We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arilapa is a paradise by the river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arilapa Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #42 of 61 Alajuela B&B and Inns
michigan
1 review
“Arilapa is a paradise by the river”
Reviewed 12 February 2010

This is my third stay at Arilapa and it just keeps getting better. This place is truly a paradise. Each year there have been upgrades to make the place and even better stay. The rooms are always clean and if a person needs something more they only need to ask. The owners always try to make each person feels as though Arilapa is their home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cribbeanqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    8
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
4
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tripoli, Libya
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2010

The owner seems more interested in cooking dinner than caring for the guests. We had an early morning flight and they were unwilling to provide any kind of breakfast. Their web site promises free airport dropoff and pickup but we had to pay for a taxi both coming and going to the airport. The place had an air of neglect, with missing bulbs in the light fixtures and a poorly-lit hallway that could cause a guest to tumble down the stairs on the way to the bathroom. Setting was nice but web site description is filled with exageration.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lepista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2009

I went to Arilapa straight from the airport when I arrived. It is a wonderful, tranquil, and beautiful place to stay. The owners are very friendly and if you are lucky the owner's brother, who is an amazing chef, will be there to cook a gourmet meal for you. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megancita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2009

A gorgeous location in the mountains just north of the city. Easy to reach via the road to Poas. The owners are helpful and friendly. The rooms are really lovely and the sound to the river in back is a great lullaby. The rooms in the building closer to the river are the nicest with private balconies and a shared bath. Highly recommended - perfect for staying in Alajuela near the airport and still feeling like you're in the lush Costa Rican countryside.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kg123Wyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santamaria
Hotel Santamaria
#17 of 61 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vina Romantica
Vina Romantica
#44 of 61 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel el Tucan
Hotel el Tucan
#48 of 61 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Paradise Alajuela
Hotel Paradise Alajuela
#32 of 61 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bamboo Aparthotel
Bamboo Aparthotel
#7 of 40 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arilapa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arilapa Bed & Breakfast

Property: Arilapa Bed & Breakfast
Address: Imas 2, Itiquis, Alajuela 50038, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 10 minutes away from Juan Santamaria Airport and 25km south of Poas Volcano exists a beautiful Orange grove that borders Itiquis river and is home to over 175 different species of birds and dozens of different species of butterflies, this villa is called Arilapa. Arilapa is a great place to start and end your vacation in Costa Rica, its lush vegetation, the river, and the waterfall are the best ways to be greeted in this beautiful country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Arilapa Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arilapa Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing