We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great host and staff”
Review of Hotel Mi Tierra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mi Tierra
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our room was spartan, but comfortable, especially for the price. Our host Roberto spent at least 90 minutes with us after a delicious breakfast (included) helping us get oriented to Costa Rica. This was our first trip to CR, and we needed lots of information. Roberto could not have been more gratious or helpful. He helped with car rental as he promised, and encouraged us to wait until we arrived to rent a car. I am very glad we did, rather than making arrangements long distance, then getting the car at the airport. If we had tried to find the hotel on our own having just arrived in CR after dark I seriously doubt we would have succeeded! In CR you don't simply plug in an address in the GPS and take off! Places there do NOT have street numbers or addresses as we know them, so programming a specific address is impossible! I know that is foreign to Americans, but it is true. So we flew in and took a taxi from the airport to the Mi Tierra for $6 US. Thanks again to Roberto, Christian, and Carlos for great service on both ends of our vacation to the Chachagua rain forest.

Stayed: September 2013
4  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mi Tierra
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

very nice and cozy place with very nice and helpful staff. The boss is an excellent kayak instructor. They offer training in their pool in the garden. Breakfast is good and I had as much coffee as I wanted

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobias D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at Hotel Mi Tierra after arriving on an evening flight into San Jose. It is a 5 minute cab ride from the airport and provides a simple, clean and safe place to rest your travel weary head, and at a price that still leaves money in the budget for sightseeing. We booked it just for the overnight, but if I were to come again I would likely stay a couple days and take advantage of the tours they offer to the volcanos and rafting. I was very pleased with the service - both by email when booking the room and during our stay. Breakfast was great- delicious and filling and served on a lovely outdoor terrace by the pool. This isn't a fancy hotel. It's a place for people looking for very basic, comfortable lodging at a reasonable price and with a friendly atmosphere. Other guests included young European backpackers, a Tico family and another couple- and it was a good fit for all.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room in the back if possible. The street noise woke me up several times during t...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlecAndJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

The rooms here are clean but not modern- the place has a certain charm. It's a good place to stop over on your way in or out of Costa Rica. I prefer other hotels over this one, but this one benefits from a swimming pool. Average yet reliable!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We quicked off our five-week vacations in Costa Rica by staying two nights in Mi Tierra. Rooms are very good, though the front rooms are more noisy than the ones in the garden, I'm sure. The pool was clean and satisfied our kids, as did the breakfast (included). Roberto, the owner, is a very helpful, calm person, and his sound advice was welcome. We booked our last night there as well and were happy to spend our last night in this very nice setting. The hotel is only15 minutes away from the airport, but we heard no planes over our heads. It was just a fine, convenient and affordable place to stay. One small downside : hot water was irregular.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The rooms are clean, the hotel beautiful and the people warm, welcoming and generous. Breakfast is included and the food was nicely done and tasty. They were extremely helpful with directions, speaking the language and offering items to make our stay nice. I would stay there again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We got in to San Jose airport, SJO, late at night and got a taxi ($6) for our check in at Hotel Mi Tierra. It was clean, small room but enough for 4 to sleep comfortably (double bed, bunk beds, small dresser and enough room to walk through) and the floor fan was superpowered awesome! We really enjoyed the breakfast: eggs (to order), fruit, rice/beans, toast and preserves! Staff was very friendly & helpful! They helped us find a place to eat/drink & watch futbol with the locals late on a Saturday and for us to find the public bus in the morning. If you need a place to stay on way in or out of San Jose, you've found the spot!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
673 reviews
2.1 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
263 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.0 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
2.5 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mi Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mi Tierra

Address: 2nd Ave. Entre Calles 3 Y 5, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range: £37 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mi Tierra 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay close to the airport in San José, Costa Rica. Located in Alajuela, only 5 minutes from the airport, but not on the flying route. We are a family business; enjoy our relaxed atmosphere. Hotel and tour services customized trips, cultural and adventure tours. Let us help you on your trip: we are travelers like you. Why going to the traffic and noise of the capital? Stay in relaxed Alajuela, the gateway to: Monteverde, Guanacaste, Arenal, Manuel Antonio, Poás Volcano, and the Pacific Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Mi Tierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mi Tierra Hotel
Hotel Mi Tierra Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing