We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Robledal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Robledal
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Healy, Alaska
1 review
“amazing service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Our stay at hotel Robledal was very nice. we stayed there upon our arrival and departure to Costa Rica, and they were extremely helpful getting us to and from the airport. The staff was very friendly and helpful! definitely would suggest it!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank molly646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    78
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
89
105
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

We were a group of 3 families with teenagers, stayed 4 nights in this great hotel during our 2 weeks vacation in Costa Rica. The hotel is friendly and nice .Its not Holiday Inn but more like small hotel near a farm. Very close to airport. Great breakfast. Very convenient due to free transfers to and/ from airport . Car rental company (SIXT) pick up/drop off cars at hotel.
Kids used the pool. The staff was very helpfull with other services we asked for as Pizza delivery ,special requests at meal and other transfers.
The rooms are large . The beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank efrat59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

ONE BIG PROBLEM

I cannot, in good conscience, recommend this hotel until I hear about some changes. We recently stayed at Hotel Robledal. The family who runs the hotel seems lovely and the staff go out of their way to help. Upon our arrival, our cab driver drove us behind the hotel rooms to turn around in the driveway. Behind a broken washing machine and a pile of junk, with a cement block wall as one wall, there was a large dog tied to a chain in a 1 metre square fenced-in area. When I asked about him, I was told he was the family ‘guard dog’. Unfortunately, he is hidden away, undetected by tourists. He watches from a distance, forlornly, as his family comes and goes, once in a while, to access the backyard.
Besides food, water and shelter, a dog needs space, companionship, a sense of family (pack of dogs or humans) and exercise, none of which this poor dog was getting. There is no reason why he couldn’t be running around free on the hotel grounds, which are fenced in by chain link anyway. Unfortunately this seems to be an accepted form of torture in much of Costa Rica.
Until I hear of a proper security system, where a live animal is not used, I cannot recommend Hotel Robledal to those who have a conscience and think they can make a difference. It was heartbreaking, to say the least, and has left my memory of San Jose a sad one.

Room Tip: Ask about the dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 13Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robledal_Manager, Propietario at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Dear Guest

We really appreciate the time you took to email us and provide some critics that help us to grow up. I am really sorry if your stay at our hotel was not a good experience for you.

However I would like to say on our behalf your comments are based on simple assumptions:
Yes we do have a "pile a junk" and equipment in the back side of the hotel and yes we have a Rottweiler dog that belongs to the family not to the hotel.

What you do not know is than the pile of junk consists in plastic bottles, glass bottles and cans that are waiting to be recycled. Due some remodel works we are doing in the hotel, this recycled material is not in the right place; however this is a restricted area. There is no reason why you should be in this area.

We do a big effort every day to cooperate with nature and bring new ideas to help us to obtain sustainable tourism certifications. As you can see in the hotel, we take care of nature and other animals as birds and squirrels.

The dog is a 10 years old pet who has been in the family since was a puppy. Besides shelter, water and food, “Black” is taken for a walk twice every single day for someone from the family, in a 10.000 square meters property at the back side of the hotel. He is a great health condition even for his age. Actually we do have many pictures of him and the love we provide him. We will post some picture for you on Facebook. Maybe you did not spend enough time with us to see this.

"Black" is not our security guard it is our pet and we have not take him to other place because he was born and raised on this property, take him out will be very sad for him. However he has been a great companion and a great keeper of our family.

A dog of this size and breed can not be around the hotel, even when there are a lot of guest who will love him there are many of them who wont like dogs.

Our hotel it is very secure and for the last 10 years our hotel never had a bad experience in this matter, even when people leave surf boards and belongings in their cars on the parking lot.
Anyway, we will love you come back and can see all the remodel work that we are working.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

Lovely clean basic rooms. An outdoor pool. Excellent food in a lovely open air garden setting. Service with a smile. The staff are very happy to help you- even for a 4 am airport transfer. Includes breakfast- a lovely plate of fruit and more.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toucan_Osa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

We stayed at Hotel Robledal on the first and last night of our two week trip and would go back without hesitation. The hotel is clean, safe, and the pool is lovely. The breakfast was excellent and they even packed a light breakfast for us on our last visit as we had to catch an early flight. We also ate dinner which was very good and resonabely priced, I had the snapper, my husband had the beef tenderloin and the kids had chicken strips, all excellent! The family that owns and operates this hotel are very nice, and incredibly helpful. They took my husband back to the car rental place the night before and waited for him for an hour. The other things I like about Hotel Robledal is that it is a family business with great service, it is close to the airport and you feel very safe and secure there. You can not go wrong with booking this hotel, we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris4446154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
809 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

We stayed at Robledal at the beginning and end of our trip and were not disappointed.The family is friendly as stated and generous with their time. Their shuttle service to and from the airport and from the Car rental agency was so very helpful. Considering wtih varying schedules, this saved us about $60-75 in taxis.

The pool was sparkling and the breakfasts tasty and filling. Coffee of course was great.

The Beds in the rooms were a little hard and being close to the airport you do get some early morning flight noise, but I assume the hotels closer to this are worse. Actually, I enjoyed watching the comings and goings of the planes from my balcony.

They serve dinner at night 6-8 with only four choices, beef, fish, chicken or pork. they come with rice and vegetables and cost about$12 each. We had the fish two nights and it was expertly prepared as were the vegetables. If you want something different like seafood they will direct you to a El Cervicito, about a 12 minute walk back towards the airport. They said they give you lots of food and they weren't kidding. The rice with shrimp dish only comes in one size and will easily feed for about $11. They don't serve beer though.

when I come back to CR, I will most definitly stay at Hotel Robledal, particularly if you are travelling to the pacific with such easy access to route 1 and the new freeway to orotina.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tfizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, IL
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

We have stayed at the Robledal twice and will do so again. It is the perfect place on your first night in or last night out....when you need to be close to the airport. The service is terrific. The food is wonderful. The bar is stocked. The rooms are spotless.The grounds are beautiful. The family who run the hotel is friendly, helpful, and accessible and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank halandanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.9 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
3.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
1.1 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Robledal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robledal

Property: Hotel Robledal
Address: Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble 400, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Robledal 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well-situated 15-room hotel is located only three and a half miles away from Costa Rica's main airport, with free shuttle service to accommodate to all flight patterns. Our transportation service reach most of the rental car return offices, and the easy access to the Inter-American Highway makes the Hotel Robledal the perfect stop for travelers exploring Costa Rica’s beaches and national parks or doing business at the nearby free trade areas. Our complimentary breakfast includes the best selection of fresh fruit and costarican coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Robledal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Robledal Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing