We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave away my reserved room- beware!”
Review of Hotel Robledal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Robledal
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Breckenridge, CO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gave away my reserved room- beware!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Place looked nice, but I can't really say, because they gave away my room! I made a reservation and paid a booking fee several months in advance. Then we showed up here at dinner time with our kids (ages 3, 5, 8 and 10), tired from our trip and ready to just check-in and eat. But guess what- they had a big group show up earlier in the day, so they decided to give away our room!
They sent us off to another hotel (Dos Pinos, I think), about 15 minutes away. Dos Pinos had no restaurant on site and was located on a busy road where we had traffic noise all night.
The receptionist at Dos Pinos said this happens frequently because Robledal frequently overbooks and sends people away. You can give Robledal a try- it sure looks nice, but be prepared to be turned away at the door!
As Jerry Seinfeld said- "Anyone can just take the reservation... It's HOLDING the reservation that is the important part!"

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robledal_Manager, Propietario at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hello Kent G.

We are very sorry we were not able to accommodate you and your family after a long day of travel. Unfortunately yes, we experienced a water supply problem last week in one of our two room buildings during our high season. This meant we could only accommodate some of our guests as we fixed the problem, while to take responsibility for the reservations we already had. We do NOT just "turn our guests back to the road"

In this situation we provided two different alternatives for something that was out of our hands. We decided to either refund our guests in cash OR help them to find a room in another same-standard-hotel in the area and pay for their room.

For those who had already made previous arrangements, we were also able to provide transportation or set arrangements with car returns or shuttle pick up.

We are aware how unpleasant this kind of situations can be, especially when traveling with small children, that is why we are making sure this will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    82
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
99
106
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Close to airport and town. Perfect pick-up service. Friendly staff. They have a nice backyard with all sorts of birds. Relaxing environment. All in all a very nice experience. Highly recomended for first nights in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallinago18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Not too bad but more expensive than some of the other - better hotels that we stayed at. The rooms were clean and spacious but could use some updating. The food was good. We expected more for the money we paid.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Perfect place to stay when you arrive late or fly out early from San Jose airport. They provide free shuttle to and from airport and it takes only 10 minutes. Staff are super friendly and helpful.

Rooms are ok and provide bare minimum. No safety vault. Our door did not close easily. Location is a bit remote from everything But is fine for a one night stay.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have lived in Costa Rica for 12 years and often need to stay at a hotel the night before I fly out of the country, since my home is 4 hours from the airport. I had heard of Hotel Robledal and decided to give it a try. I was THRILLED! The hotel, which is a very professionally family-run bed-and-breakfast is top-notch in comfort, convenience, and customer service. My 6-year old was thrilled that there was a small pool and garden to explore, and I was grateful for a quiet and good night's sleep - unusual when staying at a hotel close to the airport. Not only did I leave my car there for a week, they also offered to pick me up from the airport when we flew back to Costa Rica so that we could easily begin our travels back to Monteverde.
They do have a restaurant on site - we left too early to enjoy their full breakfast but appreciated having a substantial bag breakfast prepared for us. We did eat dinner the evening before, however. The quality was good but just note - the pricing was more expensive than I had anticipated. That said, if you don't have a car the convenience alone of not having to leave the property would be worth the extra you end up paying.
We will definitely consider Hotel Robledal for our future airport stays and will definitely recommend it to friends/family too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here our first night in Costa Rica and our last night. It's very convenient to the airport and the staff are helpful and knowledgeable. When we arrived after a long three days of river rafting, the kitchen had closed 10 minutes before, but they opened it up again to feed us a terrific dinner. It hit the spot.

The morning we left there was a large group of English bird watchers there. Before breakfast, they'd gone to the backyard and helped us spot all sorts of interesting birds, including a tiny owl.

Turns out this is a Tico owned place. The three young men who seemed to be in charge, looked similar to me and it turns out they are all brothers and their parents own the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at the hotel before and after taking a bus tour of the country. As everyone says the service to and from the airport is great. We had a relaxing stay both times. Everyone at this family owned hotel is so accommodating and helpful. The open air restaurant is wonderful. the rooms are nothing fancy but very clean, lots of nice places to sit and sun, read and relax. You won't be in the room much anyway. The downside is that there isn't much to do nearby, walking is OK, but watch for the traffic! We took the public bus into Alajuela city, very direct and cheap. We also did a tour with Emmanuel to Cartago, the original capital. Well worth it!

Room Tip: We stayed in both "blocks". The one storey block has the advantage of a nice porch and wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
662 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
301 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
5.6 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
844 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Robledal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robledal

Property: Hotel Robledal
Address: Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble 400, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Robledal 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well-situated 15-room hotel is located only three and a half miles away from Costa Rica's main airport, with free shuttle service to accommodate to all flight patterns. Our transportation service reach most of the rental car return offices, and the easy access to the Inter-American Highway makes the Hotel Robledal the perfect stop for travelers exploring Costa Rica’s beaches and national parks or doing business at the nearby free trade areas. Our complimentary breakfast includes the best selection of fresh fruit and Costa Rican coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Robledal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Robledal Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing