We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You cannot believe your eyes when you wake up in the morning”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Garita Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #36 of 65 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Sometimes you arrive in the evening. This B&B is close to the airport in San Jose and the next morning you cannot believe your eyes. So many different birds, fruittrees and the amazing view.
Clean beautiful rooms, bright colours. The rooms are surrounded by plants and trees. The rancho next to the swimmingpool, is the place to sit .The Breakfast is delicious, made on the spot. Great owners, who help you plan your trip to where ever you like.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at La Garita in December 2012. It was a wonderful place of beauty and quiet rest very nearby the hectic city of San Juan, less than half an hour from the airport.
La Garita is comfortable and clean,with so many amenities and extras. The hosts, Nicoline and Ard did so much to help us enjoy our stay with them as well as help us plan the rest of our stay in Costa Rica.
We felt very welcome at La Garita and will return to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaimehoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

An amazing place to stay!
Pool is great, breakfast with fresh fruits and the owners are very helpfull hosts! Beautiful garden and close to San José and Poas Vulcano! From your own private veranda you can enjoy the stars and sounds of nature. And most of all this place has very comfortable beds!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzy1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Being a bit intimidated by San Jose traffic we were seeking a quiet, less conjested area to spend the night before our flight out of the country. La Garita fit the bill. Our room was spacious; we were able to get a good night's sleep without traffic or disco noise. Margarita prepared a bagged breakfast for us the night before (be sure to request it) because we needed to leave very early. We requested and she also called the night before for a cab to take us to the airport. You can walk to restaurants or grocery store for other meals (if you are able bodied and in good health). Our room was spacious, bathroom generously sized.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EliseChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Starting/ ending our trip in La Garita was a great option. Besides everything you can read already, some laundry being done, taking us into town (before our rental car arrived) advice what to do & where to go (we wanted to visit a ceramic tile shop, and didn't understand the map :-)). And of course when we left very early, always a nice breakfast to take with you! Intl. airport is just 15 minutes by car. So all in all, great service and nice place to stay in San Jose area.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winnie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Very nice and comfortable place to stay. We stayed here the first days after arrival in Costa Rica. Received great advice for our trip before and during the stay. Beautiful place, recent furniture, with great garden, spacious clean rooms, nice pool and marvellous fruit-breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Finn
Thank FamilieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

La Garita B&B is located in La Garita, Costa Rica, a mere 20 minutes from the airport. Nicolene and Ard recently bought the farmland and constructed new "bugalow" -styled rooms that are cute, environmentally friendly, and clean. Ard whips up fabulous breakfasts (included in the price) : platters of tropical fruit, egss, french toast, fresh juice. There are two restaurants nearby for dinner, and a fridge in the room for snacks. Nicolene and Ard treated us more like family than borders. I cannot speak more highly of them and the experience. This is a true hidden gem!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eppy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
10.5 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
708 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
9.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
905 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Garita Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Garita Bed and Breakfast

Address: Los Llanos de La Garita | La Garita de Alajuela, Alajuela 4030, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: £38 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Garita Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, tranquil, privately situated Bed & Breakfast near the airport of San Jose. Its grounds are 4.5 acres of landscaped gardens with many fruit trees in La Garita. A piece of tropical heaven far away from the city noise but only a 12 minutes drive from San Jose International Airport. We offer you beautiful spacious double bed rooms with en-suite bathroom and kitchenette. An excellent breakfast served poolside, where your hosts are there to make your dream holiday a reality. A great start for your holiday or exploring the Central Valley from here! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Garita Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing