We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arilapa Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$137
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Rosa de America(Alajuela)
US$82
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Robledal(Alajuela)
US$98
US$95
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
14
9
3
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
9
3
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Gorgeously landscaped grounds, incredibly clean facility, a hilariously funny host with a doll of a wife and children, in authentic costa rica style decorated rooms and bulidings, makes this the most ideal place to stay coming in /out of San Jose, without actually staying in San Jose. An incredible value to boot. Just make sure you get good directions - it's not right in town. Better yet, just follow brown signs to Poas Volcano, and know when to make a right hand turn. We'll be back - next time with our 5 children to rent the whole house to ourselves and let the kids run the grounds. Owner also has his own line of genuine hand made brand of FROGS sandles - pick yourself up a pair. They are very nice. The best part of the grounds is the absolutely beautiful sounds of the roaring river going through the property. Try for a room near it and you'll sleep like a baby.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrossRoads43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

i stayed at arilapa at the start and end of my 15 day stay and found the owners happy and helpful. i got to arilapa stressed out from some bad experiences i had in Peru 3 days by the river and the beautiful gardens soon had me back on track. would recommend arilapa to everyone for it's laid back relaxing vibe

Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
Thank darwin000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here because we flew in late and had an early flight out. If we knew how great it would be we would have stayed longer! Their website doesn't do them justice...We loved the owners, the dogs (if you like dogs-there are about 7 that sit on the couch with you and run around etc. feels like home!), and Santi, you are the best chef! We arrived late and he still prepared an amazing steak and curry dish for us. His french toast was out of this world! He went to the culinary institute... his practice definitely paid off!! We will go back for sure! Thanks to all of you!

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelTimeForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

This is my third stay at Arilapa and it just keeps getting better. This place is truly a paradise. Each year there have been upgrades to make the place and even better stay. The rooms are always clean and if a person needs something more they only need to ask. The owners always try to make each person feels as though Arilapa is their home away from home.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cribbeanqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

The owner seems more interested in cooking dinner than caring for the guests. We had an early morning flight and they were unwilling to provide any kind of breakfast. Their web site promises free airport dropoff and pickup but we had to pay for a taxi both coming and going to the airport. The place had an air of neglect, with missing bulbs in the light fixtures and a poorly-lit hallway that could cause a guest to tumble down the stairs on the way to the bathroom. Setting was nice but web site description is filled with exageration.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lepista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews