We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn
Ranked #10 of 60 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at this place upon our arrival in Costa Rica. We got there just after dark which was a little tricky in finding. (Be SURE to get a GPS! There are no such things as addresses in the whole country, only names of establishments and/or descriptors. Yikes!) As directed, we left the main road and ventured down a dirt path of about 50-100 meters, scratching our heads and saying "uh, oh." At the end, there was a sign with an arrow for the Trapp Family Inn, and a little security shack-type abode that looked a bit ominous. We were immediately met by a young man who checked our name on the reservation list, after which he opened the gate and directed us inside. Rounding the bend in our rented little SUV (unless you are, perhaps, staying right in San Jose, a 4-wheel drive is a MUST in this country, trust me!!!), we were simply relieved and positively delighted at the sight before us. Gorgeous!

There are two buildings, both in classic/romantic Latin American style: one housed the reception area and the restaurant, as well as a couple other very attractive sitting spaces, the other housed eight sleeping rooms, each with a balcony that overlooked a small, clean swimming pool. (We normally avoid having a room that looks onto a hotel's pool, but this one actually melded beautifully into the graceful tropical landscaping.) Another young man appeared and both fellows carried our luggage upstairs. Our room was large and wonderful. Two sets of doors opened onto our balcony. The grounds were handsomely lighted and the whole scene really delighted us.

We were beyond hungry after traveling all day. We dined in the open air veranda of the restaurant on a table set with linen and silver. The wine selection was limited but adequate. Our waiter (one of the young men who helped us with the bags) was most attentive and courteous. (I'm annoyed with myself for forgetting his name, because I want to compliment him here on his good care. Could it have been Alejandro?) Monica (who normally does the reception, I believe) prepared our dinner and breakfast, in the absence of the regular chef who apparently had to call off ill. I had some sort of chicken breast with lemon sauce which was quite good, and I ordered some chimichurri sauce to add to my rice. Brilliant! My husband had a rib eye which was quite different than what one would get at home; just saying that as a heads up. Monica did a fine job (cooked us breakfast, too), and the setting and service were conducive to a lovely evening and a comfortable stay.

Other reviewers have described this place well, so we won't add to that.

Sorry we didn't have more time to explore the grounds and lounge by the pool. Looked so tempting. We were eager to relax, and this would have been a perfect place to do it. Very quiet and peaceful. But we needed to get on with the game plan!

We would definitely recommend this place, and suggest that you give yourself ample time to enjoy should you decide to stop in here.

Room Tip: There were no chairs in the room, and the two on the balcony were too large to drag into the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukiah17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    79
    34
    10
    10
See reviews for
95
100
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Our Family of six just returned from our vacation in Costa Rica. We stayed at 2 different houses, 1 Condo and the Trapp Family Inn. Of all the places we stayed I would have to say that the Hotel Trapp felt more like home than anywhere we stayed. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to family or friends alike. If you visit you will definitely meet Karen, one of the most charming people we met on our travels. She will make you feel like you are a welcome addition to her home.
The location in a bit hidden in the local neighborhood but once you enter the gates you will
feel at peace. It is very close to the airport, probably 4 minutes by car, but planes did not bother me or my family a bit. The hotel is styled in authentic Spanish type architecture, on both the inside and out. There are fruit trees on the property that we were allowed to pick from to aid us in our travels.
The only thing it would suggest they do different is re caulk a couple areas in the tub/ shower. Seriously, that is all I would recommend. We loved the place. The Typical style
Tico breakfast we were served was great and the hospitality was without bounds. Karen even saved us a taxi charge by making the effort to call the rental car company for us to come pick us up. Was not anything i had even thought of but they came no problem.
Thanks for a great stay and a fabulous start to our trip.

Room Tip: We got 2 rooms and they were both comparable in quality, small boutique hotel, you can't go wron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltolive2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

What a surprise after our cruise we spent one night here and came in early enough to enjoy this gorgeous property. Minutes from the airport you arrive at a tropical delight.

Gorgeous colonial building with eight huge rooms overlooking a beautiful garden and stunning pool. We asked for a little lunch and got the best burritos ever all home made and delish.
Dinner was a treat pasta pomodoro rib eye with chimichurri sauce and great dessert. A nice glass
Of Cabernet Sauvignon from chile.

Breakfast was included and was huge. Eggs fruit toast fried bananas and great coffee. Even
The jam was homemade pineapple and papaya made with fresh fruit. Yum.

Transport to and from airport is complimentary as well.

The owner and his wife are great and super accommodating as was the staff.

Cannot say enough for this hideaway.

Larry and doro napa ca.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses Lake, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

When we finally arrived here, we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were large and comfortable. Restaurant is outside on a lovely patio area as was very adequate - typical Costa Rican breakfast which we enjoy when visiting Costa Rica. Staff were extremely helpful and when I got sick they were above and beyond the call of duty in helping me find the help that I needed. I would stay here again. The only drawback was the distance a bit far for visiting Alajuela or San Jose. It was close to an excellent Souvenir Shop - be sure to go to Souvenirs Y Muebles Chanto. Their prices are excellent and so is their staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Costa Rica late in the afternoon so we had arranged to stay at this hotel as it is close to the airport.
We were greeted by the staff who were very helpful and friendly.
We ate at the hotel on the night we stayed and the food was very nice, although we were probably too tired from a day's travel to fully appreciate it.
The lady on reception was extremely helpful in scanning a document over to our travel company as there was a bit of a mix up with our luggage.
Very nice place to stop over.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Duffer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence Harbor, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I went with my husband and kids in November 2013 and was pleasantly surprised with the warmth and dedication of the owners/managers. We had only a few days there and they were very helpfull with suggestions of things to do/where to go.... The hotel has very nice Architecture and totally met my expectations. Food was great! I would definitely recommend it to families as well as solo travellers as we met a few people there, some alone and some with family. Can't wait to go again next year!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugenia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have to say one of the BEST hotels we have stayed in Costa Rica. We are frequent travelers in this amazing country, we've stayed in many different places but, nothing like Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn. IT WAS EXCELLENT!!

The staff is amazing, number 1 in customer service. The food is amazing and the chef superb! the cleanliness of the rooms and facilities excellent.

Our family really enjoyed this place and be sure that we will be coming back soon.

Highly Recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piroca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
668 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 27 in Alajuela
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn

Property: Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn
Address: Meters West From the Soccer Field 400 | San Antonio Del Tejar, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trapp Family Country Inn is located only 1 mile from Juan Santamaria International Airport. We offer comfortable accomodations along with genuine family service in a peaceful atmosphere. This colonial style hotel is surrounded by beautiful gardens with centenary fig trees. From the private balcony of your room, in the terraze or by the pool, you will enjoy nature and relax with the musical sound of the birds. A true oasis in the middle of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Trapp Family Country Alajuela
Country Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Country Inn
Hotel Trapp Family Country Inn Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing