We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location and helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
269 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great location and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Tip: pay the airport tax at the hotel to avoid the long line when departing. Well worth the $4 extra charge.
Highlights: Food: To go breakfast bags for early departures. We left to the airport by 4:30 am so that was nice. Next to Fiesta casino, Denny's and Pollo restaurants. Location: very close to the airport. Shuttle to the airport every 15-30 mins.
Lowlights: the beds were way too firm for me.

Room Tip: Room 213 has poor wi-if reception. You have be in the restroom or by the door to get a signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bacong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Bacong F, we really appreciate you taking the time to write and share your comments.

It makes us very happy to learn how much you appreciated the services the hotel offers and its convenient location (being less than 1 mile away from the airport and just across the parking lot from a couple of restaurants and several car rentals). Our services are specially made to provide our guests with all the comfort and convenience so their stay with us will not only be a super comfortable and peaceful one, but also without any kind of hassle that may upset you and make your stay less than perfect.

We are very sorry to find out that the mattress in your room was a little too firm for you, perhaps if you had let the front desk know about it, they would have happily complied and change you to a room with a mattress more of your liking. Remember that we thrive on our guests comfort and satisfaction and we do anything to make them feel that way.

Thank you for staying with us, the entire personnel looks forward to your next stay.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    318
    76
    23
    18
See reviews for
189
295
61
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moon, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

we were very pleased with our stay. we flew in and had to catch a commuter flight out in AM next day. staff at front desk were extremely helpful. the breakfast in morning was good. location is nice - literally right down from airport ---shuttle is easy and convenient. when you arrive - suggest asking one of the locals to call the shuttle - they will expect a small tip but worth it. Pool was nice - exercise room is a zero but not a big deal since stay is so short. very good restaurant next door - and couple others all within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear David S, thank you for posting your review.

Making our guests happy and completely satisfied with their stay is everything we want, that way, they can always be sure that we are everything we say we are and that we can guarantee a great and comfortable stay.
Having super comfortable accommodations, great services, a very convenient location and a extremely helpful and amicable staff is what makes us who we are, a hotel whose main concern is to see each and every one of its guests leave with a smile of satisfaction on their faces saying that they will definitely stay with us again.

It was a pleasure being of your service, thank you for choosing us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We ended up staying here when another hotel we had reservations for in San Rafael, Heredia was not up to our expectations. The staff worked hard to get us checked in early. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
They have international calling for $2.00 a day!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taraland45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Taraland45, thank you for sharing such nice comments.

Eventhough it is very rewarding to know that you can always count on us when things don´t go as expected in other hotels, we are also very sorry about such a mishap happening to you. We want our guests to be sure that whenever they need comfortable accommodations, great services, a convenient location and the best personnel in the world to compy with everything they need, they can put all their expectations on us because we can guarantee their total happiness and satisfaction. Thank you for always keeping us in mind and trusting us so much.

It was a pleasure having you with us, we will look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

It is an airport hotel in every sense. 24 hour shuttle, free wifi, clean rooms, free brown bag to go breakfast, across the parking lot from Denny's, flight info monitors in lobby, luggage scale in lobby, pay departure tax ($4 fee per person) at front desk. It felt very much like being in the USA so I am glad that we were just here for the absolute minimum amount of time before our 6am flight back home.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer_MP3891DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Jennifer_MP3891D, thank you for posting your review.

We are very happy to know how convenient our hotel was for your purposes. We strive to make our guests have all the comfort they deserve so that they can have quality rest either when they arrive from a long trip or before they depart to their home. We provide them with the best services possible so that their stay with us can be not only a peaceful and restful heaven but also a hassle free experience in which they can do and plan everything before hand arriving to the airport such as the luggage scale and the departure tax service.

Our guests´ convenience is very important for us, as much as their comfort and satisfaction so it is very rewarding to know that our guests really appreciate everything we do for them.

Thank you for choosing us, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Although it was like being fast-forwarded back to the U.S., this was an excellent place to stay near the airport before an early morning flight back home. The airport shuttle was ready and waiting when we went to the lobby in the morning. There was even a scale near the front desk to weigh our luggage, which was helpful in packing. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terah1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Terah1231, thank you for posting your comments.

We are delighted to learn how convenient and useful you found the services we offer. We strive to try to make our guests' stay as comfortable, restful and hassle free as it can be, that way we can ensure them everything they were expecting from a perfect hotel experience and much more. We thrive on our guests satisfaction and everytime we read reviews like yours, it lets us know that we are indeed doing everything we are supposed to do and in the best way possible.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, thank you so much for choosing us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
185 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one evening. It was great. It is conveniently located near the airport (5 minutes), has a free shuttle service every 15 minutes, is across from a Denny's (not fine dining but convenient), has take away breakfast from 2am and regular breakfast from 6am, the breakfast is good, the room was spacious, the beds and pillows were great, and the computers and printers in the lobby worked great! I have nothing bad to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: I wouldn't get a room in the main hallway - I think it would be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjc_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear mjc_travels, thank you for sharing such wonderful comments.

It makes us thrilled to know how much you liked staying with us and how you appreciated and found so convenient all the services we offer (specially our free 24 hour a day shuttle service and our complimentary breakfast). we thrive on our guests satisfaction and comfort, that is why we do everything within our reach to provide them with all they might need for a restful and comfortable stay.

Thank you so much for staying with us, the entire staff looks forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is by and far the worst experience I have experienced at a hotel. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL. I had booked this room 2 months before on Hotels.com and pre-paid in full. I emailed the staff my flight and arrival time and they said they would send a shuttle to pick up my girlfriend and I at the airport. We arrived at the airport at 1am and there was no shuttle. We waited while being pestered for some time for the shuttle to arrive and had to borrow a phone to call for the shuttle. Upon arriving at the Holiday Inn Express, the front desk employee informed me that all the rooms were booked. I said that this is impossible since I have a guaranteed reserved room which I already paid for. He said that the best he can do is get us a room at a 'sister' hotel located 25 minutes away. He didn't either offer us transportation to this other hotel until we pushed him. After 12 hours of travelling and nearing 2am, this was the absolute worst experience to start our vacation. Bottom line - they are unreliable and incompetent. I wouldn't risk your patience, sanity, or vacation by staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Golfer1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Golfer1616, thank you for sharing your comments, they are very important for us because they provide us with invaluable feedback of what our guests think about the hotel, its services and the attention from its personnel and what we can do to improve them for their complete satisfaction.

We apologize for the inconvenience you experiene of having to be transfered to another hotel due to the overbooking of all the hotels in the area near the airport which was beyond our control. Our hotel has a partnership with other hotels who are also characterized by their high quality of services and accommodations, one of those hotels is the hotel right next door which we would have happily sent you there since they are right next door from us, but as I wrote before all the hotels in the area were overbooked. That is the reason why we sent you to another partner hotel which a little away from the airport and it also is a hotel that always maintains the highest quality of services and accommodations.
Once again we are really sorry and will like to apologize for everything that happend, we can assure that overbookings like this very seldomly happens, unfortunately it did happen when you were here and would really like to contact you privately so that we can offer you a compensation for the hassle you experienced.

It was a pleasure being at your service, we would really appreciate if you can give us another chance to demonstrate our commitment to you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#17 of 30 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing