We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but overpriced”
Review of Vina Romantica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vina Romantica
Ranked #42 of 58 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice but overpriced”
Reviewed 20 March 2009

Vina Romantica is a very nice place but I thought was on the pricey side for what it offered. It is very small which means there is not a huge amount of privacy, the couple of rooms are nice and very clean but pretty basic and it felt very crowded, and as it is right in the middle of what seemed to be a pretty densely populated area - with neighbours talking and playing music and dogs barking all night, noise was a problem. Access to the airport is OK but traffic at rush hours (morning and afternoon/evening) should definitely be taken into account. It was awful and took much longer than we expected. Having said all that, it is a very nice, clean hotel - I just would have expected more for the price we were paying.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank machita99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    19
    2
    7
    2
See reviews for
7
51
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
frejus
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2009

My friend and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel with the owners Sherry and Tim, they were wonderful hosts and we had such a lovely stay with them, they have lots of local knowledge and are happy to give suggestions for visits of the area. Beds are very comfy, rooms clean and the breakfasts are something else. Would reccomend this stay to friends and family. Lyn and Steve uk

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We stayed at Vina Romantica on their "Hello Goodbye" package (the location is convenient to the San Jose airport and a great place to stay upon your arrival and before your departure from Costa Rica). We can't express how incredibly friendly and helpful Sherry and Tim are. Weeks before we arrived, Sherry must have spent at least a couple of hours trading e-mails with me to help us plan the rest of our vacation in Costa Rica, arrange for transportation and otherwise make recommendations for favorite places to visit. You'd never get this kind of personal vacation-planning service from a 5-star hotel, or for that matter, any other hotel at which we've ever stayed. Upon our arrival, Tim immediately made sure we were settled in and relaxed and I spent a couple of fun hours just hanging out and chatting and listening to music with Tim while my wife crashed. The bed was super-comfortable and our room (Treetop) had its own sitting area, satellite TV and wireless access. Breakfast was really terrific as was the dinner we had on our return to Vina Romantica. Sherry arranged for our transportation to Arenal Volcano, from Dantica Lodge near San Gerardo de Dota to Vina Romantica and to the airport for our departure with Miguel, an extremely friendly and professional driver with whom Vina Romantica works. There is a great deck area at the back of the property with a view of Poas Volcano. I sat there while my wife received the massage that was part of the Hello Goodbye package, which is really an incredible deal. All in all, if you are looking for a comfortable, well-located place in the Central Valley at a reasonable price and with terrific food and unparalleled personal service, Vina Romantica is your place!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djEvadsivad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, NM
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2009

Vina Romantica is absolutely charming. Our room was very clean and very tastefully furnished, and the view of the countryside is beautiful. We had two meals there, both excellent, and owners Tim and Sherry acted as if it was truly their pleasure to have us. We had many questions about the country and the area and they were extremely helpful and gracious in providing us answers and assistance. I can be a bit picky about accommodations, but this place definitely gets my recommendation. I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnoAndMaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2009

We stayed here on the first and last days of our Costa Rica vacation. Tim and Sherry are excellent hosts with a lot of experience in the country. The B&B is small and intimate with easy access to the airport, as well as access to the Poas volcano and the town of Alejuela. There is a nice balcony to enjoy the hummingbirds and the beds are very comfortable. Although the treetop suite is more expensive, we felt that the Garden Room is just as nice and a better value. The breakfast is well done and the dinner was intimate and well prepared by the chef. We would recommend this small place to couples (young and old).

  • Liked — The intimate scale and setting
  • Disliked — access to restaurants
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank clmills008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

We stayed at Vina Romantica the night that we arrived in Costa Rica. The hotel was easy to find--maybe 10-15 minutes from the airport up in the hills. We were greeted with welcome drinks and flowers in the room, enjoyed a tasty dinner at their restaurant, had a great night's sleep and then a delicious breakfast. Vina Romantica is a great place to start or finish a stay in Costa Rica. Some of the other guests talked about adventure-type activities in the area, but we didn't do anything nearby. We used VR as a jumping-off point for Arenal. It was ideal to stay in a place that was not directly at the airport but was not inconvenient.

  • Liked — The location and friendly hosts
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank blue314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

This is a one night stay type of place. If you cancel wtihin 14 days regardless of the number of nights, you will pay the full amount. However, that's NOT how it read on my confirmation. This was very disappointing. This is a very small 4 bedroom place, with two chairs to lookout at the coffee fields. Several dogs next door that barked throughout the night and the roosters start at 5. They do provide ear plugs in the nightstand.

They have drivers, but are very expensive. They do not speak English and pretend not to understand your espanol. The coffee plantation is only a 5 mile drive. They charge you $25 !! We asked the owner if we could take the bus, but she couldn't give us exact directions. If I owned a place I would give exact details on how to get there, times of operation and if it was worth the price or not. There is nothing to do in this area. All homes have wrought iron around the yard and bars on the windows. It's not just the culture. Crime rate all over Costa Rica is high.

There are two restaurants wtihin 15 minute walk. La Luna was our favorite and one male spoke English. Very reasonable prices and accomodating. The coffee plantation was a ripoff. $18 per person, children $8. It's a 25 minute speech. We didn't see any production. LaPaz was very nice and worth the visit. A wide variety of birds, butterly exhibits, and waterfalls were beautiful. Poas is not a definite see due to the weather.

  • Liked — comfortable bed
  • Disliked — noise at night from neighboring animals and people
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank flgafl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherrylvalentine, Owner at Vina Romantica, responded to this review, 18 January 2009
Yes, I agree. Please do read carefully our cancellation policy on our website and the policy included in every reservation confirmation. I am very understanding when I can be. This family of 4 had reservations for 2 rooms for 4 nights during the week from Christmas to New Years the height of the high season. Vina Romantica was fully booked every night and we were unable to offer any refund when they got here and decided they wanted to share 1 room and cancel the other room. However, I did offer to refund their money if I could rent the room. Also, I only charged them the cancellation rate for the least expensive room ($85 per night) instead of the $110 per night for the room they booked. I believe I was generous under the circumstances.

What the reviewer failed to tell you about the taxi driver that took them to Doka Coffee Estates is that the driver took 4 of them to Doka (20 minutes away) waited for 1.5 hours for them to take the tour and drove them back. I receive no commissions or payment for assisting with transportation needs. It is a gift to our clients.

Her review seems to place a high priority on cab drivers/waiters/ and others who speak English. This is a Spanish speaking country. Travelers who bring language tools with them are better prepared to deal with those who only speak the native tongue.

I offer my sincere condolences that there was not much this reviewer liked about our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.3 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#13 of 27 in Alajuela
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel el Tucan
Hotel el Tucan
#44 of 58 in Alajuela
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pacande
Hotel Pacande
#4 of 58 in Alajuela
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bamboo Aparthotel
Bamboo Aparthotel
#7 of 40 in Alajuela
11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Paradise Alajuela
Hotel Paradise Alajuela
#31 of 58 in Alajuela
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santamaria
Hotel Santamaria
#17 of 58 in Alajuela
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vina Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vina Romantica

Property: Vina Romantica
Address: Metres Sur de Hotel Buena Vista 50 | Las Pilas de San Isidro, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vina Romantica 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vina Romantica is located just 5 kilometers from the International Airport. We are located in a tiny rural village at an altitude of 4200 feet. It is tranquil and the views of the volcanoes are magnificient. We are on the road to many of the tourist attractions that can be seen in one day. There are many very good restaurants in the area. You can relax and enjoy the true Costa Rican life style while staying at Vina Romantica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vina Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vina Romantica Alajuela
Vina Romantica Hotel Alajuela
Vina Romantica Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing