We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place by the airport”
Review of Hotel Robledal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Robledal
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here our first night in Costa Rica. We arrived with our 3 young children at 10:00 pm and it was nice to already have someone picking us up for free. The free breakfast was good but nothing special. The staff was very friendly, even taking us on a midnight tour of the gardens to look for wildlife since our children were so excited to be in Costa Rica. The rooms are cozy, but work perfect for arriving to or departing from the San Jose International Airport. We ended up booking for our last night in Costa Rica as well, and the staff was very accommodating in getting us to the airport by 4:15 am. They even packed some peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for us to eat at the airport. The grounds are well kept and pretty. The area is not a tourist area, so travelling to get food can be a little difficult, but not too bad.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregoryandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robledal_Manager, Gerente at Hotel Robledal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Gregory and Michelle,

Thank you for your comments! We hope to have you as our guests in futures visits to CR!

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Robledal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

I am very fortunate to have met Emmanuel, Josue and Lorenzo Guzman and to have had the experience at Robledal. The room was just what I needed after a bumpy flight from the US. Nice comfortable bed, ac and hot shower (soap, shampoo, conditioner supplied), hair dryer, free in-room wi-fi and flat screen TV with many channels to choose from. When the curtains are pulled all light is blocked and I slept soundly. The breakfast was wonderful - fresh fruit, fresh blended juice, cafe and of course the splendid gallo pinto, eggs and bread - or hot cakes. The restaurant if open-air and very relaxing. After breakfast I enjoyed a dip in the very clean pool with a waterfall that again was relaxing. After, I was given a tour from Emmanuel on the conservation efforts going on behind the hotel. I saw composting, recycling, owl houses, bat habitat, lovely birds, organic gardening (incorporating what they grow into the hotel restaurant menu), wetlands conservation program, and out front is a water filtration system. It means a lot to stay in a place with these conservation values in place. Hotel Robledal also has a meeting room for groups and a free shuttle service to and from the airport. I would consider staying at Robledal and bypass the San Jose area. Alejuela is a lovely place to visit with many fabulous tours nearby. I hope this review was helpful and that you too get to experience this quaint, family-run hotel as did I. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShirleyLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robledal_Manager, Gerente at Hotel Robledal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Shirley,

We really appreciate you took the time to write a review about our property and highlight our conservation practices. Thank you for your great comments, we hope to see you in future visits to CR.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent our first night in Costa Rica here. Staff picked us up at the airport. It was middle of the afternoon and we hadn't had lunch. The kitchen at Hotel Robledal prepared a great meal for us - our first casados of the trip. The hotel grounds are beautiful. Our room, however, was tiny. It was very cramped for our family of 4. I assume from some other posts that they do have larger rooms.
The place was clean, the staff was friendly, the breakfast was good. My only complaint is the size of the room and that wifi was not working in the room so we had to go up to the dining area to get online.

Room Tip: If there are more than two people in your party, ask for one of the larger rooms (I assume they have...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afreil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robledal_Manager, Gerente at Hotel Robledal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hello Afreil,

Thank you for taking the time and provide this excellent feedback to us!

We probably had the hotel all booked for the night you stayed as we mostly provide larger rooms for families with 3-4 people. We are sorry that this and the wifi connection were the downsides on your visit. We are getting new routers so all our rooms have free wifi access.

We hope you visit CR sometime soon and include our property for either first or last night in the country.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

great location. awesome service. and everyone is nice. Amazingly nice. They picked us up at the airport, waiting there with a sign with our name on it. they drove us to a local restaurant and back. The breakfast in the morning was perfect. They literally could not have been more friendly. just loved it here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We have been there on our first nigth at costa rica. The place is clean, comfortable, the service is great, the brother, that own the place, doing great job developing there hotel. There "gallo pinto" is the best one we ate!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank erelb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Upon arrival, we discovered the hotel does not offer free shuttle service to accommodate all flights on the website. (Although they did have a cab ready for us early in the morning). The wi-fi was out of service, pool and hot tub were empty, and you cannot leave the hotel grounds without asking the staff to unlock the gate for you. Not too impressed with our stay :(

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andykay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robledal_Manager, Gerente at Hotel Robledal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello AndyKay11,

Thank you for taking some time to provide feedback! We appreciate all your comments.

In order to clarify your statement about our "Misleading information": The schedule for the shuttle service and pick up locations are both available in the "Shuttle Service" tab from our homepage, this information is also provided in our FAQ. So, more than "misleading" it could be "misreading". Anyways, we will make sure to have this information more visible and this way avoid misunderstandings to further guests.

In order to take advantage of our low season, we took two days to apply maintenance to our swimming pool, The water needed to be replaced and the title needed some cleaning. Thank you for point it out, this way we can let other people know we are working to have all our features as best as possible. There is no hotub in our hotel, only a small, round children's pool.

We keep our gate close as much as possible to provide privacy and security to our guests. But people can go in and out all the time. The front desk staff would only need to know when people would leave before the office is open. We highly recommend to our guests to set all this kind of details upon checking-in. It is very important to arrange the shuttle service for the following day, or if someone would show to pick up for a tour, or if having a car and going out around 4 a.m.

Best Regards,

Josue Guzman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

When we travel out of the country we don't like staying in large hotels. Three brothers own this small, friendly hotel that is surrounded by tropical trees and flowers. Outdoor dining made us feel like we were in the country even though we were close to the airport. Since there is nowhere to walk to and we didn't have our rental car yet, we ate both dinner and breakfast there. Very good food and nice setting. Small, clean room with a nice patio to sit out on. Pool area peaceful and serene. If you are a light sleeper be sure to pack earplugs because of early morning wakeup by rooster on neighboring property. It was a great place for us to hang out for 24 hours while we waited for our family to arrive the next day. The free shuttle pickup at the airport was much appreciated too. The complimentary hot breakfast was very good, eggs cooked to order.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kobe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robledal_Manager, Gerente at Hotel Robledal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Kobe43,

Thank you for your good comments! We appreciate when our guests take some time to write about their stay with us, that way we use feedback to improve our service.

There are some little shops (grocery store, clothing, bakery, pizza place,"sodas" etc) walking distance, in our community. Only that they are around 700 mts from the hotel so it is good 10 minutes walk, but you can see the neighborhood around. The advice for the ear plugs is very good, although the occasional noises are not loud it would be better for light sleepers, not only at our hotel, but at others (example beach hotels when are close to forest howlers monkeys can be loud at 4a.m.!)

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
673 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.9 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 27 in Alajuela
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
2.9 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
131 reviews
3.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Robledal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robledal

Address: | 400 mts oeste de la Iglesia Catolica, El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: £50 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Robledal 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well-situated 15-room hotel is located only three and a half miles away from Costa Rica's main airport, with free shuttle service to accommodate to all flight patterns. Our transportation service reach most of the rental car return offices, and the easy access to the Inter-American Highway makes the Hotel Robledal the perfect stop for travelers exploring Costa Rica’s beaches and national parks or doing business at the nearby free trade areas. Our complimentary breakfast includes the best selection of fresh fruit and Costa Rican coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Robledal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Robledal Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing