We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mi Tierra
Nearby Hotels
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
52
44
28
14
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
44
28
14
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmy favorite thingsan joseevery morningeasy accesscentral valleypollodowntown alajuelaan early flightrobertotaxiairportpoasartworksjoconvenience
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed here many times while in Costa Rica. It is close to the airport, easy access to many things and safe. The staff was great, helpful, kind and went out of their way to help us out. We enjoyed the great breakfast every day and the amazing food. The pool was nice to relax in and the grounds were well kept and clean. The rooms were very clean had comfy beds and were safe. Great helpful information from the staff on what to see and what to do as well as great trips that they offer from kayaking and rafting to zip lining and zoo tours. We will stay here again when we go back for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

A wonderful, quiet, comfortable, convenient place in the hubbub of Alajuela. Staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is delicious and substantial. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Not only was Hotel Mi Tierra a perfect place to begin our trip because of the relaxing atmosphere and friendly staff, they became our informal trip planners too. Roberto was incredibly helpful with advice (choosing the Pacific over the Caribbean coast because of weather) and he arranged a fantastic river rafting trip at the last minute for the Rio Pacuare, which was the highlight of an amazing trip. The rooms are spare but clean and the electronic "suicide" showers provide a steady stream of warm water, plus the breakfasts are delicious - fresh fruit, gallo pinto, toast, and eggs. If you're looking for a five-star resort, this isn't the place to be, but it's a wonderful introduction to Tican hospitality and relaxation. We had a great time and would recommend this to any of our friends.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a bathroom ensuite. To reach the shared bathroom, you have to go outside, which can be a little wet and cool at night, and the included bathroom doesn't add exponentially to the rate.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Every time i fly into san jose to start or finish my vacation I will stay at Hotel Mi Tierra. The rooms are clean, the breakfast is tasty and the staff is awesome. Also if you are into things like kayaking or rafting Roberto(the owner) is very knowledgeable. In general i found the staff to go above and beyond to make sure your stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I stayed several nights at Mi Tierra, and was in 3 different rooms over the week or so. They have great accommodations for families. It is very reasonably priced, and they provide a great Costa Rican breakfast with fruit, gallo pinto, eggs, coffee and bread with butter and yummy guava jam. I'd recommend this place to anyone who wants to check out the Central Valley - it's really close to all of the buses, and Roberto, Ivanya and their staff are very helpful in providing maps and instructions about taking the abundant public transportation. Not fancy, but safe, clean and a great starting and ending place for your trip, close to the airport, cab costs about $4 to the airport.

Room Tip: Not for those who want American-style accommodations...this is a Costa Rican hotel. Great place!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews