We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn
Ranked #10 of 58 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Laurence Harbor, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Highly recommend it!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I went with my husband and kids in November 2013 and was pleasantly surprised with the warmth and dedication of the owners/managers. We had only a few days there and they were very helpfull with suggestions of things to do/where to go.... The hotel has very nice Architecture and totally met my expectations. Food was great! I would definitely recommend it to families as well as solo travellers as we met a few people there, some alone and some with family. Can't wait to go again next year!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugenia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    79
    33
    10
    10
See reviews for
95
99
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have to say one of the BEST hotels we have stayed in Costa Rica. We are frequent travelers in this amazing country, we've stayed in many different places but, nothing like Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn. IT WAS EXCELLENT!!

The staff is amazing, number 1 in customer service. The food is amazing and the chef superb! the cleanliness of the rooms and facilities excellent.

Our family really enjoyed this place and be sure that we will be coming back soon.

Highly Recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piroca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Our Family arrived at the Trapp Family Inn after a long flight from the US. This so called Hotel was booked by our local agent. It looks nice from the outside (if you ignore the really dark and scary part of town in which it is located) but the rooms are not clean - the sheets (mind you, the beds had only sheets, no blankets) were stained, the floor - dirty, and the walls had spider webs all over. The water pressure in the shower was extremely low, and the temperature altered unexpectedly from cold to hot. Forget about washing your hair or having your kids agree to take a shower.
The breakfast was very poor and not child friendly - apart from a thin slice of watermelon - the rice and beans, raw scrambled egg and tiny toasts did not pass. Our family is far from being spoiled or picky - the standards for this place are as low as they can get...beware.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tipitul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Bad part off town, rooms are dirty noisey and no shampoo,,, we where told by the hotel staff not to carry our passport outside the hotel hmmmmm, no safe in the room, beds are sqiukey and old. We had to leave early and told coffee will wait us. None!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We arrived here very very late at night and they were there to open the gate and greet us as we arrived around 1230 in the morning. The inn is just 5 or 10 minutes from the airport, on the left side of the road if you are coming from that direction... about two minutes drive past the soccer field. You have to look carefully for the signage, there's a long driveway with a big gate at the end of it. when the gate opens, you drive into a beautiful hidden piece of paradise.

The gentleman that greeted us was very friendly and polite, he escorted us and our luggage to the room. He took our requested breakfast time and left us to our exhaustion and beds.

The room itself was clean with typical central American rustic charm. The beds were reasonably comfortable and the bathroom came with the usual amenities. Of note the slatted window above the shower opens to the hallway so you do hear the occasion sounds of folks drifting by. This is not the Holiday Inn so don't have those expectations. You also need to remember that this is the tropics.. there are ants and lizards... they like to visit :)

In the morning we got up at our leisure and wandered over to breakfast. The coffee was hot and breakfast was tasty. The waiter that served our meal was very attentive to our needs.

After breakfast we took some time to wander around the beautiful property. So many lovely flowers and fruit trees. There is a pool on the property but we did not make use of it.

The checkout process was smooth and again so friendly. The Folks that manage this place are wonderful.

We only spent the one night here on our way into Costa Rica and I would absolutely stay there again. The service was great and it's always my preference to stay at local treasures vs big chains.

Room Tip: I sincerely doubt there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The drive to this hotel did not prepare me for how attractive the setting actually is. It is an oasis in the midst of an industrial area, and very close to the airport. From the property, however, you see only the flowers and trees.

The couple who ran it were charming, the Spanish architecture and heavy furniture reminded me of Antigua, Guatemala, and the food was good (although not inexpensive).

Unlike another guest, I had no problem with my shower. There was an older, but serviceable, computer available for guest use.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poconot4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was an excellent place to start and end our two-week trip in Costa Rica. It's very close to the airport, but doesn't feel close at all. We did hear some planes passing overhead, but nothing like I thought we might given how close we were to the airport. The grounds are lush and the atmosphere is peaceful. We were there with our two kids 4 and 6 and they loved the pool (though it was a bit too chilly for me). The staff is so helpful and accommodating. We will definitely stay here again if and when we return to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
301 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
662 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn

Property: Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn
Address: Meters West From the Soccer Field 400 | San Antonio Del Tejar, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trapp Family Country Inn is located only 1 mile from Juan Santamaria International Airport. We offer comfortable accomodations along with genuine family service in a peaceful atmosphere. This colonial style hotel is surrounded by beautiful gardens with centenary fig trees. From the private balcony of your room, in the terraze or by the pool, you will enjoy nature and relax with the musical sound of the birds. A true oasis in the middle of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Trapp Family Country Alajuela
Country Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Country Inn
Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing