We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Airport Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2010

My three sisters and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport for one night before an early morning flight. Check-in was somewhat hectic, but the rooms were just what you would expect from this kind of hotel--clean, standardized, and ideally located for an early flight.

We walked to the Denny's next door and had an (unexpectedly) good dinner of soup and rolls. I hadn't been to a Denny's in quite awhile, and all thought the soups were good.

The beds were fantastic and guests are able to make free international calls from the room, a pleasant surprise.

The shuttle was prompt and got us to the airport in plenty of time. If you need an airport hotel, I recommend this one.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2010

I stayed at this hotel recently and was taken a back by the mold over the window in my room (room 139). Although, they had a air purifier in the room I was a little nervous and called the front desk but the man that answered the phone acted as if he did not understand. Then at 3am one of the front desk clerks called my room and said he was calling because m the fire alarm was going off in my room. Once I told him I was sleep and no alarm was going off I don't even think he apologized for waking me up. Now everything wasn't bad one of the front desk men was actually very nice and quoted me a good rate and went to get a fork for me when Denny's forget to send one with my dessert. Also, the women and men cleaning the rooms, at the tour desk, and in the gift shop were very nice. But things did go from Bad to Worst! At check out the man at the front desk told me my rate was $5 more and when I told him I was quoted something different he stated I should be happy because they usually charge much more! My receipt had the first night at the price I was quoted at and my second night $5 more. Then when I got back to the states I was told by my credit card company they had held over $800.00 on my credit card not including the amount the hotel actually cost. But when I called the hotel they said they have 2 to 4 weeks before they have to release my money but if I send them my credit card statement they may can do it a little faster. Of course this made me very angry so I was telling the man I need to speak with his manager but he claimed he was the only one there and actually laughed at me and stated he couldn't help me because I was so upset! Really...I really don't think any of this is a laughing matter! I left my number and information for the manager to call me back and 24 hours later I have gotten no response! Do yourself a favor stay at another location near the airport!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mintoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We chose this hotel based on positive reviews plus the proximity to the airport and were not disappointed. Though not the cheapest hotel in the area the Holiday Inn definitely delivers: great staff, comfortable rooms, free breakfast (including breakfast on the run before 5am) plus an efficient shuttle service to the airport - this is exactly what you need in an airport hotel with a little added charm from the friendly staff.
A couple of tips: upon checkin we were each given a $5 voucher for the casino opposite the hotel. You can put this in a machine then cash it out straight away, then spend this at dinner in the restaurant nearby which sells flame-grilled BBQ chicken.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lost-in-Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Our stay at this hotel was an excellent choice. Being so close to the airport I was slightly concerned for noice but the noise was non existent. The rooms were clean, staff was excellent. The shuttle to the hotel runs every 15 or so minutes so you need just wait and pay nothing. The breakfast was good and coffee was available all the time. We had free wifi which is always nice. Eating suggestion. Don't eat on the Hotel campus (there is a casino and Denny's right outside). Go down to the street entrance and take a right. Walk some 200 feet for a pick of three restaurants of CR style. We ate at the first one on the right. The Steak house which is the second on the left is kind of pricy. Have fun. Our rental car picked us up the next morning.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnGaucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We stayed in this hotel twice while in transit between the US and Panama. Cab-fare between nearby airport and hotel was $2.00 each time. Hotel was clean, recently constructed, attractive. Quick free shuttle back to airport in morning. Staff was plentiful, professional, helpful, cheerful. Rooms were neat, clean, roomy, and comfortable. TV in room included various US news channels. Free high speed internet in room. Complimentary breakfast (scrambled eggs w. ham & hash browns, toast, juices, coffees, cereals, milk including skim, etc.) was excellent. Denny's (didn't try), "Rosti Pollo" (Costa Rican chain with excellent service, great variety of rotisserie chicken dishes, and reasonable prices), and a bar-casino (didn't try) were all right next door. Despite proximity of airport, rooms were quiet at night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnmarathoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

This hotel was perfect for our nights in and out of the San Jose airport. I especially appreciated the screen in the lobby displaying live flight and gate status.

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Service went above and beyond--we missed our wakeup call, and the front desk worker actually walked up to our room personally to make sure we were awake!

Location is about as close to the airport as you can get. I'm not sure I would use this hotel as a base for tourist activities, but it worked great for flying in and flying out.

One word of wisdom--if possible, avoid the Denny's across the street. We ate there for convenience only our last night (we usually try for more local places). While the food and service were fine, this was by far our most expensive meal of the trip! Extremely overpriced, even with the 10% hotel discount!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We were supposed to only stay at the Holiday Inn Express at San Jose Airport before our 6 am flight back to Denver for 1 night. However, Frontier canceled our flight & we had to stay in Costa Rica 2 extra days. The staff at this hotel were amazing in helping us deal with our canceled flight at 3AM! They gave us free International calling so we could rebook our flights and call our family and work to make alternate arrangements. They also gave us a fair price for the additional 2 nights when they really could have not, since we were booking last minute & were desperate. Their pool is outdoors, which was nice because we could enjoy some sun, and there is a restaurant and casino in the same parking lot, so you don't have to go far. Also they have "to go" bags of free breakfast for those that need to leave for their flight before breakfast starts (at 6:30am), and they have 2 computers in the lobby you can use to access the Internet. The only con I would say is the rooms don't have a fridge or microwave, which would have been really nice. However, I cannot say enough about how friendly and accommodating the staff was, and it was nice to have a more American hotel at the end of our trip (especially with the hassle of getting stuck). I highly recommend this hotel as a stop off point between the coastal towns & the airport for your flight home.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lwarner07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoMartaHotels2, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2010
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped:
En nombre de todo el equipo del Hotel Holiday Inn Express San José Airport, Costa Rica queremos decirle: ¡Muchas gracias!
Gracias por visitarnos y brindarnos la oportunidad de entregarle nuestros servicios: Estamos totalmente comprometidos con brindarle una estadía confortable y agradable en un ambiente amistoso.
Gracias por permitirnos conocerle: Para nosotros es igual de importante crear lazos fuertes y duraderos con nuestros huéspedes a través del tiempo.
Y finalmente muchas gracias por compartir su experiencia positiva con nosotros y con la comunidad de viajeros de Trip Advisor.

Jorge Paniagua
Gerente General
Hotel Holiday Inn Express, San Jose Airport. Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#20 of 27 in Alajuela
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#15 of 27 in Alajuela
279 reviews
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,881 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: £83 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing