We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria Inn
Ranked #7 of 58 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montgomery, Texas
1 review
“Last Minute Accommodations”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We went to Costa Rica with a group for a Spanish emersion experience. Unlike our companions, our original accommodations were not adequate and we had to find a place to stay. We found Santa Maria Inn and stayed there for 9 days. The room was big, clean and had airconditioning and hot water. There was a coffee pot in the room and if we needed anything all we had to do was dial "0". Breakfast was included and we enjoyed fresh fruit, eggs, cereal or whatever we wanted. The owners even took us one night to a restaurant so we didn't have to call a taxi. Everyone was friendly and very accommodating. They saved us. We enjoyed our stay with Sary and Arturo. We met others at the Inn who had been coming there for a number of years. Thanks for a wonderful visit. Linda & Harold

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santamariainn, Propietario at Hotel Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Hi, Harold and Linda:

Thanks for your coments. We are glad you came and stayed in our hotel. Santa Maria Inn is your house in Costa Rica.
Arturo, Sary and children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    51
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
32
48
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Prairie, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My family of 5 was well received, and we had a big room with enaugh place for all. In the morning, the breakfast of fruits and eggs was delicious and enjoyed by all. The place was well located near the airport, not too far from San Jose downtown. The area is nice and clean.

Room Tip: Call directly, friendly owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickLovesTrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santamariainn, Propietario at Hotel Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Hi, Patrick:

Thanks for your valuable comment. Santa Maria Inn is your home in Costa Rica. Greeting to your beautiful family.
Pura Vida,

Sary, Arturo and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We have stayed at this inn 3 times now either just coming in to Costa Rica or for our final night, because it is so close to the airport, but off and away from the noise of city. their free shuttle is perfect and the Internet worked well.We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GigiandGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santamariainn, Propietario at Hotel Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Hi, Gigi and Greg:

Thanks for your response ! Nice to meet you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stayed her with my parents on a short trip. The hosts organized tours to Poas, La Paz, and a Canopy run. The stay at this hotel was very nice and quiet in the evenings. Woke up everyday to a great breakfast and a plan to do something each day. The hosts and family were always available for any questions or help. We will come back here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyzCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2012

For the price of this hotel it is not worth it! We had a reservation and showed up at night and it took them about 10 minutes to open the door. The shower was freezing cold, no shampoo. The sink had no hot water and was spraying everywhere. The beds were not clean. The big window in our room had a huge street lamp shining into our room making it impossible to make the room dark. We asked for a wake up call at 4:45 but didn't receive one until 5:25. Breakfast was supposed to be included but there was no mention of it when we left early that morning. This hotel is not worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12345traveller123426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear guest,

We apologize for all the inconvenience that you went through your stay. We are revisiting our guest service and will improve it by taking your testimonials in consideration.
Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the night before our 6 am flight out of Costa Rica. We picked a wonderful place. Prefect for what we needed. It was clean, comfortable and they drove us to the airport at 4 am! We were really happy here.
It’s a great stop-over place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reblou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I returned with friends to SMI for the second time on a short 4 day stay. The hosts were great in organizing short trips which included zip line (canopy), Poas volcano, La Paz waterfalls, and Jaco. They even got us tickets for a soccer game. Very friendly staff with a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando_CSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
1.0 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#14 of 26 in Alajuela
259 reviews
2.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,412 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 26 in Alajuela
662 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#6 of 26 in Alajuela
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria Inn

Property: Hotel Santa Maria Inn
Address: NE From the Pacific Gas Station, Rio Segundo de Alajuela, Costa Rica 800 M, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Santa Maria Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Maria Inn located just 5 minutes away from the SJO international Airport will bring you a night full of rest and relax after or before taking a long flight. Our staff will bring you a great service with an important free airport shuttle, to and from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Maria Inn Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing