We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for one night”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Robledal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Robledal
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good for one night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent our first night in Costa Rica here. Staff picked us up at the airport. It was middle of the afternoon and we hadn't had lunch. The kitchen at Hotel Robledal prepared a great meal for us - our first casados of the trip. The hotel grounds are beautiful. Our room, however, was tiny. It was very cramped for our family of 4. I assume from some other posts that they do have larger rooms.
The place was clean, the staff was friendly, the breakfast was good. My only complaint is the size of the room and that wifi was not working in the room so we had to go up to the dining area to get online.

Room Tip: If there are more than two people in your party, ask for one of the larger rooms (I assume they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afreil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robledal_Manager, Gerente at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hello Afreil,

Thank you for taking the time and provide this excellent feedback to us!

We probably had the hotel all booked for the night you stayed as we mostly provide larger rooms for families with 3-4 people. We are sorry that this and the wifi connection were the downsides on your visit. We are getting new routers so all our rooms have free wifi access.

We hope you visit CR sometime soon and include our property for either first or last night in the country.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    79
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
94
106
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

great location. awesome service. and everyone is nice. Amazingly nice. They picked us up at the airport, waiting there with a sign with our name on it. they drove us to a local restaurant and back. The breakfast in the morning was perfect. They literally could not have been more friendly. just loved it here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We have been there on our first nigth at costa rica. The place is clean, comfortable, the service is great, the brother, that own the place, doing great job developing there hotel. There "gallo pinto" is the best one we ate!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank erelb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Upon arrival, we discovered the hotel does not offer free shuttle service to accommodate all flights on the website. (Although they did have a cab ready for us early in the morning). The wi-fi was out of service, pool and hot tub were empty, and you cannot leave the hotel grounds without asking the staff to unlock the gate for you. Not too impressed with our stay :(

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andykay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robledal_Manager, Gerente at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello AndyKay11,

Thank you for taking some time to provide feedback! We appreciate all your comments.

In order to clarify your statement about our "Misleading information": The schedule for the shuttle service and pick up locations are both available in the "Shuttle Service" tab from our homepage, this information is also provided in our FAQ. So, more than "misleading" it could be "misreading". Anyways, we will make sure to have this information more visible and this way avoid misunderstandings to further guests.

In order to take advantage of our low season, we took two days to apply maintenance to our swimming pool, The water needed to be replaced and the title needed some cleaning. Thank you for point it out, this way we can let other people know we are working to have all our features as best as possible. There is no hotub in our hotel, only a small, round children's pool.

We keep our gate close as much as possible to provide privacy and security to our guests. But people can go in and out all the time. The front desk staff would only need to know when people would leave before the office is open. We highly recommend to our guests to set all this kind of details upon checking-in. It is very important to arrange the shuttle service for the following day, or if someone would show to pick up for a tour, or if having a car and going out around 4 a.m.

Best Regards,

Josue Guzman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Grove, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

When we travel out of the country we don't like staying in large hotels. Three brothers own this small, friendly hotel that is surrounded by tropical trees and flowers. Outdoor dining made us feel like we were in the country even though we were close to the airport. Since there is nowhere to walk to and we didn't have our rental car yet, we ate both dinner and breakfast there. Very good food and nice setting. Small, clean room with a nice patio to sit out on. Pool area peaceful and serene. If you are a light sleeper be sure to pack earplugs because of early morning wakeup by rooster on neighboring property. It was a great place for us to hang out for 24 hours while we waited for our family to arrive the next day. The free shuttle pickup at the airport was much appreciated too. The complimentary hot breakfast was very good, eggs cooked to order.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kobe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robledal_Manager, Gerente at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Kobe43,

Thank you for your good comments! We appreciate when our guests take some time to write about their stay with us, that way we use feedback to improve our service.

There are some little shops (grocery store, clothing, bakery, pizza place,"sodas" etc) walking distance, in our community. Only that they are around 700 mts from the hotel so it is good 10 minutes walk, but you can see the neighborhood around. The advice for the ear plugs is very good, although the occasional noises are not loud it would be better for light sleepers, not only at our hotel, but at others (example beach hotels when are close to forest howlers monkeys can be loud at 4a.m.!)

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were collected by the hotel's own shuttle, after an exhaustingly long trip and quickly delivered to the small oasis of calm, which is the Robeldal.
Small, friendly and real, the hotel is quietly and efficiently run by the friendly resident family; an ideal alternative to an anonymous on-airport hotel.
The pool is idyllically beautiful and everything is very clean and well-organised.
The breakfast fresh and generous.
We highly recommend this hotel and would be delighted to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robledal_Manager, Gerente at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you Lizzie26!

Your comments are really nice, we are glad you had a good experience in our property.

We hope you can visit us again sometime soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed the night before flying out and the staff was great. The rooms were good and the grounds were beautiful. The surrounding area seemed a little sketchy so we just stayed in and ate dinner there...which was just fine. I would return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdhopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
2.9 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Robledal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robledal

Property: Hotel Robledal
Address: Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble 400, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Robledal 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well-situated 15-room hotel is located only three and a half miles away from Costa Rica's main airport, with free shuttle service to accommodate to all flight patterns. Our transportation service reach most of the rental car return offices, and the easy access to the Inter-American Highway makes the Hotel Robledal the perfect stop for travelers exploring Costa Rica’s beaches and national parks or doing business at the nearby free trade areas. Our complimentary breakfast includes the best selection of fresh fruit and costarican coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Robledal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Robledal Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing