We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for dollar”
Review of Hotel Mi Tierra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mi Tierra
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“value for dollar”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We have stayed here 3 times and each time found it clean, quiet and decent breakfast. The staff are friendly and always helpful and the pool is nice. Good value for the price. we would stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanneflug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    44
    28
    14
    20
See reviews for
22
61
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Mi Tierra the first and the last night in Costa Rica, is has a very convenient location near airport (6-7$ for a taxi). It's within walking distance to local super, shopping area and a park, which is useful if you need to kill a few hours in Alajuela.

The hotel itself is very clean and the breakfast was delicious (local fruit, coffee, eggs, toast). Our children enjoyed the little pool while I enjoyed watching birds perching on the trees on the patio. They have a mango tree and one other fruit tree I failed to identify, which attract a lot of birds, including parrots.

Ivannia has been very helpful, on my asking she had dinner waiting for us the night we came (we flew in late, with two children) and she also helped us dealing with car rental company, saving us an unpleasant trip to San Jose. She recommended an excellent nearby soda (El Banco), thank you, Ivannia for all your help!

Overall, the hotel feels like a safe base in Alajuela.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We arrived in Alajuela very late and found this place from the internet. It is near the airport and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean, but not to big. The Costa Rican Breakfast was delicious. Its really a good place to stay. We will surly come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bewertung28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
invermere, bc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Mi Terra is a good choice for an overnight stay near to the airport. Ivannia is friendly and helpful and that generally holds true for the rest of the staff. She directed us to nearby points of interest and we felt completely safe walking through the area. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in a cozy open courtyard, but didn't take advantage of the small, nearby pool.

Our room was small, but clean, and the bed was comfortable. There wasn't much hot water in the shower, but you don't need much in Costa Rica. However, it is cooler in Alajuela than much of the rest of the country. One extra that we appreciated was safe storage for a bag while we toured elsewhere.

Mi Terra would probably be a good choice as a base for short day tours in the area. In addition, Ivannia's husband, Roberto conducts a variety of longer tours all over the country.

Don't hesitate to stay here, because of the lack of an airport shuttle. We found it incredibly easy to get a taxi for the short $6 ride.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hondo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weyburn, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My boyfriend and I needed a place to stay for only a few hours while we waited for our friends to arrive in Costa Rica. I got in touch with Ivannia only a couple days ahead of time and she was able to provide us with a spot to keep our luggage and let us hang out for the morning for a small fee. She was extremely friendly and helpful and it worked out great being so close to the airport (about a $6.00 cab ride). Very grateful for accommodating us on such short notice!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G00se11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Iowa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We arrived at airport in the midst of a heavy rain on Nature Air flight from Puerto Jimenez. We though we had a reservation here but apparently things has not gone through. The cab ride was very long because it was in the midst of rush hour.
The clerk was helpful in giving us a room for the night but did not have one for the following night which we also needed.
The hotel has a hostel atmosphere with kitchen available for guests and although everyone was friendly it was pretty noisy trying to sleep with loud music downstairs until our daughter went and complained.
The room was sparse and a little rough around the edges.
The breakfast was tipico: scrambled eggs, bread, fruit, coffee and gallo pinto.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gachap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Awful place...noisy rooms right off the street where motorcycles rev up late into the night. Flimsy curtains gave a view into the room from the street, as well as from the inner hallway!
Terrible rooms, fairly clean but so old and beat up, the bathroom is hard to look at. No hot water either. And the Tv barely functioned, an old style screen, with, what else, a broken remote control!
The only good thing was leaving the next morning. Way overpriced for what you get.
When I complained I was offered no compensation for all of these problems with the room!
Stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancydrew2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alajuela hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.3 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#13 of 27 in Alajuela
104 reviews
2.1 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mi Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mi Tierra

Property: Hotel Mi Tierra
Address: 2nd Ave. Entre Calles 3 Y 5, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mi Tierra 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay close to the airport in San José, Costa Rica. Located in Alajuela, only 5 minutes from the airport, but not on the flying route. We are a family business; enjoy our relaxed atmosphere. Hotel and tour services customized trips, cultural and adventure tours. Let us help you on your trip: we are travelers like you. Why going to the traffic and noise of the capital? Stay in relaxed Alajuela, the gateway to: Monteverde, Guanacaste, Arenal, Manuel Antonio, Poás Volcano, and the Pacific Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Mi Tierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mi Tierra Hotel
Hotel Mi Tierra Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing