We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely place, lovely people ;-)))))” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mango Valley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mango Valley
Ranked #1 of 9 Grecia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Lovely place, lovely people ;-)))))”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile



We recently had the pleasure of staying at Mango Valley for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our visit.This place is absolutely lovely, serene and relaxing and so are the people. The hosts were wonderful and very accommodating, always with helpful suggesting scenic places to visit and dine. The scenes are charming and the rooms spotless. The pool is wonderful and a only a few steps from your room. Breakfast was include with homemade baked goods by the owners and was exactly what we needed. We would definitely stay at Mango valley again if we are ever lucky enough to return to Costa Rica!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eyal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    45
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
275
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is the perfect place to get away from all the hustle and bustle. I stayed in the Morpho cottage for a week and it was fantastic. Clean, green and serene environment with great views. Jose and Maite are excellent hosts, very helpful but unintrusive. The only minor flaw was that for two nights I could hear my next door neighbors' conversations. No big deal though as I had ear plugs. I should also mention that the free wifi was very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maritimetrip2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dijon, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were on a four weeks road trip through the USA and Costa Rica and Mango Valley was definitely the nicest place we stayed at! Wonderful place, wonderful view, wonderful staff, everything was just perfect! Many thanks to Maité and Jose!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mélanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Mango Valley for 10 days on our honeymoon and it was perfect! It was exactly what we were looking for and hoping to find. It is a quiet place away from everything, but not inaccessible to civilization. Very nicely done little cottages, gorgeous grouds, right in the middle of the rainforest. The owners Maite and Jose are absolutlely wonderful hosts and people in general. Before we even decided to stay there, they were very helpful in sharing information about their place and cottages as we were making decisions. They even let us know that they were having to raise princes, but since we were inquiring before they prices went up, they quoted us and let us keep the lower rate. Before we were scheduled to arrive, they made sure to get all our arrival information (we had to both arrive and depart at very early hours of the morning) and they were easily accommodating. Once we arrived, we had a great time chatting with the two at fresh breakfast they made each morning, and were brimming with useful information about places to see, when to see them, towns that were near by and what was good to see there. Their website had quite a lot of information we used for some planning, but they had even more along with additional items. Given the opportunity, we will stay again without a doubt!! There are many other lovely things, but too much to put here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I found this review difficult to write only because there is no way to capture the hospitality and the beauty you will find when you get to mango valley. The view is gorgeous and breathtaking. I spent hours on the terrace reading and listening to music. The cabins over looking the mountains were pretty much out of this world. and the POOL. wow, what a way to spend your mornings. it overlooks the trees and you can see the volcano and it is absolutely lovely and refreshing. Cleanliness-you likely will never find better in this price range. This is more than a 3 star place. I could have likely spent a full month in mango valley. definitely make your way to the farmers market on friday.

Food-jose and maite were very very delightful about making breakfast each morning. it is like a 5 star service, although i am quite sure i never received such lovely hospitality in a 5 star hotel. they do everything to your liking-just ask.

jose and maite and two of the kindest people i have ever met and this vacation restored my energy and my eyesight which was suffering severely from a lack of nature. the fridge is always fully stocked. the coffee is stunning and you can see it out on the plantation which just adds something to every sip.

so here, i tried and i find that i am still lacking the words...so ill just say YES. GO THERE.

Room Tip: i stayed in the mariposa at first which only lacks the beautiful view-but otherwise its actually a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

The precious serene location is something to die for...... Seriously. My only down side is I was by myself. If you're looking to sleep, read or write. This peaceful place is heaven on earth. Super clean and the owners live on the property and are super courteous. Wonderful!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandro_D962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We travelled through Panama and Costa Rica (by bus) and stayed in Mango Valley for some nights. Maite and Jose gave us a warm welcome. Maite gave us many ideas to see the most beautiful things in this region. She guided us to the hidden 'chorros' and to Sarchi. We loved this place with the beautiful view from the pool and will always remember Maite.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muni88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grecia
6.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
5.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
8.3 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
7.3 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
3.7 mi away
Altura Hotel
Altura Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poas Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mango Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mango Valley

Property: Hotel Mango Valley
Address: 300 mts. antes de Pipasa | Carbonal arriba de Grecia, Grecia 4100, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grecia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mango Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mango Valley is set in the green hills just outside Grecia. It offers a garden with an outdoor pool and fantastic views. The rooms at the Hotel Mango Valley feature free Wi-Fi and a TV with cable channels. Each one has a private bathroom and a kitchenette with a hob, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel serves a daily full breakfast in the garden, overlooking the coffee plantations. Takeaway meals are available on request from local restaurants. La Paz Waterfall Gardens is 45 minutes' drive away, and the charming town of Sarchi is a 15-minute drive away. Juan Santamaria Airport is 40 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mango Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mango Valley Costa Rica/Grecia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing