We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Quality.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Quality.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

the people is really friendly and the hotel is really good. also the breakfast was really good as well, everything was excellent. my family and I stay just for one night and is excellent, because they have complementary international calls. I really like it.

Room Tip: read the reviews before select the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cat981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear cat981, thank you for writing such a wonderful review.

We are a hotel whose outmost desire is to make each and every one of our guests have a very comfortable stay, full of relaxation and rest for their total satisfaction.

Knowing that we did accomplish this with you and your family makes us very happy because we are always striving so our guests can have the best of the best and always get more of what they were expecting. Also, we are thrilled that you liked our complimentary breakfast so much and the rest of all the other services we offer.

It was a pleasure having you and your family with us, we hope you visit us again in the near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    321
    77
    23
    17
See reviews for
193
299
61
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
177 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife, son, and I stayed at this motel twice during our recent vacation in Costa Rica. The rooms were clean and quiet after about 9:00 pm when the infrequent takeoffs and landings seem to end. It is perfectly located for those with late arrivals and/or early morning departures. They provide an airport shuttle and if you contact them prior to your arrival they will have an individual meet you at the exit to baggage claim holding a sign with your name on it. That individual will help you with your baggage, escort you to where the shuttle will pick you up and wait with you until you and your baggage is on the shuttle. The breakfast included a great mix of fresh fruit, hot items and just outstanding coffee which was available starting at 6:30 am. The person greeting you, the shuttle drivers, front desk staff, housekeeping personnel and the breakfast staff were all very welcoming and helpful.
The rooms had king sized beds, television and great wifi.
Since this hotel is located just off a relatively busy highway with only two restaurants and a casino close by, the hotel provides free transportation to a shopping center where there are a number of restaurants for those who want to have dinner someplace else.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CincinnatiVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear CincinnatiVictor, thank you very much for sharing such a detailed review about your stay with us.

We are very proud to to have you and your family with us not once, but twice during your vacation, making us your hotel of choice. We are a hotel that really does everything we can in order to exceed our guests´ expectations and provide them all the satisfaction and comfort that they can wish.

We are very happy to inform you that due to the hotels very convenient location (less than a mile away from the airport) it was built using special materials that isolates any incoming sound, no matter how loud or close it might be, ensuring our guests all the undisturbed rest they crave. It is terrific to learn how much you and your family enjoyed the services we offer such as the complimentary breakfast (which you guys found so tasty and veried), our complimentary 24 hour shuttle service, and our free wifi among others.

We are delighted to have the best staff ever, they always strive to make our guests feel happy, comfortable, satisfied and welcome and we enjoy doing it very much. It has been a pleasure having you and your family stay with us not once but twice.

Thank you so much for choosing us and we hope to see all of you back again real soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed in San Jose over night before flying to Tambor, this hotel was very clean and the staff was extremely helpful in offering advice for dinner and how to get around and back to the Airport the next morning. They also provide a very nice breakfast that was very fresh. We would stay again if we return.

Room Tip: Great access to and from the Airport on the shuttle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Gary B, thank you for sharing such an awesome review.

Making our guests happy and satisfied is what we are all about that is why our guests´ comfort and well being is our outmost desire and we really do srtrive for it by providing them with very comfortable accommodations, convenient services and a great staff who are always doing everything they can to assure that our guests are completely satisfied with their experience with us.

It was a pleasure being able to serve you. Thank you so much for choosing us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I was in San Jose in May for a night and needed to stay close to the airport for a connecting next day flight, so I made an online reservation with this hotel. Unfortunately, I got a cab driver who did not speak English and my Spanish was poor. He did not know where the Holiday Inn was and after a very long and stressful cab ride, I ended up at another hotel. This Holiday Inn refused to reimburse or credit me even though I did not stay at their hotel. I asked to communicate with the management on this matter. I have made many attempts to resolve this matter with the Holiday Inn management and even though I have been told that someone will promptly get back to me, I have never received a return call or email. They took 135.00 from me without my getting anything from them except frustration and very poor business manners!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JARidle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear JARidle, we really appreciate our guests reviews because they not only inform us about how they see and feel about our hotel and its services and makes us see what we can do to improve every day to make our guests happy and satisfied, also it lets us clarify and explain certain policies and positions of the hotel.

As a hotel of very well stablished and reknown brand, we do go the extra mile to provide our guests with all the comfort and satisfaction they need for a relaxing and restful stay, because their well being and happiness is our main focus. We have a 24 hour shuttle service that goes to and from the airport to the hotel every 15 minutes the 7 days of the week as it is advertised in our internet profile and brochures, so our guests do not need a taxi to take them to the hotel if they are coming from the airport.

We are very sorry for what happened to you, but our reservation policies (which are also stated in our own website and websites like TripAdvisor so our potential guests can know beforehand how we work) clearly states:
1) that when rate chosen is a special rate with a special discount, the first night must be paid in advance and is non refundable.
2)The cancellation policy states that to be able to cancel a reservation without a penalty, must be done even up to the day of arrival but it has to be done before 6:00 p.m. Costa Rican time.

We do apologize for not being able to refund the money, but our hands are tied because non of the hotel´s cancellations policies were not followed and you were not able to make the cancellation on time. We regret to learn that you have not gotten any responses or answers from us because that is highly irregular since our guests are so important for us, we always take extra care in answering any questions or doubts they might have.

Once again we are very sorry for your mishap and we wish we could have complied with you but as we wrote before, our hands are tight. It was a pleasure being of your service.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here because we needed to be at the airport by 5 am. We arrived early and they stored our luggage. The pool was outside and a bit cool. We paid our exit tax here, although it was an extra $4 each. They didn't tell us to fill in the back of it which would have been helpful, because then I had to stand up and do it at the airport so still had to wait! The room was very North American, I felt I had left Costa Rica already, compared to the other hotel rooms we had stayed in the last 10 days. There was a bagged breakfast ready at 5 am for us to take along with us on the shuttle. The shuttle arrived quickly and it was aobut a 5 minute trip to the airport. The breakfast bag was a banana, muffin, granola bar and a juice. There is a Denny's across the parking lot that they gave us a 10% off coupon, also a casino is there if you have left over colones to get rid of! After we got to the room they called to make sure everything was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oktravelclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Oktravelclub, thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Making our guests have everything they need besides providing them with very comfortable accommodations and great services is what we are all about. There is nothing we like more than to make our guests´ travels much easier and hassle free, tthat is why we offer so many perks such as being in a very convenient location (we are less than a mile away from the airport, and just across the parking lot from a couple of restaurants, several car rentals and a casino), providing our guests that have very early flights with our "breakfast to go" , having free wifi, and having a 24 hour shuttle service to and from the airport among other services. We are very happy that you got all the comfort and satisfaction you were expecting.

Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure serving you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Super service, quality rooms, very clean, and the perfect location. The complimentary breakfast was very good, and a great start to the day. We were totally impressed by the staff. There was a surprise birthday singing for my wife from all the staff, and that was very cool. Just ask, and you will receive great info and tips for a wonderful experience in Costa Rica. Ask for a red cab if you know your destination as the taxi at the HIE is much more expensive. Gracias, Ciliena, you rock!

Room Tip: Ask for a king bed if there are only two, they are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Paul M, thank you for writing and sharing your wonderful review about you and your wife´s stay with us.

We really want to thank you for seeing us as your vacation´s home base because there is nothing we want more than to be your home away from home where you and your family can be sure that you are all going to get everything that you expected and much more. We want all of you to become part of our extended world wide family; we want all of you to be certain that you are always going to be more than welcome and that you can count on us for everything you might need for making each and every one of your stays an incredible and relaxing experience.

Thank you and your family for staying with us, the entire team looks forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were looking for a place to stay close to the airport, and close to return our rental car. The Manager Sandro F. was very helpful in giving us directions to return the car. They had the forms there so we were able to pay the exit tax and avoid lines at the airport. The rooms were clean, the breakfast was good. They even had a scale in the lobby to check luggage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webetrippingallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Webetrippingallover, thank you so much for posting such wonderful comments.

It is always very gratifying for us to know how much our guests like and enjoy our hotel and all the services we provide such as being able to pay for the airport´s exit tax right here at the hotel so all the long lines at the airport can be avoided. One of our great features is our very convenient location, not only are we less than a mile away from the airport, but we are also only across our parking lot from several car rentals, a couple of restaurants and a casino which makes it possible for our guests to get more rest, to be able to either rent the car or return it during their stay with us without having to go out of their way,

Thank you for choosing us, it was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#17 of 29 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing