We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent getaway, great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mango Valley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mango Valley
Ranked #1 of 9 Grecia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent getaway, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

During my recent 8 day stay in Costa Rica I stayed at the Aloft in San Jose, El Silencio Lodge in Bajos del Toro, Las Cascadas in Quepos, and Hotel Mango Valley. Each one had its charms, Hotel Mango Valley was one of our favorites, and definitely the best value.

Hotel Mango Valley is not a long drive from San Jose, but if its your first time in Costa Rica you might be concerned that you seem to be driving into a little farm village, getting stuck behind tractors and farm trucks. In fact, you will be staying at a converted farm. The owners are Spanish ex-pats, are very friendly and live on the property.

We only stayed one night but could have stayed an extra day or two. Only breakfast is served on the premises but there are restaurants within walking distance and others that deliver. The property is quite beautiful and you get a vista of coffee fields and forest. The grounds have lovely landscaping and a nice little pool. Our cabin was clean and comfortable. Waking up in the morning to a beautiful sunrise and view from our cabin was quite glorious. Not every cabin has a view, make sure you ask.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ericzundel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hello Eric!

How are you? I hope back to stress life was not too hard, remember that you have to find the time to enjoy life :)

Jose asks me to tell Almanzia that he has changed his mind and Germany will not win the World Cup... Costa Rica will! HAHAHAHA

It was nice meeting you, your stay was brief but intense!

Best wishes,
Jose and Maite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    47
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
281
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We have arrived a little late to the hotel, due to late flight arrival and after picking our car, we were on our way to the hotel. The hotel owner Maite welcomed us to our room and since that moment did everything to make our stay wonderful. She explained everything there is to know about the area, about the local rules and traditions, and was a great help towards the following days of our trip to CR.

The room itself has everything you need and it is clean and well maintained. The breakfast is great, eggs, fruits and coffee. The area is really wonderful and has a great view. The best thing is the location, it is really close to the airport and to Poas volcano and La Paz waterfalls which were our next destination - hence, this is the perfect location for the first night in CR, especially when arriving afternoon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SagiRo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi Sagi and Anna!

Thank you very much for your comment :)

We hope your honeymoon was a success and we wish you a future of happiness and love. Remember: the most important is to be great friends hehehe

Did you get to Tortuguero? Someone told us that the river was dry and had to "push" the boat ... I can not imagine that nightmare!

Be happy forever guys!

Jose and Maite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We spent 10 days in Costa Rica, from San Jose to Monte Verde to Isle de Tortuga and Heredia - and some of them in very fancy hotels. But our peaceful favorite was Mango Valley in Grecia. The cabins were clean and had all you need, and the breezes, view, and stars at night were better than any of the ammenities of big hotels. Our hosts were gracious and fun to talk to. They provided a lot of information about the area, both printed in the room and through our questions, which was very useful. The next morning, the breakfast was delicious.

We also enjoyed the nearby town. The bus picked us up right off the driveway to Mango Valley.
The town was the perfect size to walk, and get an idea of the "real" Costa Rica rather than the tourist areas. The bus hub there could also take you into neighboring towns and attractions.

Everything was as promised and more. I would love to go back, and will recommend it to anyone I know going to Costa Rica. Great job, Maite and Jose. Many thanks!

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for the view cabins, and thought it was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi Jim and Cindy!

We are your favorite hotel? Wow! That is wonderful! Thank you very much!

We are sure you will return to Costa Rica, you are the kind of people who can adapt to differences with USA and enjoy this wonderful country.

Maybe we'll meet again, life is unpredictable... We wish you the best :)

Hugs,
Jose and maite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

On Volcán Poás rolling hills
There is a place to cure all ills
A beauty spot beyond compare
With skies of blue and purest air
Where hosts Maite y José dwell
And tend to tourists very well
In neat cabinas peace they keep
For weary travellers needing sleep
Beyond the hustle and highway
You’ll find a different San José.

Well water from the mountain there
As pure as any Perrier
In their conservatory dine
El desayuno service fine
Huevos revueltos and black té
Just say caliente to José
Learn some Spanish from them too
No adios ... no, that won’t do
¡Hasta luego! is the call
A welcome back is given all.

Maite may even take you down
To show you Grecia’s busy town
And help you find the local sights
Like Poás, Sarchí, such delights
While José keeps the pool tip top
So you can cool off with a flop
And if you like el bien fútbol
He’ll tell you where to view it all
Just don’t mention Chelsea’s coach
José’s namesake’s a’ hole cockroach.

Their trusty driver, fast Wilbert
Will take you places here and there
A “wild side” walk on Jaco beach?
Or see the crocs? Or Spanish teach?
So if you need a pleasant start
To Costa Rica’s central part
You cannot find a better place
Than Mango Valley’s highland space
With amable Maite y José
It’s pura vida all the way!

Frank and Rosaleen, Toronto.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Frank and Rosaleen

It is absolutely wonderful and amazing that you have written a poem about the hotel!!! There are no words to express how happy it makes us that you think on us that way.

It's not only that we enjoyed so much your visit, it's that you took a little piece of our hearts with you :)

And for the best student in our language some words in Spanish: "Sois una pareja maravillosa, os deseamos lo mejor en vuestra vida. Seguid siendo tan buenas personas, teneis el corazón de oro y siempre os recordaremos con cariño".

Best wishes,
Jose and Maite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Beautiful location that is only 45 minutes north of SJO. Breezes keep the cabin comfortable and downright cool at night. We stayed in Morphos7 which had a covered patio, very comfy rocking chairs and an indescribable view. Jose and Maite are incredible, you could not ask for hosts who are more friendly, helpful, or informative. Maite makes an awesome papaya jam that she served at breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yum Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hello dear!

Only people who have experienced the warmth of the beach (like you) can appreciate the chilly night at Mango Valley... In Central Valley of Costa Rica we have the best climate in the world! (or that is what we think hehehe).

I'm not sure why but I think you'll come back to Costa Rica, one week was not enough to enjoy everything that this country offers you :)

We wish you the best!

Jose and Maite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I had an awesome stay at Mango Valley. The Hotel staffs, Maria Teresa & Jose were fabulous host. They had maps prepared for us & provided us with activities we could do around the city/town. Every morning a delicious breakfast was prepared. You also can cook & prepare your own meals if you like as there's cooking utensils available in the rooms. To go into town you can take a local bus which is not too far from the Mango Valley Hotel. On the bus ride to town you can enjoy the scenic Mountain View. There are also other interesting areas to check out nearby, like town of Sarchi. The Poas Volcanoes & waterfalls are about an hour drive the view is amazing en route there. It was very nice get away from the fast paste city life.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montez w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hello Maria and Montez!

How are you? We hope the Spring has already come to your home :)

If you come back to Costa Rica, please come and see us, we really appreciated accommodate such a friendly, polite and nice couple like you, you are great guys!

Thanks for your comment, we wish you the best in your life.

Hugs,
Jose and Maite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartago, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

very friendy owners of this property. the owners actually care for you during your stay. very helpful with travel arrangements. morning breadfast is very filling,and the view is breathtaking. clean and comfortable cabins.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbangs59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi Gary!

How do you feel about the wonderful picture you bought in your porch? Since you bought it I've been thinking about having one but I don't know where to place it lol

We hope that George's "wait" is not being too hard for you both. Remember we are the same situation!

Thank you very much for your comment, makes us very happy that you enjoyed in Mango Valley :)

A big hug from your friends in Grecia,

Jose and Maite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grecia
6.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
8.3 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
5.2 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
3.9 mi away
B&B Garden Grecia
B&B Garden Grecia
#3 of 9 in Grecia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.7 mi away
Altura Hotel
Altura Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poas Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mango Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mango Valley

Property: Hotel Mango Valley
Address: 300 mts. antes de Pipasa | Carbonal arriba de Grecia, Grecia 4100, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grecia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mango Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mango Valley is set in the green hills just outside Grecia. It offers a garden with an outdoor pool and fantastic views. The rooms at the Hotel Mango Valley feature free Wi-Fi and a TV with cable channels. Each one has a private bathroom and a kitchenette with a hob, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel serves a daily full breakfast in the garden, overlooking the coffee plantations. Takeaway meals are available on request from local restaurants. La Paz Waterfall Gardens is 45 minutes' drive away, and the charming town of Sarchi is a 15-minute drive away. Juan Santamaria Airport is 40 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mango Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mango Valley Costa Rica/Grecia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing