We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place near airport”
Review of Hotel Robledal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Robledal
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed at 4 different hotels during our 9 nights in Costa Rica. They were all in the $60-$90 range. Hotel Robledal was the best one. The location is convenient to San Jose airport. We stayed 2 nights (27-28th May) and we were very pleased.

First, the property: it is very nice, spacious and kept immaculate.
Second, the room: we stayed in room 12, it was spacious and they were the best beds we had during out stay in Costa Rica.
Third, the breakfast: best Costa Rican breakfast we had during out trip; fruit, bread, coffee, juice, mild. Gallo Pinto was excellent and very tasty.
Fourth, the staff: place is run by the owners (sorry, names escape me) and their 2 sons. The go way out to make you feel welcome.
Fifth, location: great if you want to explore Volcan Poas area, including La Paz waterfalls, Zoo Ave and Mariposario. And close to the airport.

Property is located on Hwy 124 just past the town of El Roble, excellent public transportation to Alajuela and close to the airport (I think they provide transportation, I did not use it since I had a rental car). The street in front of the property has a lot of traffic, but that's Costa Rica.

For us it was great because we wanted to see the surrounding towns. Just a few miles away is the new Hwy 27 that leads to the coast, so you about an hour from the Pacific Ocean.

Only problem, it was the only hotel we stayed in Costa Rica that did not have a small fridge in the room, it would have been nice to have one, but they allowed to put our stuff in the main fridge in the kitchen area.

Overall, the best hotel experience we had in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jet1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

Delightful vacation time in Costa Rica ! we started by a night at the Hotel Robledal after our arrival at SJO, had booked our room on line and emailed back and forth for practical details. Emmanuel came and picked us up at the airport and that made the 2 miles commute a breeze ! We rented a car the day after and drove back for our last night to Hotel Robledal, where the Toyota rent-a-car guy came to pick it up, after a call from the hotel.
We enjoyed greatly our two short stays at Robledal, people there are wonderful, the rooms are large, clean, comfortable and set in a beautiful garden with a great swimming pool. Food is available for all meals at the restaurant on the premises and it's all very good and fresh food.
We adored Hotel Robledal ! It is a great family business and we recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beautifulworld4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I went to Costa Rica with my daughter, then 15 months, and stayed at this hotel. They were SO helpful and friendly with me and my daughter. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, with or without kids. Also, the hotel is close to the airport, the breakfast is included and is very good! Excellent hotel!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaW916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The staff at this hotel was very good. The shuttle service was good and the hotel is very close to the new highway. They are fixing up the grounds and there is a nice little pool. Breakfast was very good.
The room unfortunately was very basic. My husband was quite surprised to find the hot water tap in the sink was not hooked up. The beds were very hard and the television did not have good reception. We were only there for one night and did not use the shower, it was not particularly inviting. Free wifi is available but we were not close enough to the main office to use in our room. There is no mini fridge.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retiredtraveller2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Hotel robledal is family owned and ran. Very clean and the people were great. We arrived very late at night and they were there to meet us at the airport. We spent two nights there before going to the coast. They arranged a city tour of San Jose for us and took us to where we were to meet the tour group. They spoke very good English and took time to visit with us. The only problem was not knowing how to operate the a/c and didn't figure out their was a remote for it until the next day. Food was very good. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

One bed was comfortable; the other was very hard. Room was stuffy, and also quite noisy with voices from the pool. The hot tub was not hot. No hot tap water.

Saving grace: the staff was extremely accomodating of our late arrival and need for a *very* early airport shuttle. Five stars for the staff!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stjarnisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Hotel Robledal is very convenient if you need to overnight near the San Jose airport. It is a safe, quiet and comfortable place to stay if you want to avoid going into San Jose. They offer easy reliable free airport transfer and it's only a 10 min drive to/from the airport. The rooms are clean, and nice. The breakfast (included) is excellent and their suppers are simple but delicious! the pool is a bonus as well. The hotel is run by a lovely family and they will go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. Emmanuel will tailor excursions for you if you have time - we went to Poas volcano and the Doka coffee plantation with him. He is a warm, friendly and knowledgeable guide. Sure the hotel is pretty isolated and there isn't really anywhere to walk to, but if all you need is the comfort and proximity to the SJO airport then this is your place, you won't find nicer hosts! We wanted to avoid the "big city" so this was perfect for us.

Room Tip: They're all quiet and nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robledal_Manager, Propietario at Hotel Robledal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you Susan for your nice comments..! We hope to have you back in the hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
675 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.9 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
5.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
872 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Robledal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robledal

Address: | 400 mts oeste de la Iglesia Catolica, El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: £60 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Robledal 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well-situated 15-room hotel is located only three and a half miles away from Costa Rica's main airport, with free shuttle service to accommodate to all flight patterns. Our transportation service reach most of the rental car return offices, and the easy access to the Inter-American Highway makes the Hotel Robledal the perfect stop for travelers exploring Costa Rica’s beaches and national parks or doing business at the nearby free trade areas. Our complimentary breakfast includes the best selection of fresh fruit and Costa Rican coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Robledal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Robledal Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing