We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful way to start and end our trip”
Review of Hotel Robledal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Robledal
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My son and I stayed at Hotel Robledal our first night in Costa Rica and then our last. This family and their staff are amazingly kind and their hotel is perfectly situated to launch and end a Costa Rica adventure if you are flying in and out of San Jose. It is top notch all the way around - the rooms, the service, the breakfast, the dinners, the shuttle. Getting there our first night, in the dark, with a rental car was quite an adventure - as you drive through the narrow motorcycle and bike filled dark bumpy streets past the factories, little shops and houses you may wonder "am I going the right way?" or as my son said at one point "Mom, were those Trip Advisor reviews from 8 years ago?". But then you see the beautiful hotel sign, pull in, and it is a slice of silent heaven after a day of travel. We got in late but they had put aside a couple of delicious salads for us and boy did that taste great. Then, the next day they assisted us in determining the best route to take up to Monterverde, including stops at the fruit stands along the new toll Highway 27 (this is a much better option that CI 1. After 2 1/2 weeks of travel Costa Rica it was great to know we would end our trip at Robledal, with their restaurant, shuttle, and friendly service. Just note, when you come back into Alajuela on Highway 27, follow Robledal's driving instructions! If you miss the exit, you'll find yourself taking a tour of San Jose, which on a Friday afternoon during rush hour shows you a wholel different side of Costa Rica (a whole other story)!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Robledal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

Hotel Robledal was a welcome oasis of calm and tranquillity after the hustle and bustle of Alajuela! We had decided to have a day and night of relaxation before flying back to the UK and could not have chosen a better place to do it. The hotel was spotlessly clean, with a small swimming pool, complete with little waterfall and the grounds are well maintained and very pretty. The room was large, with a king size bed and two singles (we had the last available room). It had a nice shower with plenty of hot water (although in common with most sinks in Costa Rica) only cold in wash basin. The room was very clean and the bed lining and hand towels pristine. An added bonus was the onsite restaurant (substantial breakfast included in price) where you could also have a really good evening meal (the fillet of Red Snapper was gorgeous). You can also have lunch if you fancy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and it helped that a lot could speak very good English!
We can really recommend this hotel as a stop when flying in or out of San Jose (only some 6km away) or even as a base to explore the immediate area. We are really glad to have used Trip Advisor to find this gem.

Room Tip: Book early as it is obviously popular! You may not want the extra beds! We did have very effective a...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robledal_Manager, Gerente at Hotel Robledal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Dear Lynda,

Thank you for your kind comments...! We hope to have you as our guest soon...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Room was spacious and clean with comfortable beds. Quiet location. One downside was bathroom light was broken so we had to have the very noisy light/fan combination on if we wanted light. We were assured it would be fixed the next day but were only staying the one night. The front desk staff was very friendly. Typical short stay hotel, very close to airport with airport transfer included. Located in a subdivision of Alajuela and gated.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trip_Reviewer194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My husband and I stayed for our last night before flying home at Hotel Robledal. The staff was some of the friendliest we had encountered on our trip to Costa Rica.
The food was a great price and more than delicious! We enjoyed an amazing lunch ( that local business workers also come to enjoy) a beautiful dinner and a wonderful breakfast the next morning (which was included)
We arrived early in the day and arranged with one of the family members running the hotel ( i feel horrible that i cant remember his name) to go to a local souvenir factory which was good. He was so awesome showing us around the grounds at the various flowers and plants. Very client oriented!
The room was very large and exceptionally clean! The beds a little hard, as we found all over Costa Rica.
We will be staying here again when we bring our kids in December. Excellent hotel that I can not recommend enough!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joiev98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My family of 5 stayed at Hotel Robledal on our last night of our 3rd trip to Costa Rica. We decided to avoid the chain hotels by the airport this time and patronize a local business. Unfortunately, we arrived later than we had expected but the owners of the hotel were waiting for us with a shuttle from the car rental agency. They also kept their restaurant open for us more than 2 hours past closing time so we were able to enjoy a wonderful meal in the open air restaurant. The next morning we had to leave very early to catch our plane and our driver was smiling as he drove the short distance to the airport. He even gave us each a breakfast to go so we had something to eat at the airport!
The flowers and grounds were immaculate and we felt like we were in a private oasis in the city!
We will definitely stay at Hotel Robledal again! I wish every hotel was as service oriented as this!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We enjoyed two nights at the hotel at the start of our vacation in January. The three brothers who run the Robledal are very friendly and helpful. By chance, we found out the Emanuel is a skilled birdwatcher and he walked us around the property looking for birds of interest. The following day we took an excellent personalized three hour birding outing with him to the local countryside. He proved to be a very good guide with a lot of knowledge of the birds and their habitats. Emanuel also offers an day tour to Poas Volcano.

The hotel features an "executive lunch", for about $8.00. It includes very generous servings of your choice of meat, and well prepared rice, beans, and salad. A tasty fruit drink and dessert are included. It is a favorite lunch stop of the local business community.

This is a nice place to stay when you want to be close to the airport. There is some air traffic noise, but it is quiet at night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank btowhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two days upon our arrival in Costa Rica in December 2012 and for one day in January 2013 just before we flew home. It is a very neat and clean family-run establishment close to the airport with a free shuttle both arriving and leaving. The staff are very friendly and answered any questions we had. Breakfast is included in the price and we also had dinner at the hotel which was very good. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool which is well maintained. As we didn't have a car it was a little awkward getting around the area although there is a bus to downtown Alajuela (not much of interest to see or do there though). However, with a car it would be an excellent base from which to explore. The staff could use a little training in making out the bill as we noticed some problems with the arithmetic. Overall, we were very happy with this hotel and would recommend it for staying in the area for a short time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
673 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.9 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
2.9 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
131 reviews
3.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Robledal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robledal

Address: | 400 mts oeste de la Iglesia Catolica, El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: £50 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Robledal 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well-situated 15-room hotel is located only three and a half miles away from Costa Rica's main airport, with free shuttle service to accommodate to all flight patterns. Our transportation service reach most of the rental car return offices, and the easy access to the Inter-American Highway makes the Hotel Robledal the perfect stop for travelers exploring Costa Rica’s beaches and national parks or doing business at the nearby free trade areas. Our complimentary breakfast includes the best selection of fresh fruit and Costa Rican coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Robledal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Robledal Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing