We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mi Tierra
Nearby Hotels
US$181
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Rosa de America(Alajuela)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$133
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Robledal(Alajuela)
US$95
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$65
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$92
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
52
44
28
14
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
44
28
14
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmy favorite thingsan joseevery morningeasy accesscentral valleypollodowntown alajuelaan early flightrobertotaxiairportpoasartworksjoconvenience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I took trip advisors advice and stayed at this hotel the night before flying home from CR. We were very disappointed. It was very basic room The bathroom was nasty, a note asked that you not flush your paper, we traveled all over CR and no one had asked us to do this. The shower head fell off when we tried to use it.....etc, the list goes on. In our room there were 2 large double beds and 2 bunk beds, so my guess is this hotel is more of a hostel then a true hotel. There is a shared kitchen, but the ice in the fridge was nasty and we did not dare drink the water. You can ask the manager to print your plane tickets out but you have to walk her through it since there is no other printer to use. Unless you are on a strick budget and you do not care about amenities, you need to stay somewhere else.
Alajuela is a very busy town, we did not feel threatened at all walking around in it. There are several americanized eating facilities. We were so excited to see a Burger King!

Room Tip: No a/c, rooms are noisey, no amenities.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jofo2757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This hotel was recommended to us by a friend and we couldn't have been more pleased. We found the place both relaxing and friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable and the owners very helpful. They spoke English and helped us arrange our travel to our next destination, as well as recommended tours and places to eat. We had great conversations with the owner as he is a kayaker and so is my husband. We stayed there on our way to Cahuita, and on our way home. It is convenient, close to the airport and safe. We have recommended it to our family and will definitely stay here again next time we travel to Costa Rica. I would recommend it to anyone wanting a safe, convenient, freindly place to stay on their way to and from the Airport.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aamjiwnaang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

If you are exploring the rest of costa rica and need a short stay near the airport, i would stay here again. amazing breakfast!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micah_Kalila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Mi Tierra the last 2 times we visited Costa Rica; the last time was in Dec of 2011. Their rooms and bathrooms are very clean and the beds are really comfortable. The owners live on site and are supper helpful with anything you need, from where to eat to helping you tailoring your visit. The other people who work their are also very friendly and helpful. One of the staff was helping me look for classes at the local college. The hotel feels very peaceful and is colorfully decorated. Their tico breakfast and coffee are both yummy.

Its not much more then 5 min. from the airport and it cost us only $6.00 USD to get to. The hotel is in downtown Alajuela which makes it very convenient, however its not on a busy street so its quiet. I would recommend it to anyone and will stay there again the next time we return to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PavelGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed here many times while in Costa Rica. It is close to the airport, easy access to many things and safe. The staff was great, helpful, kind and went out of their way to help us out. We enjoyed the great breakfast every day and the amazing food. The pool was nice to relax in and the grounds were well kept and clean. The rooms were very clean had comfy beds and were safe. Great helpful information from the staff on what to see and what to do as well as great trips that they offer from kayaking and rafting to zip lining and zoo tours. We will stay here again when we go back for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews