We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would Stay There Again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Brillasol Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Phoenix
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would Stay There Again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed at the hotel 3 different nights on our trip to C.R. 3/15, 3/18 and

3/25/11. The hotel was 5-10 minutes from SJO airport. They had a ride there to

pick us up at no extra charge, in fact, they drove us to Calulu Restuarrauant

the next morning to catch Interbus, picked us up upon our return from Arenal

Volcano, drove us to Sansa Airways the next morning, picked us up there upon

our return from Drake Bay, and drove us to SJO for our departure - it was like

having our own transportation - they were very accommodating.

The hotel itself was very modest, but well worth the $70 we paid per night.

They were located in a neighborhood, but the grounds were very secure, with

tropical fencing around the perimeter and throughout the interior, and security

cameras and locked front gate - we felt very comfortable. The room was

acceptable with 2 beds, TV, and a shower/bath. We used the pool on our final

day and felt as though we were in some tropical outpost - you couldn't even

tell you were in the city. The had a buffet breakfast, referred us to a great

seafood restaurant nearby for lunch, and had tasty dinners. Rooms and grounds

were neat and clean, staff fantastic, and food good. We would stay there again.

Fred and Cathy, Phoenix, AZ. 3/27/11

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fmh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    122
    37
    19
    17
See reviews for
65
113
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pdx
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

We stayed at this hotel on the way back from a friends wedding in Manuel Antonio National Park. We arrived at around 7 p.m. and checked in fairly quickly and were given a room on the second level at the end of the hallway. The bed was fairly comfortable and the bathroom, although very bare and somewhat grimy looking, had a working shower.

We had dinner with our friends at the restaurant which was reasonable and tasty (I had the rice!) and then I used the Internet before going to bed.

I appreciated that the gate to come and go was locked and you had to be buzzed in to get into the compound. We didn't make use of the pool but I did use the restroom just off the pool, which didn't have soap or much running water.

It was affordable and convenient to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keyestones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

After spending more than a week in a secluded house on the Osa peninsula, we needed to spend a night in San Jose before catching an early flight home. We found this hotel on the internet and booked one night. The airport van was punctual and very convenient. The staff is helpful and friendly. The man at the desk cheerfully locked up our valuables, gave us extra towels, directed us to an excellent nearby seafood restaurant, and handled several phone calls for me. We walked to the restaurant and the area seemed safe enough. The Wifi in the hotel lounge did not work but they provide computers for internet access. My daughter enjoyed the pool, a lot. The room was spare but clean and the shower was nice and hot. We had friends visit us and it was a nice place to receive people and have a bite to eat. On the down side, our sleep was interrupted by the noise of the van taking people to the airport at 4:00 and 5:00 am. The van pulls in and leaves the noisy motor running while they wait for the passengers to come out. This could be for 10 minutes at a time. Our window was open and it seemed as if the motor was running only 10 feet from our heads. On the whole, if you need to get to the airport early and don't have to have fancy accommodations, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mopey10023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

I was a little misread by their website. I assumed that there was a bar by the pool. There was not and the pool was so dirty that you would not want to get in it. However, the staff was so kind and gracious! I loved them! I needed an airport pick up at 3:30am, which is very early, and they knocked on my door to make sure that I was awake and insisted on brewing a pot of coffee for me! They even offered to make me breakfast!

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank natk1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

We have stayed at Brilla Sol many times over the past 5 years and so far 3 times on this trip alone. It is our beginning and ending spot for all of our Costa Rican vacations. The hotel is a very basic Tico style hotel but clean and has lovely grounds, pool, and restaurant. The price is RIGHT with free shuttle to and from the airport any time of day/night as well as breakfast included. The staff could not be more accomodationg. We have been given dinner from a limited menu upon a 10:00PM arrival even though their restaurant had been closed for 2 hours. We have brought our own wine to many dinners here. Also, the food is really very good. Last week when we were there to see our friends to the airport we were not in a hurry to leave in the morning. We took our time getting to breakfast. Even though the complimentary breakfast had ended by this time, they graciously brought eveything back out for us to eat a full breakfast. The customer service here will not be beat by any airport hotel in San Jose. And it seems that their rates have not increased in the past 5 years as have the major hotels around this area, some by as much as 100%. We have stayed here with our kids, grandkids, friends and other relatives. All have enjoyed the stay. If you are looking for Tico hospitality, you don't mind basic, and like the price, this is the place to stay

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellyandpete2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

As last night hotel the Brilla Sol was just not too bad. Simple and functional standard at a nice price. Hotel staff very friendly and we had a decent dinner. The hotel offers a shuttle service that worked well for us. Unfortunately, we missed breakfast as we had to leave early for our flight. The only negative aspect is the room assigned to us had very uncomfortable beds and smelled humidity, very unpleasant. Else, all ok.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happygoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

As a first and last night hotel the Brilla Sol was just perfect for our family of seven. We had two large rooms with comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. Simple and functional standard at a nice price. Hotel staff very friendly, nice breakfast and we had a decent dinner. The hotel offers a shuttle service that worked well for us. We'd be happy to stay at the Brilla Sol again for transit purposes

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterbackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.9 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#8 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brillasol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brillasol Airport

Property: Hotel Brillasol Airport
Address: El Roble de Alajuela, Alajuela 17274050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Brillasol Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Brillasol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brilla Sol Hotel
Hotel Brillasol Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing