We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, homey, relaxed, informative, enjoyable....and much more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vida Tropical B and B
Ranked #8 of 60 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable, homey, relaxed, informative, enjoyable....and much more!”
Reviewed 29 February 2008

We have stayed at Vida Tropical more times than we can add up and have been regular customers since the B & B opened many years ago.
It is our stopping off point upon entry and exit and sometimes during our stay in Costa Rica.
It is comfortable and everyone makes you feel 'at home' when you arrive. The accommodations are clean and casual, breakfast is marvelous. Everyone employed at Vida is helpful and knowledgable about most everything. We have met most of the past managers of Vida and think Isabel and Norm are the best!!!
We recommend Vida to all of our friends and family vacationing in Costa Rica and everyone that we have had stay at the B & B were very pleased with the recommendation.
If you are looking for swanky, stuffy accommodation with room service, AC, swimming pool, and stuck up people, this is not the place for you. Vida Tropical is for families, budget travellers and travellers that want to feel like they are 'at home' and enjoy meeting other people and sharing their travel experiences.
It is #1!!!
Stay at Vida Tropical....you can't go wrong!!

  • Liked — Convenient, friendly, at home feeling....
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Wefish88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    92
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
61
105
52
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2008

i have been visiting costa rica twice a year for about 7 years and i consider myself lucky to have found vida tropical. other hotels sometimes do not honor your reservation when you arrive... that was never the case with vida tropical. not only are they reliable but the rooms are clean and norman and isabel are very helpful. my first trip was with my daughter and this december it was with her (pregnant), her husband and little dexter. We all had a great experience and will be returning soon.

  • Liked — distance from airport
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bergamo
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2008

I stayed on November 07
I found a lot of friendly people that can help me and my Friend Cristian to organise our trip.I think that we found very clean rooms, one different from each other with different picture of Costa Rica. You have olso the opportunty to use internet connection and free national call.
If you need you can organize personal guidated travel around the mezeta central with the help of Isabel and her collegues...I Think that it's an optimum solution for young and Family.
O...sorry, I didn't remenber to write about the wonderfull breakfast cooked by Silvia every morning.
BYe BYe Tiziana

  • Liked — The friendly people
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tizBergamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2008

My family and I, 2 adults and 3 children, spent 4 stays at Vida Tropical, flying in and out, and traveling for 5 months all over Costa Rica (it's true that you can leave your excess luggages there for free, and believe me, being 5 in the family, we had a lot to leave!).We were welcomed there like family every time. Norman and Isabel, Rafael and Greg, Flor and Sylvia, they all went out of their ways to accomodate us. Breakfast was excellent (you could order the food from a menu, just like in a restaurant, full of fruits too) rooms were very confortable. The access to tv and internet was appreciated by all of us. The kids still talk about the rabbit in the garden. My parents spent 5 nights there with us and enjoyed it very much too, especially when they had the chance to use the garden room! My mom and I also treated ourselves to the upstairs daybed where we spent many hours reading and talking. My dad was very fond of the upstairs balcony where he would write his diary, but what he loved the most was just hanging downstairs with all the guests, I didn't know he was so sociable!

I highly recommand this B and B, I wouldn't go anywhere else when I fly in and out of Costa Rica!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank gringagirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2008

I'm a traveler from the United States. I've stayed at Vida Tropical on multiple occasions and will continue to do so. They are very kind and helpful people. The accommodations are extremely clean. They are very knowledgable about local happenings. I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone. A very relaxing stay.

  • Liked — The people were so helpful and friendly
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank joeagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2008

The Vida Tropical experience is one of the best values in Alajuela. It is a small, friendly B&B with great service and an excellent location. It makes an excellent point of arrival and departure for tourists visiting the country because of its strategic location near the airport and the center of the town of Alajuela. The staff is friendly, attentive and caring. They do their best to help their guests with their travel and vacation arrangements. Many of their guests become repeat customers, as I have, because of the relaxed atmosphere and their staff's commitment to being of service to their guests.
There are many places to stay in Alajuela, but few can challenge Vida Tropical's combination of location and service for value. I strongly recommend them -- you will be glad you chose them!

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful staff and great location
  • Disliked — Too far from the ocean for a long-term stay (I need to surf occasionally)
  • Stayed February 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TitoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2007

The main thing about Vida Tropical is how nice & helpful Isabel & Norman are. If you are just arriving into town, this is a great place to start. They let me leave luggage for free while I traveled around and even found me another accommodation when I they were booked full. They booked tours and coordinated things that they really didn't have too. The fact that I could leave luggage there while I traveled, that they booked another hotel for me & that they were so nice & helpful made this a place I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jcsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
668 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 27 in Alajuela
306 reviews
0.0 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#13 of 27 in Alajuela
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
864 reviews
0.0 mi away
Catarata Rio Celeste Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vida Tropical B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vida Tropical B and B

Property: Vida Tropical B and B
Address: 300 meters East and 300 N from the courthouse traffic light | in front of the Academia de Natación, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ADVANTAGES OF VIDA TROPICAL - 5 minutes from the airport, but not on the flight path; walking distance to the center of the city of Alajuela; on a nice, quiet, secure street, in a friendly residential area; transportation to and from the airport is available at any hour of the day or night with the official orange airport taxis or we can arrange pickup(fare is about $7.00); a base from which to do day trips in the Central Valley, or overnight trips to more distant points; a place to stay during your whole trip if you're here to check out business opportunities, real estate purchase or rental possibilities or if you want to experience daily life in the Central Valley to decide if you want to move here permanently or part of the year; s place to enjoy an extended stay at very reasonable prices. We´re in Lonely Planet, Let's Go, and other travel books, reviewed on TripAdvisor and airbnb,and recommended in Thorn Tree and other discussion boards. Established in the Last Millenium before Y2K (1999), and enjoyed by 1,000s of guests. We accept Visa and Mastercard but NOT with the new CHIP security system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vida Tropical B and B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vida Tropical b And b Hotel Alajuela
Vida Tropical B And B Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing