We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice end to a wonderful trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Los Volcanes B&B
Ranked #2 of 58 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice end to a wonderful trip!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my brief stay here at the end of my trip to Costa Rica. I had previously stayed at a less than comfortable hotel in San Jose on one leg of my journey, and wasn't sure what to expect here. I arrived in the evening after a long bus ride. I was taken to a cozy room with a private bathroom. It was in a separate building to the left of the main building. It was simple but quite lovely and comfortable. The guy at the reception desk was pleasant and helpful. Twice the wifi wasn't working and he fixed it quickly. I missed breakfast but appreciated the shuttle to the airport. I definitely recommend this hotel as a place to stay when arriving to or leaving the San Jose airport.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    129
    33
    9
    13
See reviews for
62
147
51
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I chose Hotel Los Volcanes for its price and convenience. At only 35$ for a standard room, AND includes a taxi ride to the airport, it was perfect for my last night in Costa Rica. The staff was incredibly helpful, and the receptionist was very kind and friendly. He showed me the nearest good places to eat dinner. (Cevi-chitos is a great cheap place for good ceviche/potatoes/fast food/and fresh fruit drinks). I was most impressed with how kindly the staff at Los Volcanes catered to me leaving early. They arranged the cab pick up for me, and even though breakfast doesnt officially start until past 7, they new I was leaving after 6am and the receptionist himself kindly prepared me granola, yogurt, and fresh fruit with toast so that I wouldnt leave on an empty stomach before the kitchen opened. Great service, rooms were comfortable, and for what I needed as a solo female traveler, it was PERFECT. =]

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We arrived at 11am from Manuel Antonio. It was clear that rooms were available, however we were turned away and asked to return at 2pm. When we returned, we were asked to wait an extra half an hour for a room. They took us past the empty rooms in the main house to an adjoining property , where the rooms were still being cleaned. The room we were presented with had a full bed and a rollaway, on the floor. The roof had an opening to the sky, an unfinished skylight. In addition, this room shared an outside bathroom with two other rooms.

We had reserved a room with two beds and private bathroom.

The duty person explained that the hotel was full, and the empty rooms in the main house were reserved for a group of Americans that were arriving later that day.

As we complained to this person, the cleaning lady told him that there were indeed rooms available in the main house. He told her in Spanish to be quiet, dismissing her comments.

At last we got a room in the main house, as reserved.

We went out for a bite, and as we returned to the room we were overtaken by a strong smell of feaces in our room.

To add insult to injury, one of us was charged for the ride to the airport, even though we were told they ride was included in the room rate.

A very sad end to a wonderful vacation.

I do not recommend this hotel for people of color. Their bias and abusive treatment is shameful and in stark contrast to every other hotel where we staid.
We book the entire trip with Anywhere Costa Rica and there service was excellent. This is a dark spot on the hard working folks from Anywhere Costa Rica who were so polite and professional.

Pat Harvey

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sal67, Owner at Hotel Los Volcanes B&B, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
I went though your all review , and respectfully I will have to say you review is not precise.

First of all as all hotels in the world our check- in time is at 2:00pm , and it was true we were expecting a group that did a reservation with us since the beginning of the year so the room you saw ready were already assigned to the group.

Thats just operational issues not racism.

You were taken not to an unfinish room and actually the ceilling has an open gap for natural lighting and ventilation, and the bathroom you though wasn`t shared .

Regarding the complimentary taxi service, we provided one service per room and in your case you and your friend were flying in different flights so you needed to taxis so one meant to be charge but anyway we never charged it, by the other side you just yell the taxi driver at the airport.



Anyway , what hurt me the more is the fact you don`t reccommend the hotel for color people and thats just show me you are the one who have a racist problem.

Sincere apologies, If our receptionist in shift does not speak fluent english , he is a part of a city programm to incorporte third age people with capabilities to job market , and he is precisely one of those doing few our weekly.

We could guarrantee that here in Los Volcanes , we do not see people by their color, or preferences,we believe in just one united world.

Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I selected this hotel for its price and location. We were arriving late and needed a safe, clean but modest place to rest before our 5:50 am pickup. The hotel served that purpose.

The young man who greeted us got his job done but displayed no warmth or smile. I thought it was because of the late hour but he was even more aloof in the morning. We left too early for breakfast and learned we couldn't even get coffee, which was understandable but disappointing.

The room was adequate size but very tiny bathroom with no water cup. The high wooden ceiling was gorgeous and reflective of the elegant construction of times past.

Our room was in front so we couldn't avoid hallway or outdoor noise.

Overall, it was okay for a brief stay but a bit pricey by local comparative standards.

Room Tip: Ask for rear, more quiet location if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Charming, quaint, convenient. This small hotel is conveniently located in downtown Alajuela, a few minutes from the airport. It is an historic building converted tastefully, with helpful English-speaking staff. They serve a delicious breakfast to order, and a free ride to the airport is included in the very reasonable price. Nearby are a good restaurant (Monteleones), a pizza joint, and a little further away, fast food. Very pleasant and comfortable.

Room Tip: Be prepared to pay in cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We travel from Australia to CR every year (when possible). We stay at Hotel Los Volcanes upon arrival (two nights) and before we fly out (two nights).
Don't stay just one night ... this whole area deserves more ...
There are great restaurants, bars and cafes within EASY walking distance from the B&B.
The rooms are spotless, you have a room safe and brekky is served in a very Costa Rican garden.
The cabs at the airport know the place ... and it is close the the markets and beautiful church.
(not that it matters ... BUT ... the hairdresser a few doors up is FABULOUS! George!)

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back ... quieter ... but all rooms are individual and lovely x
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Very reasonable price for what you get. The location is great, very close to restaurants and shops yet only 15 minutes taxi ride to the airport. The hotel was friendly and very clean. Breakfast included and you are served in a quiet courtyard with a choice of freshly made breakfast dishes.

Helpful staff. Free transfer to the airport (although they do not pick up).

What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: The superior rooms are just a little more expensive and worth paying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyloo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
662 reviews
0.1 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#13 of 27 in Alajuela
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
2.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
846 reviews
5.3 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Volcanes B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Volcanes B&B

Property: Hotel Los Volcanes B&B
Address: Streets 2nd & Central Avenue 3rd | Behind the Alajuela Museum, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former mansion converted into a nice little hotel just five minutes from the international Juan Sta Maria airport in San Jose Costa Rica. Convenient location in Alajuela city, includes free taxi from the hotel to the airport, full breakfast, free wireless and access to internet, friendly atmosphere Costarican management. Nice tropical decoration with beautiful gardens, a true oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Los Volcanes B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Volcanes Alajuela
Hotel Los Volcanes Bed And Breakfast
Hotel Los Volcanes B&B Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing