We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place To Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here our first and last nights in Costa Rica. The shuttle was right outside the airport waiting when we arrived in Costa Rica. We were at the hotel, checked in, and in our room is less than half an hour which was wonderful. The room was nice and comfortable. The breakfast was great too. Lots of things to choose from and good coffee. We took the shuttle back to the airport the next morning for a Sansa flight and they dropped is right off at the Sansa terminal which was great. On our last night in Costa Rica, we had time to hang out by the pool and we saw flocks of green parrots in the trees around the hotel which was fun. It was nice being able to walk right across the parking lot to get food at Dennys too. Breakfast was delicious again and the shuttle had us to the airport in plenty of time. We will stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Lydia B, thank you for such delightful comments.

It makes us very happy to see how your entire trip was a total success specially during you stay in our hotel. It makes us feel realy proud to know that everything our staff did was appreciated and more than that, you really enjoyed the entire hotel, its services, its convenient location and its beautiful surroundings.
We are very glad that you enjoyed the breakfast we offer so much because we are always thinking about new things to include to comtinually improve it so that our guests wil be always satisfied with it so it will never get boring.

Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you and we will all be waiting for your next visit.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    321
    78
    23
    17
See reviews for
194
299
61
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We were pre-paid at this hotel coming in for a one night stay from a 1:30 AM arrival. Exhausted, we unload our luggage from the shuttle only to be told, along with 2 other couples, that they had overbooked and 4 rooms that were supposed to have checked out wouldn't vacate and we were being moved to a Best Western in Escazu. Back on a shuttle, transferred and no sleep until after 4 AM PLUS it messed up our 8 AM Adobe car rental delivery to the other hotel! Missed our intended 11 AM ferry out of Puntarenas. They did refund our money but come on! That's why we PRE-PAID! I would not use this hotel again! Trapp Family Inn is wonderful but book early as they fill up their rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klcreview11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Klcreview11, we take our guests´ comments very seriously because they provide us the feedback we need to see how our hotel and its services are perceived and how we can improve and update them for the total satisfaction of our guests, so we really thank you for sharing them.

We apologize for the inconvenience you experiene of having to be transfered to another hotel due to the overbooking of all the hotels in the area near the airport which was beyond our control. As you know, 4 rooms were supposed to be already checked out by the time you arrived but unfortunately those guests weren´t able to vacate the rooms when they were supposed to.

Our hotel has a partnership with other hotels who are also characterized by their high quality of services and accommodations, one of those hotels is the hotel right next door which we would have happily sent you there since they are right next door from us, but as I wrote before all the hotels in the area were overbooked. That is the reason why we sent you to another partner hotel which is only ten minutes away from the airport and it also is a hotel that always maintains the highest quality of services and accommodations.

We are also very sorry about the misunderstanding about the delivery of your rental car and that due to that you lost your 11 o´clock ferry out of Puntarenas. Once again we are really sorry and will like to apologize for everything that happend, we can assure that overbookings like this very seldomly happens, unfortunately it did happen when you were here.

It was a pleasure being of your service, we would really likeit if you can give us another chance.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
124 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

This holiday Inn property is the perfect spot to start your trip in CR, 800 yards from the airport, free shuttle (24 hours), and reasonable rates. the rooms are spotless, spotless and well furnished. they provide many amenities (money exchange, tours, rental cars nearby, etc, etc...). to start your trip, there is not a better location nearby the Airport. The staff is courteous, efficient and very professional. There is a casino nearby, it's ok, fun for drink and nightly entertainment (do not gamble, unless, you enjoy losing!). Again, to rest on your first night or last night in Cr, this place is perfect !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irrawady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear irrawady, thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review.

There is nothing more rewarding for us than to see how ourn guests enjoyed their stay with us by leaving with a big smile of satisfaction on their faces. We strive to provide them the most convenient services and the most comfortable accommodations while at the same time makng them feel right at home by surrounding them with a cozy and friendly atmosphere.

Thank you for choosing us, it was a pleasure having you with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here February 14th after a afternoon landing.
Front desk service was very good, friendly and fast. I request a room on the first floor and they made the change without any hassle. The Fiesta Casino is next door which we had dinner and cocktails which were very good. The gambling is like any other casino you would go to. If you were lucky that day you may win a few colones. I wasn't!
They will exchange dollars to colones at the hotel and casino. The rate on the 14th was 517 to $1.
The hotel is also a short walk to many rental car agencies. That makes it nice for early morning departures to our Costa Rica destination.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brianindianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Brianindianapolis, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.

It makes us very happy to learn how much you enjoyed staying with us and how friendly and compliant you found our staff. Our mission is to make each and every guest feel totally satisfied and comfortable with our services ans accommodations and to provide them the best attention possible so they will always be willing to trust us when it comes to their comfort and well being. Also, it is very nice to hear how convenient our location was for you, not only because we are so close to the airport (we are less than a mile away) but also because we have so many car rentals just across the parking lot.

Once again, thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel just before we boarded a flight early the next morning. They have a very convenient free shuttle to the airport every 10 min 24 h a day. The room was about $130 (US) including taxes, and I considered it a good value. The room was clean, comfortable, and the staff were very friendly. We would stay there again under the same circumstances. We had to leave the hotel at 4 am, but they kindly provided a free boxed breakfast as we left.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Jim B, thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We are very glad that your brief stay with us was nothing more than perfect. It makes us very happy to learn that you were more than satisfied with the value and service you got from the price paid.
As you could see, our daily goal is make each and everyone of our guests have the best hotel experience possible by providing them with the most comfortable accommodations and the highest quality of service and the highest hotel standards.
Thank you for staying with us, it was a great pleasure to learn how much you liked the provided service.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

The location is a couple of minutes from the airport with 24 hour shuttle service. The concierge will help arrange local transportation and other services if needed. Because it is close the the airport it can get a little loud when planes take off.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colorado_adventure_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear colorado_adventure_1, thank for sharing your review. We are delighted to find out how convenient and comfortable you found our hotel and its services. We always try to make our guests´ stay as comfortable as posible, that is why we are always doing everything we can to comply with all their requests and needs.
We thrive on our guests´ happiness and complete satisfaction, there is nothing that makes us happier than to know that their experience with us was a complete success. Since the hotel was built so near the airport, special materials were used that isolates any incoming sound no matter how loud it might be so our guests can have all the rest they deserve.
It was a pleasure having you with us, we hope that you visit us again very soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Good location close airport, some minor plane noise, clean, good bed, breakfast your usual with great Costa Rica coffee, free wifi. Good place to book tours. Staff was very friendly. We would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Albertageorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Albertageorge, thank you for writing this review.
We are thrilled to find out how much you liked staying with us and the services the hotel offers. We always try to make our guests feel totally satisfied by providing them with all they might need in order to make their stay with us a great experience.

We make it our duty to take extremely good care of our guests, that way, they can be certain that everytime they stay with us they are never going to be disappointed.

Thank you for choosing us, it was a pleasure to have you with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#17 of 29 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing