We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mango Valley
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Altura Hotel(Poas Volcano National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveller rating
408
49
8
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
49
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspoas volcanotoasteggscosta ricab bnice poolthe cottagesgorgeous viewssmall kitchenfrom san jose airportinfinity poolseparate bedroomcomplimentary breakfastrocking chairstake carehidden gemlocal restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 468 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We spent 10 days in Costa Rica, from San Jose to Monte Verde to Isle de Tortuga and Heredia - and some of them in very fancy hotels. But our peaceful favorite was Mango Valley in Grecia. The cabins were clean and had all you need, and the breezes, view, and stars at night were better than any of the ammenities of big hotels. Our hosts were gracious and fun to talk to. They provided a lot of information about the area, both printed in the room and through our questions, which was very useful. The next morning, the breakfast was delicious.

We also enjoyed the nearby town. The bus picked us up right off the driveway to Mango Valley.
The town was the perfect size to walk, and get an idea of the "real" Costa Rica rather than the tourist areas. The bus hub there could also take you into neighboring towns and attractions.

Everything was as promised and more. I would love to go back, and will recommend it to anyone I know going to Costa Rica. Great job, Maite and Jose. Many thanks!

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for the view cabins, and thought it was well worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 159jime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Hi Jim and Cindy!

We are your favorite hotel? Wow! That is wonderful! Thank you very much!

We are sure you will return to Costa Rica, you are the kind of people who can adapt to differences with USA and enjoy this wonderful country.

Maybe we'll meet again, life is unpredictable... We wish you the best :)

Hugs,
Jose and maite

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

On Volcán Poás rolling hills
There is a place to cure all ills
A beauty spot beyond compare
With skies of blue and purest air
Where hosts Maite y José dwell
And tend to tourists very well
In neat cabinas peace they keep
For weary travellers needing sleep
Beyond the hustle and highway
You’ll find a different San José.

Well water from the mountain there
As pure as any Perrier
In their conservatory dine
El desayuno service fine
Huevos revueltos and black té
Just say caliente to José
Learn some Spanish from them too
No adios ... no, that won’t do
¡Hasta luego! is the call
A welcome back is given all.

Maite may even take you down
To show you Grecia’s busy town
And help you find the local sights
Like Poás, Sarchí, such delights
While José keeps the pool tip top
So you can cool off with a flop
And if you like el bien fútbol
He’ll tell you where to view it all
Just don’t mention Chelsea’s coach
José’s namesake’s a’ hole cockroach.

Their trusty driver, fast Wilbert
Will take you places here and there
A “wild side” walk on Jaco beach?
Or see the crocs? Or Spanish teach?
So if you need a pleasant start
To Costa Rica’s central part
You cannot find a better place
Than Mango Valley’s highland space
With amable Maite y José
It’s pura vida all the way!

Frank and Rosaleen, Toronto.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Frank and Rosaleen

It is absolutely wonderful and amazing that you have written a poem about the hotel!!! There are no words to express how happy it makes us that you think on us that way.

It's not only that we enjoyed so much your visit, it's that you took a little piece of our hearts with you :)

And for the best student in our language some words in Spanish: "Sois una pareja maravillosa, os deseamos lo mejor en vuestra vida. Seguid siendo tan buenas personas, teneis el corazón de oro y siempre os recordaremos con cariño".

Best wishes,
Jose and Maite

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Beautiful location that is only 45 minutes north of SJO. Breezes keep the cabin comfortable and downright cool at night. We stayed in Morphos7 which had a covered patio, very comfy rocking chairs and an indescribable view. Jose and Maite are incredible, you could not ask for hosts who are more friendly, helpful, or informative. Maite makes an awesome papaya jam that she served at breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yum Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Hello dear!

Only people who have experienced the warmth of the beach (like you) can appreciate the chilly night at Mango Valley... In Central Valley of Costa Rica we have the best climate in the world! (or that is what we think hehehe).

I'm not sure why but I think you'll come back to Costa Rica, one week was not enough to enjoy everything that this country offers you :)

We wish you the best!

Jose and Maite

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I had an awesome stay at Mango Valley. The Hotel staffs, Maria Teresa & Jose were fabulous host. They had maps prepared for us & provided us with activities we could do around the city/town. Every morning a delicious breakfast was prepared. You also can cook & prepare your own meals if you like as there's cooking utensils available in the rooms. To go into town you can take a local bus which is not too far from the Mango Valley Hotel. On the bus ride to town you can enjoy the scenic Mountain View. There are also other interesting areas to check out nearby, like town of Sarchi. The Poas Volcanoes & waterfalls are about an hour drive the view is amazing en route there. It was very nice get away from the fast paste city life.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montez w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Hello Maria and Montez!

How are you? We hope the Spring has already come to your home :)

If you come back to Costa Rica, please come and see us, we really appreciated accommodate such a friendly, polite and nice couple like you, you are great guys!

Thanks for your comment, we wish you the best in your life.

Hugs,
Jose and Maite

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

very friendy owners of this property. the owners actually care for you during your stay. very helpful with travel arrangements. morning breadfast is very filling,and the view is breathtaking. clean and comfortable cabins.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbangs59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Hi Gary!

How do you feel about the wonderful picture you bought in your porch? Since you bought it I've been thinking about having one but I don't know where to place it lol

We hope that George's "wait" is not being too hard for you both. Remember we are the same situation!

Thank you very much for your comment, makes us very happy that you enjoyed in Mango Valley :)

A big hug from your friends in Grecia,

Jose and Maite

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews