We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel information was misleading”
Review of Hotel Robledal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Robledal
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Hotel information was misleading”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Upon arrival, we discovered the hotel does not offer free shuttle service to accommodate all flights on the website. (Although they did have a cab ready for us early in the morning). The wi-fi was out of service, pool and hot tub were empty, and you cannot leave the hotel grounds without asking the staff to unlock the gate for you. Not too impressed with our stay :(

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andykay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robledal_Manager, Gerente at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello AndyKay11,

Thank you for taking some time to provide feedback! We appreciate all your comments.

In order to clarify your statement about our "Misleading information": The schedule for the shuttle service and pick up locations are both available in the "Shuttle Service" tab from our homepage, this information is also provided in our FAQ. So, more than "misleading" it could be "misreading". Anyways, we will make sure to have this information more visible and this way avoid misunderstandings to further guests.

In order to take advantage of our low season, we took two days to apply maintenance to our swimming pool, The water needed to be replaced and the title needed some cleaning. Thank you for point it out, this way we can let other people know we are working to have all our features as best as possible. There is no hotub in our hotel, only a small, round children's pool.

We keep our gate close as much as possible to provide privacy and security to our guests. But people can go in and out all the time. The front desk staff would only need to know when people would leave before the office is open. We highly recommend to our guests to set all this kind of details upon checking-in. It is very important to arrange the shuttle service for the following day, or if someone would show to pick up for a tour, or if having a car and going out around 4 a.m.

Best Regards,

Josue Guzman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    80
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
96
106
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Villa Grove, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

When we travel out of the country we don't like staying in large hotels. Three brothers own this small, friendly hotel that is surrounded by tropical trees and flowers. Outdoor dining made us feel like we were in the country even though we were close to the airport. Since there is nowhere to walk to and we didn't have our rental car yet, we ate both dinner and breakfast there. Very good food and nice setting. Small, clean room with a nice patio to sit out on. Pool area peaceful and serene. If you are a light sleeper be sure to pack earplugs because of early morning wakeup by rooster on neighboring property. It was a great place for us to hang out for 24 hours while we waited for our family to arrive the next day. The free shuttle pickup at the airport was much appreciated too. The complimentary hot breakfast was very good, eggs cooked to order.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kobe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robledal_Manager, Gerente at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Kobe43,

Thank you for your good comments! We appreciate when our guests take some time to write about their stay with us, that way we use feedback to improve our service.

There are some little shops (grocery store, clothing, bakery, pizza place,"sodas" etc) walking distance, in our community. Only that they are around 700 mts from the hotel so it is good 10 minutes walk, but you can see the neighborhood around. The advice for the ear plugs is very good, although the occasional noises are not loud it would be better for light sleepers, not only at our hotel, but at others (example beach hotels when are close to forest howlers monkeys can be loud at 4a.m.!)

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were collected by the hotel's own shuttle, after an exhaustingly long trip and quickly delivered to the small oasis of calm, which is the Robeldal.
Small, friendly and real, the hotel is quietly and efficiently run by the friendly resident family; an ideal alternative to an anonymous on-airport hotel.
The pool is idyllically beautiful and everything is very clean and well-organised.
The breakfast fresh and generous.
We highly recommend this hotel and would be delighted to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robledal_Manager, Gerente at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you Lizzie26!

Your comments are really nice, we are glad you had a good experience in our property.

We hope you can visit us again sometime soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed the night before flying out and the staff was great. The rooms were good and the grounds were beautiful. The surrounding area seemed a little sketchy so we just stayed in and ate dinner there...which was just fine. I would return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdhopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I don't usually stay in airport-area hotels, and I don't usually eat in hotel restaurants (on the assumption that with a ready-made customer base, the food tends to be mediocre and over-priced). But flying into CR near nightfall with my family & wanting an early start out of town the next day led us to Robledal, and we all felt it was a great choice, super convenient to both airport and highway. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for lodging near SJO.

Beautiful little pool, lovely landscaping, and surprisingly, more noise from birds than from planes. We'd decided to get our rental car the next day, so we took advantage of Robledal's free airport pickup service. Both our driver and the guy who checked us in were super friendly and helpful. When we arrived, our driver made a point of taking us to see some bats hanging in a tree near the driveway, and they then showed us around (offered to show us an owl mother & baby nesting in back yard--a sweet attempt, even though the birds decided not to cooperate just then).

Nobody was in their pretty outdoor dining area come dinner time, so we had some reservations about staying on premises for dinner, but some of us felt too exhausted to venture out, so we took the lazy way out & ate there. I can't remember what we ordered, but I believe we each ordered a different selection off the small menu & thought the food was very good & prices were fine (not cheap, but not insane). Our room was small but comfortable. We also had the pool to ourselves, delightful after a long day traveling.

Breakfast the next morning was also good. Found out the next day from another guest, poolside, that much of the hotel was then occupied by a group staying in town for church mission work who ate together off-site (maybe with locals from their sister church?), which explained why it had been so quiet at dinner.

Just a heads-up: Near the pool, there's a small round pool that must have been a jacuzzi in a former life, but which no longer functions as such. They definitely don't advertise a hot tub on their website, so my guess is that they don't plan to fix it. They keep it filled, so it could be a place to cool off on a hot day if the main pool were ever crowded, but just know not to get excited (as my family did briefly) when you see it, thinking you'll be spending the evening in a hot tub.

We slept well, though I would recommend packing earplugs if you're a light sleeper, since while the hotel itself was calm, the chickens on a neighboring property made a decent racket fairly early in the morning. (But I was the only one in my family who heard the middle of the night rooster.) Happily, it must be far enough off flight path that plane noise wasn't an issue.) One other note: I reserved through hotels.com and in future would book directly through hotel, which I later figured out would've saved me maybe $10 or 15 USD.

Room Tip: We were in a room with 3 beds in the cute building in the back, ground floor, just steps from the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kath529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robledal_Manager, Gerente at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you Kath529 for your great review!

We always appreciate feedback in order to improve our service. I only would like to clarify that the small round pool next to the swimming pool is a children´s pool. Because of the design it looks very much to a hot tub, but we built it so families with toddlers or children who not want to venture in the bigger swimming pool can play in it. We would think about the jacuzzi, it could be a nice add on ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel the day before we left Costa Rica in February. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The dinner was excellent and the breakfast that was included was good! We will recommend the hotel to our family and friends traveling to Costa Rica. The shuttle to the airport was also an added benefit. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High River
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I arrived at Hotel Robledal early. Our room was not ready when we arrived but the friendly staff made an effort to ready it as soon as possible. We ate two lunches and a dinner in the restaurant, all of which were very good. Our flight did not leave until 6 pm the next day and for a reasonable fee we were allowed to keep our room until 3 pm. We spent the morning totally enjoying the nice pool. I think it is the cleanest pool I have ever seen and in fact the entire property is extremely well kept. There was a nice sitting area just outside the rooms. While the rooms are small
It is only required for sleeping. I would definitely recommend for staying before a flight.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
2.9 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Robledal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robledal

Property: Hotel Robledal
Address: Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble 400, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Robledal 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well-situated 15-room hotel is located only three and a half miles away from Costa Rica's main airport, with free shuttle service to accommodate to all flight patterns. Our transportation service reach most of the rental car return offices, and the easy access to the Inter-American Highway makes the Hotel Robledal the perfect stop for travelers exploring Costa Rica’s beaches and national parks or doing business at the nearby free trade areas. Our complimentary breakfast includes the best selection of fresh fruit and costarican coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Robledal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Robledal Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing