresses will be taken into account.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you back soon.
Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

OK, so it's a Holiday Inn, so we know what to expect. Comfortable and friendly staff. Breakfast OK and they'll give you a packed breakfast for very early flights. Close to the terminal with a bus to pick you up.
Murdoch Ferguson

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murd007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Mur007, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very happy that you found our accommodations so comfortable and our staff so friendly. It is a great source of motivation for us whenever our guests appreciate the services we provide.
As part of the Holiday Inn Express family, it is our main goal to provide the highest quality of product for all of our guests so you can always be sure that when you stay with us you are always going to get the best experience possible.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you the next time you visit Costa Rica.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, AR
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This hotel...I have a love/hate relationship with it. On one hand, it's clean. And really close to the airport. On the other hand, every time I have come here I have a negative experience with the staff.

This time, I called at 9 AM and asked if I came at 10:30, knowing full well that was too early to check in, if they would let me check in early - if they had a clean room. I was assured yes, that if they had a clean room, I could. I showed up at 10:36 and was told that a room was ready. Then I was told that no, it was not ready.

My daughter and I had to sit and wait until 1:45 in their lobby. Every time I asked I was told that no rooms were clean. Really? The housekeeping staff didn't finish any rooms until 1:45? I don't appreciate being lied to. I know that's not true.

Every time I have ever been here it's a fake "I deal with Americans all day so I am going to smile and lie to your face...you must deal with it because I say (smile)" attitude from the staff. I hate having to stay here, but it really is close to the airport. And clean. And OK wifi and hot water...So, I stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharla101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Sharla101, thank you for taking the time to post your review. Our guests´ reviews are very important for us because it is through them that we evaluate the quality of services our hotel and staff provide.
We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced the day you checked in. We take the comfort and well being of our guests very seriously and any problems we are made aware of are always dealt with as soon as possible. We are very sorry of the shortcomings in the service you received and will really like to make it up to you.
We are going to send you a private message because our General Manager and our Customer Services Manager would like to get in touch with you so you can give them feedback of what happened to you that day.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you let us show you that the experience you had will never happen again.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

If you have early flight, this hotel is good choice. It is only five minutes from the San Jose airport. The hotel offer a shuttle every 15 minutes. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. You can pay your international departure tax at the desk and not have the line at the airport. There is a very good Denney's across the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLSINT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear RLSINT, thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. The Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport and its staff are always striving to provide all the comfort possible, not only during your stay with us but also with everything involving your trip. So to make the life of our guests as easy as possible, our guests can pay the airport taxes at our counter in the hotel, to avoid the long lines at the airport.
Besides the Denny´s across the parking lot, there is also a restaurant inside the Casino Fiesta called the Pirate Bar & Restaurant, and next to Denny´s there is another restaurant called Rosti Pollos.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you come back soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We had an early flight to catch after our wonderful time in the Arenal National Park so we decided to come back into the city and to stay by the airport. The Holiday Inn Express staff here were wonderful, the service friendly and most importantly, their Express Breakfast was much more than I expected! They had a good variety of food both hot and cold. I was just expecting toast with jam, but there were potatoes, sausages, muffins, cereals, bagels, fruit, yoghurt etc. And if you're still hungry there's a 24 hours Denny's within 2 minutes walk across the parking lot!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeParam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear GeorgeParam, thank you for posting your review. It makes us feel extremely proud that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff, accommodations and services up to your expectations. It is our duty to provide our guests with the highest quality of comfort and services in order to make their experience with us memorable.
We are very happy that you enjoyed our complimentary Express Start Breakfast and that you like the selection of dishes it offers . Besides Denny´s restaurant across the street, there are also a couple of other restaurants. One, is called Rosti Pollos and the other one is called the Pirate Bar & Restaurant and it´s inside the Casino Fiesta.
Thank you for choosing us as your hotel and we hope that the next time you come to Costa Rica you will stay with us again.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I arrived in San Jose earlier than expected and needed somewhere to stay for one evening. Got a quick shuttle bus to the hotel. Staff were polite, friendly and extremely helpful. My room was spacious and clean. Breakfast fine, and hotel staff helped me with transport. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisonroja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Alisonroja, thank you for posting your comments and letting us know about your stay with us.
We are delighted to learn of how comfortable and clean you found your room and how helpful our staff is. It is a great source of motivation every time our guests feel so welcome and leave feeling so satisfied of the services we provided because our main purpose and concern is to give our clients the best hotel experience. We are also very glad that you enjoyed our complimentary Express Start Breakfast.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope that you visit us again soon.
Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#15 of 26 in Alajuela
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 26 in Alajuela
664 reviews
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,746 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing