We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third time here and will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
california
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Third time here and will be back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times and everytime I leave I say to myself that i will come back. Its location is close to the SJO airport and their free shuttles make things so easy.

Guillermo one of the managers and his staff are very friendly and will attend to your every need.

Their restaurant is delicious and quick. The food really was better than expected each time. The rooms can be a little loud sometimes but that just depends on who else is in the hotel. Sometimes there are large groups and it can change the face of the place.

The hotel is also close to the airport so that means there is a pretty consistant rumble from jets taking off and landing.

Overall I think this is the best option if you need a place to stay after you arrive or before you leave. It is not the kind of place you would want to stay for several days as there is nothing nice in the area that I know of but is perfect for the quick stop. The price is right and the staff are very friendly.

The rooms are basic but have everything you need and have comfortable beds. The showers have HOT WATER!!! That was a nice change.

I will be back

Room Tip: The rooms seem to be all the same. It looked like they have cabinas but I have always been alone and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honest_dude_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    125
    39
    19
    17
See reviews for
71
113
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed here one night before and one night after Costa Rica tour. Rooms are clean and TV has lots of channels. The restaurant is well priced (8$ mains) and the food is fresh and good. The hotel will take care of all transports you need also in minutes notice. The location is near airport and feels safe behind a gate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olli-Pekka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Our cab driver recommended this place and we were very pleased. The place is very nice, close to the airport and has nice grounds. What we want to share is the great staff. Just as we arrived at the hotel from another part of the country, my wife fell quite ill with 'traveler's sickness'. The staff was so very helpful and caring in helping us get her to a clinic and offering food and drink if she needed it. Then, to top it off, the hotel's shuttle driver went way above and beyond by detouring to a couple of farmacias for us as we needed to find someone to administer an antibiotic shot that my wife needed before we went to the airport. We will always stay at this place when coming in and out of Costa Rica from now on.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foliageutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

My family and I stayed at Hotel Brilla Sol in June the night before heading back to the U.S., and we found it to be very charming, secure and comfortable. The restaurant served us a delicious, custom-made meal. The shuttle to the airport was reliable and quick. I recommend this place on your way into or out of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antone3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
188 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

I stayed here several years ago and returned on this last visit. It's about 5 minutes from the airport by free shuttle, so traffic jams aren't a problem. It has a lovely garden and pool area to relax by if you have a later flight. The breakfast (included) offers eggs, plantains, cereals, bread, fruits and beverages. The rooms are large with large washrooms (in the centre building). The water pressure in the shower was not strong. There are ceiling fans and screen doors but no air conditioning. Wilfredo is a happy go lucky guy and very pleasant. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 45-nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We returned recently from our ninth trip to Costa Rica. For most of these trips we have stayed at BrillaSol on our arrival and our day before departure days. We have always found it to be a pleasant place to stay for a night. The people are helpful and friendly, the rooms are clean and adequate, the food is simple, home-cooked fare. We enjoy the pool and garden area, and there is internet access now too. Our arrival day/night worked out fine as usual on this trip, but when we returned about ten days later, we were told that there was a problem with our room...they had given it someone else because they had a large group of students and the place was full. They did not try to contact us ahead of time to let us know. We were told that we would get a discount. We were given a very small, dark room off the reception area with two twin beds. The ceiling was only a little higher than my husband's head. One wall was glass, covered with a see-through curtain, which looked out onto the common computer and T.V. room. There was a T.V. in the room which didn't have cable, only rabbit ears that didn't work. We had use of a very tiny bathroom across the hall. Needless to say, we only stayed in our room to sleep, though this was hard at first because three of the staff were watching the very loud T.V. right outside the glass wall and were also talking loudly. They might as well have been in the room. I felt claustrophobic and was trying not to have a panic attack. Even though the owner apologized and they took $15 off our room rate, I have to say that I hesitate to go back. I can't guarantee that it won't happen again and i really do not want to have the situation repeated. I don't think it's right to give pre-booked rooms away and then not contact you. I think we should be given a guarantee that they won't do it again...and i think we should be given a free night on top of that. I feel badly about this because we enjoyed going to BrillaSol so many times. I felt it was worth letting people know.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank osalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Va, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

What a great bunch of folks at Brill Sol. Friendly, clean rooms and great food. I just visited again in March 2013 and this was my second visit. I can't say enough about the pleasant atmosphere and great food. I hope one day they will finish their pool area and get it ship shape, but otherwise this is a great place for a day or two on your way to or from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19William19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.9 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#6 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
2.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brillasol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brillasol Airport

Property: Hotel Brillasol Airport
Address: El Roble de Alajuela, Alajuela 17274050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Brillasol Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Brillasol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brilla Sol Hotel
Hotel Brillasol Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing